We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hotel to relax, but not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel do Caramulo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel do Caramulo to your Saves list
Hotel do Caramulo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Dr. Abel Lacerda, Caramulo 3475-031 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caramulo
Vigo
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A good Hotel to relax, but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel a few times, on short family breaks.

This Hotel is located in Caramulo, a village founded shortly after the 1st World War to host sanatoriums for tuberculosis and other respiratory diseases. A few decades later medical advances made these sanatoriums obsolete, and Caramulo was successfully transformed into a touristic mountain village. The whole village preserves a peculiar architecture, since many buildings were jointly designed by some of the best Portuguese architects of those two eras. Gardens are well preserved and the whole village is austere very relaxing. There is also a very good museum of old cars.

The Hotel is a few decades old and keeps a nice old fashioned character (furniture, carpets, dark stone floors), despite a few improvements of the years (e.g. A/C in the rooms). Rooms are comfortable, quiet and spacious, but some may complain about the limited number of TV channels, the absence of WiFi in the rooms (available in the lobby), the small size of the safes or the relatively small size of the beds (OK for Portuguese standards, though).

Hotel facilities include a small outdoor with a beautiful view over the valley and a large indoor pool which also has views over the valley. There are also other SPA facilities (sauna, a very good gymnasium, massages...), as well as rental mountain bikes. A few trekking routes depart from Caramulo and cross lovely landscapes.

Continental breakfast is good.

Overall I recommend this Hotel based on its character, the available indoor and outdoor activities, and value for money (outside peak season). It does not excel on any of these items but the overall mix is very attractive for short family breaks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley (south) have balcony, more sun and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    48
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batalha, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

we noticed that it was a high standard hotel some years ago but some areas need some attention now. We stayed in a room with view to the museum not to the mountain wich is amazing. We have that view on the outside pool and it is breathless.the interior pool is also good and we also loved the sauna and turkish bath.the massage and body scrub was divinal as well as the food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Caramulo is an interesting mountain hamlet, located in a remote part of central Portugal, and I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel do Caramulo there. My room was large and reasonably well appointed. I had only a single bed and, as is often the case in Portugal, I'm not sure if the hotel has any double beds, let alone queens or kings.

The restaurant was outstanding. One night I had the fixed-price dinner, which came with a regional egg-based dish with mushrooms served steaming hot in an onion soup-type dish. That was extraordinary. I believe it was there that I had a doce de bolacha for dessert. That, too, was something you can't find in the United States and a culinary delight.

The included breakfast was excellent.

Another nice touch is that the hotel has a functional Internet-ready computer for which it doesn't charge.

The common rooms on the ground floor are very pleasant. They're reminiscent of what you might find in an English country manor, an atmosphere contributed to by heavy rain and cold weather during my stay.

Quibbles: the water isn't hot, only warm, and it took five minutes to arrive at the bathroom sink in my fourth-floor room. The room lighting was dim. The TV set has no international channels.

While in Caramulo, you should, if you're the outdoors type, hike the five-mile-long Rota dos Caleiros, which takes you over thousand-year-old medieval stone roads on which you can see the ruts left by centuries of wagon wheels. The route is hard to follow, so bring a GPS receiver and download the route from the Internet onto your device.

The other thing is the museum, the Museu do Caramulo, located across the street. I suspect that this is one of Europe's better unknown museums. It has an excellent art collection and I imagine its automotive collection will appeal to car buffs. Most exciting for me was to discover there what may be the world's first mountain bike (or, to be precise, mountain-style bike). Built in England in 1891, this bicycle, the Quadrant, has a full suspension and a suspended seatpost. Only five were made (or maybe it's that only five currently exist). For me, an avid mountain biker, it was exciting to stumble across this historical artifact.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Museu do Caramulo, and they're fine, but the ones on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This renovated hotel in the heart of the Serra do Caramulo is the perfect place if you're looking to chill out. The rooms have a good size, they're very clean, there's a spacious bathroom and the views are very nice. It's located right in front of Museu do Caramulo, which is a must visit for all car buffs.
The hotel's restaurant serves wonderful traditional portuguese fare.
The spa is the crown jewel of this hotel, offering a wide range of massages and therapeutic treatments. I highly reccommend the Vichy Shower.
There are 2 swimming pools, one outdoor and the outher indoor.
I liked my staying there so much that I'll be back this year.

Room Tip: The rooms with mountain view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is a bit run down but still maintains some quality. It needs some improvements but what it offers is quite fair considering the prices it charges. Rooms are big and spacious but without much character and don't offer anything but the basics. The Spa isn't great, but it's clean and relaxing. The gym is big and well equiped. Some of the passages, namely between the pool and the spa need to be rethought. It makes no sense in having to pass through cold common areas of the building. Hotel management should also have more info on surrounding areas and activities. They gave us information on the turist office but it was closed throughout the whole time we where there (we actually passed by 5 times!!). I would have liked to go for a hike, as one of the best fixtures of the Caramulo is the natural lansdcape and the chance to get some great fresh air. A map would have done the trick, and better coordination with the tourist office is suggested. Wireless internet in the lobby, which is a nice area of the hotel. Breakfast is also quite ok. Jacuzzi wasn't working.
So overall, not too bad, fair for the price, but a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Getting there is a bit tricky due to the narrow and mountain roads however, the trip there is also to be enjoyed. The scenery is just breathtaking and you can actually feel the silence and also the fresh air.
About the hotel, well, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. We've stayed here between the 14th and the 16th of September 2011. We didn't have the look to get a valley view room, because a large group was there, but it was great nevertheless. The rooms are huge and tall (old buildings style) as also for the bathroom. The breakfast is also great.
It has two pools (interior and exterior). For the interior one, you need a cap. The water is warmed and it's a good option for cold mountain days. For the exterior pool, you don't need special equipment.
The food at the hotel restaurant is great. The prices are not exaggerated as it costs around 20,00 Euros/person (entrances, main course and desert with a 1.5 Lt. cold water bottle).
There's nothing much to do there, except mountain hiking and visiting the Caramulo Museum so it is a wonderful place to relax and escape from the busy cities and lower your stress levels :)
A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room, the view is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lovely, peaceful place to rest! Amazing landscape! A very nice SPA! Hotel collaborators are very friendly and always available to help!
A very good restaurant in the Hotel! However, I would like to see in the hotel more typical Caramulo's honeys and jellys in the breakfast!
Nevertheless, you may find another excellent one in the village "Montanha" restaurant!! As well, "Marte" near the gas station! I've eaten there an excellent "cabrito"!
Caramulo it's the perfect place to do pedestrianism!
Do not forget to visit Caramulo's Museum! And to drink portuguese red wine from that region "Dão".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel do Caramulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Caramulo

Address: Av. Dr. Abel Lacerda, Caramulo 3475-031 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Caramulo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caramulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Caramulo 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel do Caramulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel do Caramulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.