We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel But Noise Problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Algarve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiter Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Great Grimsby, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Hotel But Noise Problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would have loved to have given this hotel a 5 out of 5 but feel I had to give it a four as we experienced a number of noise problems.
The hotel is in an ideal location for the beach, it is literally across the road, I would just advise anyone unsteady on their feet it is a walk down some steps or a steep hill.
Coming out the hotel their are pubs and places to eat to either your left or right so plenty of choice on an evening.
The pool area is clean and in a good spot for sunshine, the problem for me was there was a cover over the pool, it did look retractable but stayed closed the entire time which seems a bit odd when it is glorious sunshine.
We were greeted nicely and given our key, we stayed in room 320, this is to the rear of the hotel.
Breakfast was good, a good selection of choice, bar very nice and clean and the staff very polite.

My biggest concern for this hotel was the noise which is such a shame because I really like the hotel, the rooms are basic but do there job and are clean, there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

The noise: The walls are thin, everytime a neighbour flushes their toilet you can hear it and our neighbours flushed the toilet a lot!
We also had a bar at the back of the hotel and on our last night Benfica had won the football league and the locals seemed to party all night chanting, shouting, beeping their horns. This wasn't the only night we had noise problems can I add, we had patio doors (no balcony) and it was like there was a gaping hole in the wall you could hear people walking past and talking, cars driving by (we were on the 3rd floor)

Like I said before I really liked this hotel, the staff and the downstairs lobby are lovely.

I don't think I would return to this hotel which is such a shame, it's just the noise was an issue and we had gone on holiday to relax and not still be wide awake 03.00am because of the noise we could hear, maybe it wasn't as bad if your room was to the front of the hotel (the rooms at the front have a balcony too)

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Gerente at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your view about your recent visit to the Hotel Jupiter on TripAdvisor. I will make sure your feedback is shared with our team members. We recognize noise problems, especially from the outside, at certain times of the year and affecting more some floors and the back of the hotel, especially if the window is not fully closed. However, the hotel is undertaking a deep refurbishment investment that will require new rooms and above all, full accommodations remodeling (furniture, décor, acoustic conditions, etc.). We are certain that we will significantly improve levels of comfort and we truly hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future. In case you accept our invitation, please let us know when booking or at check-in about your preference for a more guard accommodation against possible noise problems. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    229
    102
    28
    12
See reviews for
87
301
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here as part of a 150 strong group of motorcyclists attending a weekend on track at the nearby Portimao race circuit.
The accommodation was spotless, service excellent, a huge choice for breakfast and superb evening menu in the restaurant.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Gerente at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Jupiter and for taking the time to submit such a fantastic review. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great place! The best! Just across the road from the beach, friendly and helpful staff. Good food, great swimming pools. I will go back again and recommend to anyone. Great food, very clean. Top class.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Gerente at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
First of all thank you for choosing Jupiter Hotel. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel again, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel has got it all, great views, really good food, situated on one of the best beaches,, easy access to nearby towns, and wonderful staff so helpful, the restaurant manager Antonio bends over backwards to make sure you have your food to your liking nothing is to much trouble, reception and bar staff the same great, fantastic spa pool as well, if I had one tiny complaint it would be the wardrobe space is small, but come on im on holiday how much stuff can I bring... mmmm the wife told me to mention the wardrobe space, that says it all, go on book your self a holiday in a great hotel

Room Tip: The twin rooms at the back with garden and mountain view but a lot cheaper than the sea view used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Manager at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a fantastic review of Hotel Jupiter. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests. Rest assured that I will pass on the feedback to all the team members and in particular to Antonio. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 8th March 2014 for a week. We were initially met at reception by a man from concierge, with a carriage to take our luggage! very nice touch.

The hotel is very modern, clean and minimalistic in style. The staff are very courteous and helpful. Our room was nice, we booked a side sea view. When we return, we will book a sea view as it isn't much extra.The view to the beach is stunning and is literally across the road.

We booked B&B basis. Breakfast is stunning! scrambled eggs are gorgeous and there are fresh warm bread rolls, cheeses, meats, yoghurts etc.

Outside the hotel..... You are located on the main street of Praia da Rocha. Turn right and there are various shops, bars, restaurants.

The cletonina restaurant next door is lovely cafe bar style.

The Boogie bar is a good small bar is you want friendly service and english tv and sport and free WIFI. They do good simple bar snacks too.

Further up on the right is Adris restaurant, this is beautiful and I had a portugese steak which I can highly recommend.

On the left, on the corner is On The Rocks, this has all sport on and free WIFI. The bar stretches all the way through to the beach side, lovely views sitting out.

On the right on the corner is Bacchus bar, it doesn't look very much from the outside but it is so cosy inside, like a smugglers rest. The owner has his resident Maccau called Cadoos!! he is the best, so cute but watch your fingers! The Chilli and rice is very good and cheap.

There are too many bars and restaurants to mention but they are all on your door stop, go find em!

