We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Algarve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiter Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here with a few friends, and found the hotel clean and very accomodating, even lending books as my flight bag was too small to carry any,(they have a small library) the pool was nice and clean, not too many kids about although summer there would be, the breakfast was a good selection, although evening meals were not 4*, generally this is a lovely location, but if you have mobility problems the steep steps to one side of the hotel down to the beach will make you puff a bit. Very central to other cafes and bars, shops etc. I am staying here again this year, so all in all a good clean hotel.

Room Tip: Not many balconies, so ask for one in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    230
    102
    28
    12
See reviews for
87
301
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was brilliant great for families , couples and many more the food is great ,close to bars and shops beach 5 minute walk all staff is very friendly rooms are very big and pool very clean a grezt clean and friendly hotel

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor you can close your balcony with a shutter when you are out and ask for pool view y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here in October with my husband on B&B. We booked a room with balcony sea view. When we got to the hotel to our delight we were upgraded to an even better room yeah ;-) Lovely view of the beach. Rooms cleaned thoroughly everyday, towels changed, fresh tolieteries supplied with a hairdryer as well. Mini fride with mini bar, separate prices. Wide range of TV programmes, (thats what we love about Portugal), everything in english with portuguese subtitles, how accomodating is that, really lovely. Breakfast, absolutely wonderful,
vast selection of hot & cold food, range of teas, coffees, juices, fresh fruit. Staff brilliant from reception, to porters & chambermaids. Swiming pool in front of the hotel, heated pool, with a
roof. Out of the hotel loads of restaurants, bars, supermarkets. From the airport to this hotel is 50 minutes, we booked a private taxi through Sun Transfers, very good service with good rates and when we gave the driver the name of our hotel he also said it was a good choice. If we do return to Praia this where we will definitely stay again. All in all, lovely hotel which made our holiday a brilliant one.
Don't forget to visit Portimao, bus stop diagonally across the road of the hotel. Lovely town with some lovely cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First impressions on arrival was very clean and looked lovely. We were taken to our room by a prter who showed us how the air con worked and explained the mini bar and showed us things we needed .

The Bar and lounge area is very spacious and a fab range of cocktails ..the bananarama is to die for!, service is good .

The pool has ample sunbeds however a lot do put towels on at breakfast but you can always get one then .

The pool is only suitable for adults really and no childrens part.This is why it says for adults , however we liked this hotel so much we are returning next year for 2 weeks and taking our 6 year old as this wouldn't spoil our stay in any way.

Breakfast is lovely a huge range for everyone and never run out , homemade breads and cakes on offer.

the hotel also has free Wifi , it is meant to be in the rooms but signal is too poor but works fine down stairs in reception or bar!

Also has its own spa and beauty room for those wanting pampering.

I had read reviews that staff were rude and poor service but not the case all were lovely and the rooms cleaned every day, even the maids stop to chat!

The beds however are a little hard but not to worry we managed lol.

When booking be careful as not all rooms have balconys , you can pay extra for one, we didnt last time but got one anyway, but not guarenteed , this time with a child we did pay for it but again worth it.

The evening entertainment wa a bit of a let down , one man with a keyboard all the time and more locals arrived than residents but it is quiet whih is a plus, we were happy to go down the street for a few drinks on a night anway and only had a night cap at the hotel.

Overall excellent horel, perfect location to go to he beach and on the main strip of bars and shops.

Total relaxation!, roll on June when we go back!

anyone wanting any info please ask me for more details x

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony as not all rooms have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed here in august this year, the hotel was lovely and the staff very helpfull. the only thing that dissapointed us was alot of the rooms have no balcony and being high season was very expensive to upgrade and as we are both smokers we really missed a balcony due to the hotel being a no smoking in your rooms.
the night life was abit dissapointing for us the was lots of irish bars which we had good nights in but found it a place where if you liked nightlife being strolling around and spending your nights in resturants then this is the place for you.
on a positive note the place is beautifull and we would return but not as our main holiday as we like a very lively nightlife

Room Tip: if you like a balcony where you can come back and relax make sure you book one as it may be cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a really lovely stay in Hotel Jupiter recently during our trip to Portugal. The hotel is very clean and the employees were friendly. There are a lot of items to choose from on the breakfast buffet and all food was fresh. Great beachfront location which we were able to take in from our sea-view room with a balcony and it is close to many restaurants. I preferred the area to the left when exiting the hotel towards the marina rather than the strip to the right of the hotel (which was a bit too touristy for my liking) though we did find nice restaurants there as well. Would highly recommend the hotel Spa – really enjoyed the Aqua Circuit and the massage, manicure and pedicure were some of the best treatments I’ve ever had! Wouldn’t hesitate to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: We requested a sea-view room as we booked as part of a group. Though the request could not be guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Booked in as part of a trip for a track day at the Autodrome and found a lovely sea view waiting for us out the patio doors. Very clean throughout and regularly cleaned. Staff very helpful and polite. Good location for other resorts also as we'll as places to eat within walking distance. Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room though hence not 5 stars for the review apart from that it's faultless.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Algarve Hotel

Address: Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter Algarve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jupiter Algarve Hotel, formerly know as Hotel Jupiter is a modern ocean themed 4 star beach front hotel located at Praia da Rocha on the Algarve. Featuring 183 rooms, with sea or land views. All of the guest rooms feature free Wi-Fi, LCD TV, air conditioning, double or twin beds, minibar, and ability to accommodate families with children. Hotel facilities include a swimming pool (covered and heated in winter), restaurant, bar, spa, gym, meeting rooms, garage and musical entertainment. Start the day with a full breakfast buffet served in the restaurant and discover the best the region has to offer. Take advantage of the beach only a short distance on foot, and many other activities available such as scuba diving on the reef Ocean Revival, boating, experiences at the Algarve International Motor Park and visits to amusement parks such as Zoomarine, Slide & Splash or the Museum of Portimao. Back at the hotel we suggest a visit to the SPA circuit or a relaxing massage, or stay active at our Fitness Center. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the Jupiter restaurant serves a variety of dishes of Portuguese and international cuisine served "a la carte" or buffet also with Half and Full boards meal plans available. The hotel also offers flexible meetings and events spaces with capacities up to 300 guests, computers with internet access, a car parking garage, airport transfers, tours, bicycle rentals all available at the 24 hours reception desk. A great location, only 2 steps from the beach, the marina, restaurants, bars, shops, casino, and the excitement of the famous summer beach parties ... Make this hotel the right choice for those seeking a stay full of good memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Jupiter Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Algarve
Jupiter Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Jupiter Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Jupiter Algarve
Jupiter Algarve Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.