We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ellie and les from darlington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardins da Rocha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jardins da Rocha to your Saves list
Jardins da Rocha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida V-3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ellie and les from darlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we have stayed in the jardin now many times and as of yet we have to find fault with it every room we have stayed in has been very very clean the pools are kept clean the whole hotel is in my eyes five stars and we will keep going back

Room Tip: if you dont have little ones ask for high sea view absolutley out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was located about a 5 minute stroll from the busier parts of Praia Da Rocha.
Hotel rooms are big and cater for everyone (washing machines, fridges, tv). Bathrooms are fine.
Hotel is very quiet.
Check out time of 10am is crazy.
The hotel is serviced by 3-4 lifts (26 floors) this leads to some waiting in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July and had a lovely time. We had a studio apartment and it was very clean and well equipped. We were on the 23rd floor so quite high up and didn't allow our little one to go out on the balcony unattended. The wall on the balcony is quite tall but guess we just had a fear.

Pool area is very clean and there seemed to be a keeper there every day checking the water and cleaning around.

Reception staff were lovely and always happy to give advice and help out.

Only issue was we booked our transfer back to Faro airport through reception and the transfer didn't arrive on time. It was very apparent that they had forgotten our booking. The night porter was a lovely man and he called them to see what was happening but they still arrived 1hour late so it stressed us out a lot as we just got to the airport as the check in desk was closing. I suppose it's not the hotels fault as it was an outside company they used but just to be aware.

Over all we had a brillant holiday, the apartments are in a great location and it was very family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Booking a stay here was relatively painless. Also arranged a transfer from the airport. In hindsight, this wasn't the best idea as there are cheaper services available locally, and independent of Jardins da Rocha. Booked our stay well in advance (months) and requested a room with a good view, so we were quite disappointed when we received a room that overlooked the road and hotel opposite.
At check-in, we were told when the cleaning takes place during the week. This turned out to be a joke - linen and towels were never changed. Apartment was never swept. The cleaners didn't even bother to pick up the piles of sand we'd swept up ourselves (no dust pans were provided for us to do this). We did the dishes ourselves - no soap provided, and no plug for the kitchen sink.
Beds are hard and uncomfortable and air con is very noisy. The unit in the living room stank of cigarette smoke.
There are 3 elevators. One was out of order for the duration of our stay. The other 2 were very slow and not very big. This meant that 9 out of 10 times, the lift was full when it eventually reached our floor, so we were mostly forced to use the stairs - there are over 20 floors in this building, so be warned. On one occasion, the lift we were in stopped at our floor but the doors didn't open, so we used the stairs anyway.
The pool was always dirty - full of leaves and sand, no matter what time of day you visit. There are also sharp edges on the pool floor where the tiles are in need of repair. When the pool was pretty full one afternoon, while we were swimming, the maintenance guy chucked in a huge cup of chlorine instead of doing this after hours. The other major annoyance is that there were never any pool loungers available. Even when there were fewer than 10 guests in the pools, all loungers had towels thrown on them and personal umbrellas erected, which we later observed was the allowed practice for people not even staying at the apartments. So we had the feeling that this hotel didn't really care for its own guests. The pool was a miserable place to spend time, with nobody monitoring guests' behaviour - I'd been nearly dived onto once, and hit in the face on another occasion by some other people who didn't consider anyone else around them.
Location-wise, this place is okay as it's close to the beach and tourist restaurants / shops. However, it's hell getting a taxi from here. The receptionist called one for us, we waited about half an hour and it never arrived. On another occasion, the taxi that did pick us up was driven by a maniac who nearly caused an accident. I recommend calling only taxis from the company that uses black cars with green roofs - their driving is somewhat safer.
Checking out was a nightmare. Without even checking availability, this establishment will not permit a later checkout, even if you offer to pay. They offer to let you check out and let you use the horrible pool for the day as a consolation. More like a booby prize.
There are many more hotels, etc. in this area to choose from. I will certainly be more careful when choosing one in future - this place was a mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very nice rooms with everything you'd need. All kitchen appliances supplied free of charge, even an oven. Staff were very friendly and helpful with a 24 reception service.2 minutes walk from the beach and the strip, with a nice quiet pool to relax by also. Air conditioning and cleaning services were excellent. Would definitely stay in the Jardins again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from a lovely holiday in Portugal. Jardins da Rocha is a great hotel the cleaning staff come round everyday apart from a Thursday. The apartment was spacious with 2 balconies. The location was brilliant you are a 2 minute walk from the beach and the hotel also has a swimming pool and plenty of sunloungers. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at accomodation. Cheek in smooth and easy. Found we had been upgraded from studio to 1bed appartment. Huge bonus . accommodation clean and kitchen fully equipped to self cater if required. Great sea view. Pool great. Efficient air con. Really relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardins da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardins da Rocha

Address: Avenida V-3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardins da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardins da Rocha offers unique views of Praia da Rocha and the surrounding areas of Portimao from the balcony of your appartment. Free private parking, a semi olympic swimming pool for adults and a pool for children, a playground, tennis / basketball court and the areas around the building are surrounded by large wooded gardens. It is located 65 kms from Faro airport, 500 metres from the seafront and commercial docks, 3 kms from the railway station and is located in close proximity to intercity buses. Its privileged location, just 80 metres from the beaches Tres Castelos and Rocha, and 100 metres from the centre of Praia da Rocha, make this Jardins da Rocha one of the most popular hotels in the area. Our modern apartments and studios, all with air conditioners, are very well equipped with stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and electric kettles, toaster and all utensils for cooking. The rooms are maintained throughout the week by our room services including daily cleaning, except on Thursday, Saturday or Sunday, towel change 3 times a week and bed linen changed 2 times a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jardins da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Jardins Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve
Jardins Rocha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardins da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.