If you carry on walking down the main street you can walk to a place called Praia du Vau. It is a lovely walk and will only take about 20-30 ambling along the cliff tops with beautiful views. The is a tiny little cove with a few bars and a couple of beach cafes. Papa Tomas is the first one you will reach. Lovely coffee and pastel da nata's! (local pastry, like a vanilla creme brulee)

If you turn left out of the hotel, there are mainly hotels with a few bars , restaurants and shops. If you walk to the end (10 mins) you reach the fort and marina. This is really lovely and has a different feel to the main street, lovely meals at the Waterfront bar/restaurant.

The beach....cross the road and you will reach a wide boardwalk that stretches the length of the beach, this is great, all along the boardwalk, there are lots of bars/cafe/restaurants, I didn't count but I would say there are at least 8! There look like big ECO wood cabins on first sight.

Round and about.......A trip to Alvor which is further west is a nice change. We walked, which took us about an hour but you can get a bus (on the corner opposite to the Jupiter hotel) to Portimao then a bus to Alvor. Or a taxi will only cost about 8 euros. Alvor was originally a little fishing village, it's on a river inlet, there are winding streets with lots of bars and restaurants and shops. Chefs cook fresh sardines on the bbq outside restaurants it's a wonderful little place.

Portimao, you can walk along from the marina in Praia da rocha, but we caught the bus which took 10 mins. 1.50 euros. This is a working port, lovely streets and shops, the square looks onto the water. There is only 1 English bar, so there is more of a portugese feel here.

General points......1 euro for a glass of wine in most of the bars and restaurants, 1.50 euros for a large beer. Caprinha's local cocktail, are gorgeous but get one from portuguese bar.

Room Tip: A Side Sea View or Full Sea View is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Manager at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Jupiter for your holidays. I’m thrilled to read that you were impressed with the facilities , specially breakfast , and with our team members. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Jupiter soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our first time to the Algarve. Chose the Jupiter Hotel, based on other reviews and pictures seen. It did not disappoint. Upon check in, we were greeted warmly by the staff on duty, and were upgraded from a side sea view to a front sea view. Fantastic! We walked everywhere in the immediate area, no shortage of shops and restaurants. Our favourite place ended up being Casalinho's, right at the bottom of the stairs to the beach, across from the hotel. There was a tourism police station directly across from the hotel, so we felt pretty safe. Such a beautiful area, the rooms were clean, great view from the balcony on the 4th floor, and buffet breakfast was great. Lots to choose from, and the best oranges I have ever had! Other reviewers have faulted the coffee from the automated machine, but I think it's a personal preference. We quite liked it, including the capuccino you could choose. We had a great visit, loved the location of the hotel, not right in the middle of where the bars are, where it might be a bit noisier, but just a couple minutes walk . I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had rooms 403 & 404, which faced the ocean. Fantastic view. Sunny on balcony midday, shade in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljupiter A, Manager at Jupiter Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team which is working hard on exceeding all our guests expectations. It is good to hear that we managed to do so during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Jupiter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our first trip to the Algarve. This was the middle of February. Our first impression was the warm greeting by the staff who appeared to be of local origin. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The hotel itself was very clean, food superb and facilities as good as any 4 star hotel I've stayed in. Only minor con was the absence of tea/coffee making facilities in the room and wi-fi internet only seemed to extend to ground floor. Notwithstanding, I recommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Algarve Hotel

Address: Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter Algarve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jupiter Algarve Hotel, formerly know as Hotel Jupiter is a modern ocean themed 4 star beach front hotel located at Praia da Rocha on the Algarve. Featuring 183 rooms, with sea or land views. All of the guest rooms feature free Wi-Fi, LCD TV, air conditioning, double or twin beds, minibar, and ability to accommodate families with children. Hotel facilities include a swimming pool (covered and heated in winter), restaurant, bar, spa, gym, meeting rooms, garage and musical entertainment. Start the day with a full breakfast buffet served in the restaurant and discover the best the region has to offer. Take advantage of the beach only a short distance on foot, and many other activities available such as scuba diving on the reef Ocean Revival, boating, experiences at the Algarve International Motor Park and visits to amusement parks such as Zoomarine, Slide & Splash or the Museum of Portimao. Back at the hotel we suggest a visit to the SPA circuit or a relaxing massage, or stay active at our Fitness Center. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the Jupiter restaurant serves a variety of dishes of Portuguese and international cuisine served "a la carte" or buffet also with Half and Full boards meal plans available. The hotel also offers flexible meetings and events spaces with capacities up to 300 guests, computers with internet access, a car parking garage, airport transfers, tours, bicycle rentals all available at the 24 hours reception desk. A great location, only 2 steps from the beach, the marina, restaurants, bars, shops, casino, and the excitement of the famous summer beach parties ... Make this hotel the right choice for those seeking a stay full of good memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Jupiter Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Algarve
Jupiter Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Jupiter Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Jupiter Algarve
Jupiter Algarve Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.