We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you are not very hungry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taffys Grill

Taffys Grill
34 Edificio J. Pimenta, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Praa Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't go if you are not very hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't like the calamari starter but my chicken piri piri was good and huge despite being a small! The owner was very welsh hence his name Taffy and came over to speak to everyone which is a nice touch after 30 years...The breakfast gets good reviews too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    36
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat,food v,good ,busy restraunt will you are waiting for a table they have a bar at the back ,you can have a we drink will waiting ,and the'll call u when a table is ready ,and a grt bar after dinner good criac ,we had a few good nights the till late or morning class

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 week trip and have had the best time. We were lucky enough to eat here on our first night at this "British Menu" type restaurant and we never went anywhere else for all of our 14 nights.The food was always good and 'piping' hot. The owner is the most genuine man you will ever meet and very conscious of trying to provide you with an excellent service and thus if you had something to ask him about he was only too happy to help as were all the staff, I am bemused at some reviews saying staff were unfriendly, I never witnessed them anything but polite and jovial with all customers, not just ourselves. We genuinely had nothing to ask of any of them as the food, as stated, was always excellent and the portions are plentiful and great value. I had the Billy Bunter Burger 7 nights out of my 14 it was that damn good!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welsh wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were frequent visitors,the food was lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful.Really good value for money,and a good night in the bar after your meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Walked past a few times before fmdecidubv to give a go as didn't look too busy. Service was very friendly and efficient and food was tasty and came quickly.

Nana Chris' chocolate fudge cake is an excellent way to finish the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taffys Grill also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 

Been to Taffys Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taffys Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.