We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years on .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Da Rocha

Praia Da Rocha
Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
pickering north yorks england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“20 years on .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

being going to Rocha for the last 20 years first arrived with allocation on arrival been going back ever since never fails to offer great service value for money and a warm welcome, the beaches are clean safe ideal for families. There is only a couple things that annoys me British time share touts do tend to be pain in the rear but you spot them early and avoid them and gypo,s asking if want to buy watches ,sun glasses cigs drugs etc DONT even stop to talk to them walk on.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    308
    124
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kiss me quick hats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nothing wrong with Praia da Rocha just not our sort of place. Brilliant for pub crawling, fish and chips and close access to the amazing beaches. We still had a good time, just spent more time being selective about where we ate and drank which was perfectly manageable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Pity we didn't get to this beach, it looked lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

In Portimao for one day having arrived in the Thomson Dream cruise liner. Unfortunately the Port Authority would not allow the ship to anchor closer than 2 nautical miles to the harbour entrance so the tendering process took much longer than expected. Then there was a delay because insufficient buses had been contracted to take us all into town. We decided to get off at the first stop and look around the shops this being the first time that we had ever been in Portugal. We soon got lost as the map provided on the ship was lacking in real detail and most streets do not have adequate signage on them. Thankfully a friendly shopkeeper gave us good map of the town, albeit after we had made a considerable purchase. We then made our way back to the coach dropping off point with the intention of going on to Praia da Rocha, which was the second dropping off point for the contracted buses. To cut a long story short we had to wait for the third bus coming along before we could get a seat on it. Whoever said that the British could always be relied upon to wait politely in a queue and let those at the head of it to get on first? Needless to say we were pushed for time by the stage we got to the beach and could only look at it out of the window. If we ever return we will go to the beach first!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was my 2nd visit to Praia Da Rocha,was there about 20 years ago. I enjoyed it more this time,better choice of restaurants and the resort itself has greatly improved. Went for a walk every morning along the beautiful beach and once along the cliffs at Praia Da Vau - stunning scenery. Also,it was very cheap to dine out,and beer and wine was also cheap. Would recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everything you want and need in a holiday resort? Great food, great bars and great weather. Locals are really friendly too

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia Da Rocha also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Praia Da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.