We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Praia da Rocha

Save Saved
You added Club Praia da Rocha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Comunidade Lusiada, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Praia da Rocha
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Traveled to the Club Praia Da Rocha 6th May 2013 for a 10 night all inclusive stay.After reading some of the negative reports on this site was wondering if we had done the right thing....all i can say is that some peoples expectations of 3 star hotels in Portugal is somewhat wrong and must live in palaces at home...We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel complex...Front desk area was clean and airy,with a well managed check in from helpful and friendly staff..the rooms were a little out dated but totally functionable. We were in room 2211 overlooking the road looking towards the river...the sun hit the balcony about 3.30pm each day.
The restaurant although a limited selection of food .We always managed to eat well (except one night when the breaded chicken was a bit on the tough side) and what was on offer was always freshly prepared and hot.
The drinks - Beer, Wine, Soft Drinks and Coffee were available from the snack bar from 10 am till 5pm. along with Burgers, Hot Dogs, Chips and Sandwiches available 11am - 12noon and again 3pm - 4pm.
The main bar open all day but spirits served only 8pm - midnight .
The hotel is situated a short walk from the main strip and beach, but it is a uphill walk..
Praia Da Rocha itself is a beautiful place with a massive beach and super boardwalk.
A great place to chill out and enjoy yourself

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    359
    425
    232
    302
See reviews for
396
499
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Im disgusted what people have put on here!! Me and partner came here for 7days, on arrival the staff was very friendly they gave us are key exsplained where everthing was and off we went after a very long day of travelling. Are room was spacious over looked the pool. We where on the first floor . regularly had are room cleaned and beds made we was gd for us as young couples don't like making the bed. We had bb breakfast was fab like any normal brakfast. Near by is the beach which has lenths off golden sands. Resturants are fab cant complain gd prices. Warm weather all week and I wouldn't read into what everyone says its cheap and cheerful and wht to u want for a 3 star hotel. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have read all the varying reviews about this hotel and all I can say to add some balance is - chose what you want from a hotel and this may or may not fit the bill. I recently stayed there as part of a long weekend (hen do) as such we wanted something basic, clean but cheap. As such it met our requirements as the only time we were in the hotel was to sleep/get ready to go out - we did spend one afternoon round the pool, however did not eat in the restaurant nor spend any length of time in the bar area. Would I go somewhere like this for a 1 week/2 week holiday? Absolutely not. Whilst we booked self-catering apartments, they were in no way equipped to a decent standard if we had wanted to use cooking facilities (we didn't). The reason for this may be because this hotel offers 'all inclusive' and the vast majority of guests I saw had the blue bands on their wrists. The main issue with this hotel for me is that it is massively outdated and needs a mega revamp. Whilst I cannot say our room was dirty, the facilities were just very old and worn from wear and tear, additionally the pillows were terrible meaning some of us did not sleep well. Just a couple of other observations - I do not think it is right to have to pay 1 euro for a sunlounger or umbrella, I do not know how families afford this if there for 1/2 weeks?? Just a note for elderly/less abled visitors, this hotel is a 10 minute walk from the beach front area with some quite steep hills so would not recommend if you struggle in this regard. Other than that cannot complain about location as it is close to the beach, nightlife but far enough away to avoid the 'noise'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my friend and our two children. Had read a few bad reviews before we travelled but did not find these reports to be quite true. Ok so this hotel is not perfect and by no means luxurious, it is basic in the rooms, but this is reflected in the price so you get what you pay for. We loved our stay here and were all inclusive. Breakfast had the same on offer every morning but luckily I am a fan of scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms etc. Also toasts, jams, cheese and ham, cereal selections. All meals served as buffet style, lunches and teas always offer a good tasty soup, a meat option, fish option and pasta option with a selection of sides and salads, pour your own juices, wines and beers from chilled tap. All inclusive drinks are soft drinks, beers and wines. Spirits only start at 8pm which seemed sensible to me. The outdoor pool can be cold but as we were there in May with high temperatures it was a relief. The pool does get more bearable later in day. Our kids always enjoyed the music in the evening and there were quizzes, karaoke, reptile and parrot shows for evening entertainmant. The host Jaoa was great! Evenings might become boring though as the karaoke was twice a week with the same singers getting up but plenty to do in surrounding area, and the beach is a must. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found staff and guests all very friendly, chatty and helpful. If what your looking for is a cheap base for your holiday this hotel offers a central location, food, drink, entertainment and basic but all you need accomodation.

Room Tip: 13 floors, if travelling with children or don't like heights best request lower level accomodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

just come back from a 10 night All Inclusive was Brilliant don't believe the bad reviews entertainment was good bar staff very friendly pool was great beach was lovely went out to restaurant o barão twice the food was Lovely close to shops and bars The sun loungers and umbrellas are 1 euro each but a friendly guy places the lounger where you want it. saves you getting up early with your towels snack bar has chips burger and hot dog you can't get spirits until 8 pm the spar is a lot cheaper then the supermarket the reptile and parrot show were brilliant the quiz was good our team won a bottle of bubbly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is disgusting my family are there at the moment and are so disgusted it is in plain words a is mess the rooms are disgusting and last night they had cockroaches in the room the food isn't good please stay away don't waste you hard earned money what a disappointment they should not be sending holiday makers out to this hotel

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was awful,it was cold it was put in metal trays but not kept warm, the room was filthy and not cleaned once while we were there for 7 days, the shower had no hook on the wall and no plug in the sink, they went into the room because we has toilet rolls, Its not all inclusive you have to pay extra for a hair dryer a £1.00 a £1.00 for a kettle and a £1.00 for an Iron, per day, a £1.00 per day for sun beds, the kids play room is only open to 12.30. Our room was on the Swimming pool bar side so at night you got all the drunks till 5 in the morning, Since returning I have contracted a stomach bug and have not been able to work and been signed off, the doctor thinks it could be Giardia or Campylobacter, will get the result next week

Room Tip: They should not promote this Hotel ruined my holiday and have put in a complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Praia da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Praia da Rocha

Address: Avda Comunidade Lusiada, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Praia da Rocha 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Praia da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Praia Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Clube Praia Da Rocha
Club Praia De Rocha
Club Praia Da Rocha Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Praia da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.