We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praia da Rocha” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Praia da Rocha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Club Praia da Rocha to your Saves list
Club Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Comunidade Lusiada, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Praia da Rocha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

1. Club Praia da Rocha
2. Praia da Rocha
3. Nightlife
4. Conclusion

1. When booking Club Praia da Rocha, we had no expectations for fear of dissappointment. we requested a pool view in the middle of the block. There are two blocks three blocks in Clube praia da rocha - Altantico and Pacifico. Thses are the two white and yellow blocks the beach side, I had been to the otherside previously and this time around wanted to avoid it at all costs because it's a complete disaster. When we arrived at our accomodation, our requests were carried out but. The acoomation does bring new meaning to the word BASIC, but it was habitable. When you move into your room, you will have a television that will not work unless you have a remote control - These are available from reception (€40 for 14days). You'll probably get one cheap at the shopping compley "modelo" which is €4 one way in a taxi. The safe deposit is fairly cheap, we paid €25 for 14days which puts at ease. Sunbeds are fairly reasonable at €1, which isn't bad if you haven't got a football team with you. Overall the accomodation inCPR is basic but adequate and the staff are very friendly.

2. Praia da rocha is a lovely place to stay with lots of ameneties and with portimao and alvor in close proximity, you will always find something to do. There is a marvellous range of dishes and meals to satisfy your taste buds and all are within walking distance from CPR. If you stray as far as portimao, you will instantly smell the seafood grills and barbeques. One thing i will advise: Most Portuguese restuarants will place small dishes consisting of bread, butter, chesse and pastes for you to tuck into before your meal - you are charged for this gratis service even though you haven't ordered it, and some places charge you individually for this service. The is McDonalds in Portimao for all you junk food lovers. There a few places i'd recommend for food: 1. Shanghai Chinese Restaurant beside Stars Karaoke Bar (Unmissable) food was excellent and the service was great. 2. Dories Steak House across from Shanghai - This place was special and i was kicking myslef that we only tried it on the last day because out of fourteen nights dining, this place was unarguably the best by far. 3. Croke Park have a great Irish Breakfast (I call it the Belly-Buster) 2 Rashers, 2 Sausages, 2Egg, 2Pudd, Beans, Toast Tea, Juice for €6 - Great. There is also a great little Kebab shop for when your smuggers drunk it's acrodd from Croke Park - MMMMmmmmm

3. Nightlife in Praia da Rocha was great, but i found it slightly repetative. Every night had the same format to it, and after 14days it kind of bored us a little. There is a bar called Irelands Eye which is on the main street and if you are luckey enough, there is a singer called paddy the punk who will be entertaining you for the night, and entertain he does. this guy has a great show, funny jokes and we found oursleves using this place as the foundation for our great nights out. Croke Park have a lad called Jason who is also very good and gets the people going. Nightlife wise - The place to go at the end of the night is Babylone Disco and it gets quite good, but don't hit there until after 3.30, it finishs at 6am.
Bars to see are Nichos and on the rocks and Farmers Pub, there is also a great pubs across from Farmers called Durty Nelly's (Don't be fooled if it looks a little empty outside - Go right in) Be warned if any of you intend to buy drugs are cigarettes from the local gypsyies. These guys offer you a chain and thern some drugs and you may end up bringing it home to do your washing with - It's Washing Power.

Conclusion: I would happily visit praia da rocha again, but only for one week. It hasn;t got enough and there isn't a great variation in the venue's entertainment. Don't be bothered by all the negative reviews regarding the accomodation - It is basic but if you go there without expectation, you'll not be dissapointed.

Ruairi Finnegan

The Irish Wedding D.J
---
---

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    400
    479
    251
    361
See reviews for
470
555
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

After reading all the reviews we were a little apprehensive about staying here. We found the apartments basic, but they were large, airy, comfortable and clean. Nothing more than we should expect for the price!!

The Portugese are such friendly people. Food was very cheap 21 Euros for a three course meal with wine and coffee's leaving plenty of pennies for some extra drinks.

The beaches were fantastic.

Best holiday for a while!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Just returned from this hotel, and like most people was worried after reading reviews. We stayed for 10 nights self catering. I went with my husband and 2 children age 8 and 10 and we all had a great time here. The kids loved the pool as it has a water slide which kept them amused. The kids club in the day was ok but mainly was being used for smaller children my 8 year old only went twice. The pool area is large but quite shelterd so you miss out on the algarve breeze it got too hot for us. You have to hire sunbeds and parosols for 1 euro each per day and they always ran out of parosols , so get there early. Then as like all other places keep your towel on bed otherwise the pool attendants take it away. The rooms are cleaned every day except sunday and towels were changed every 4 days. The rooms are very big but no air con however we did not need fans as the rooms are very ventilated with a huge patio window in the bedroom a kitchen door and window. You have to hire kettle,toaster and tv remote. But we found eating out was very reasonable especially O'Baro where we ate most nights for around 35 euro incuding drinks and sweets for the kids. We also ate at Olivers that do a great carvery for 11.50 euro each for adults for a 3 course meal with eat as much as you like on the main course and around 5 euro for the kids however they could only go up for the main carvery once but with the amount that we were all given once was enough. Portugal do not seem to have the same kind of entertainment nights that Spain provide , with the hotel having the same 3 dancers and singers on every night however they were very good and I am unsure if this may change when they get into main season( July/Aug) .The hotel is in a great positon for all ammenities, bus, taxi ,beach , shops restaurants are all within a 5 mins walk. We used the local corner shop for daily items not the hotel shop so as you come out of main reception turn left not right. We found this shop very reasonable some people went to the main modelo which is a huge shopping centre with local large supermarket which you can walk to in about 20-30 mins or get a taxi for 4 euro, but we did not feel there was much difference in the price from the corner shop. I would certainly recommend this hotel and go there again as for the price we paid we certainly had our monies worth and I did not here anyone complain about this hotel while we were staying there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

me and my fiance stayed in club praia da rocha in sept 04 and 05 . on both times we found the complex to be busy and buzzing with things to do .
the apartment was clean and kept tidy and staff were friendly.
we loved lying by the pool and the pool cafe aint bad.
the complex is 5 min walk from the fun and nite life go out the door head left up the hill.
head left again and your on the main street let the fun begin.
the beech was out of this world.
day trips are a must, zoomarine was excellent we both swam with the dolphines, well worth the few quid , we went to slide and splash keep reappling the sun cream ............even when clowdy.
and a trip to the market is a must. the bargins are great for handbags, belts you name it its there............
so dont bring a full case with you.
wine is very cheap.....well worh a taste
enjoy if you go

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here September 2005 and I have to say I was dreading this hotel after reading all the bad reviews! I made sure to say to our travel agent that we did not want to stay in block 3 and gladly we got to stay in block one. The location is excellent very central to everything. The apartments are big and spacious with very basic equipment. They are clean though and ours was cleaned every second day, towels could be changed more often. The complex is massive and very built up so no views at all and sitting on the balcony was not very private as they are very close together. We did not eat or drink in the hotel so basically just slept there and i think that was for the best!

The resort is beautiful with loads to see and do, and the beach is wonderful. I would definately go to the Algarve again but I don't know if i'd go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

Well after having read most of the reviews I was a little aprehensive about this resort....
To start we were there for a little week-end break so I guess I never had much time to really look deeply into things :) The resort itself was very clean, both the outside and indoor pools. The slide was closed, not sure why? The plants around the pool looked lush and green. The room was pretty much what we were expecting, oh and it was clean and we had great views, even got to feed the seagulls bread:) Ok now the not so great parts; there were no toaster, kettle, no cleaning things not even a table towel which I think is normal for even the very basic self-catering apartments?! The staff(reception) were friendly and helpful, the rest of the staff never saw anyone apart from the pool cleaner lol at the end of each day:). We never bothered to cook (as there was not much utensils anyways) but ate out every day, and the food was always reasonable.
On the whole we got a good break for the price we paid. Oh and once again we took the kids to Crazyworld which they and us adults always enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

After reading many bad reviews for this holiday destination my family and I (4 adults, 2 children) arrived full of trepidation! However we were pleasantly surprised by the end of the week as we did have a really good time! The apartments are very basic and not as clean as I would have liked them to be and it was annoying that you have to rent a kettle, toaster or fan, however the rooms were a good size, with lots of storage and there were a lot of on-site facilties. The outdoor pool was saltwater but very big and the indoor pool (chlorinated) was a good size too. Our children made use of the free Kids Club and thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the entertainment in the evening was great (my children thought the dancing girls were wonderful). My advice to you if you are booked and heading to this resort is to take it at face value - cheap and basic accommodation and just make the most of the facilities and the beautiful beaches which are only a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Praia da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Praia da Rocha

Address: Avda Comunidade Lusiada, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Praia da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Praia da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Praia Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Clube Praia Da Rocha
Club Praia De Rocha
Club Praia Da Rocha Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Praia da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.