We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, but in need of a Maitre D” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA

Save Saved
You added BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Praia da Rocha
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, but in need of a Maitre D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a very nice meal in this beautiful setting, the food was well presented and very good indeed. The hotel has been beautifully restored and is fascinating, however, the service has an almost amateurish feel, the young staff mean well but there is a lack of decision making so little things like who gets your drink, who opens the bottle etc result in dissatisfaction and quite frankly upset the evening. For a restaurant associated with the prestigious Relais Chateaux brand it clearly has to get its act together. The wine list is poor for a reputed restaurant also. Although we were in great company and the food was very good with imagination and beautiful presentation, the poor experience with the pre-dinner drinks and air of inexperience spoilt things. If the owners invest in a good Maitre D then they will turn this good restaurant into an absolute star! Listen up owners of the Bela Vista!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo N, Manager at BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we appreciated the time you took to share your feedback with us. Your comments are of great value to us and will contribute to improve our service and details.

In the meantime, your comments were addressed to the respective management and will have our best attention in order to serve you better.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back and to restore your confidence in our service.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
119
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

from the start of our one night stay to the end, we absolutely loved it, the intimacy the ornate ornaments, the clashing colour, the magnificent tiles, the peaceful ambience, i could go on and on. We stayed in the original house and each room is so different, the bathrooms were modern and just blends with the old. The food was fantastic, the service is slow but this is Portugal and you just got to go with the flow and relax. The pool area is fantastic with electricity sockets by each bed station so we could stil charge up our phones etc. the staff are eager to please and happy to oblige. PDR is not my favourite place in the Algarve but this Hotel makes it a worthwhile visit.

Room Tip: ask for the original house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo N, Manager at BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great and valuable review.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

In case of some other information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Absolutely loved our stayed here! The property was lovely, the rooms were gorgeous (would of been nice to have a ocean view room but oh well) and breakfast was amazing! It's also the little things that count... L'Occitane body wash, shampoo and conditioner!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in Bela Vista Hotel for 1 night for our wedding night and had an excellent stay.
The room was beautiful, with a lovely view and very well decorated.
The staff was extremely friendly and polite, always with a smile on their faces.
We ordered breakfast in the room which was of great quality.
Unfortunately we did not stay any longer to get to experience all facilities.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo N, Gerente at BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Bela Vista Team, I would like to thanks you so much for the great and valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We love Relais and Chateaux hotels and this is no exception. The hotel is beautiful, situated on a cliff right at the beautiful (though touristy) beach. The service was excellent, from the phone conversations, to our greeting at the car and luggage assistance, to the check-in in the inviting reception area complete with welcome fruit tea, to room service, who delivered a variety from the included breakfast buffet to our room for a mere 5 euros. Our room was in the new section on the lower level, which we loved as we had a shaded patio that opened out to the lawn and gorgeous blooming landscape. The only downside is the disco a few doors down - my husband hates that deep bass beat of dance music - which played until about 1am, but we were on such a late schedule in Spain and Portugal that it really didn't matter; the music stopped about the time we went to sleep. We had a really inventive, flavorful gourmet meal that my best foodie friends would even have loved, with great variety for a small hotel in shoulder season. We didn't get a chance to try out the spa, but would have loved to! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, i assume the original house would be better, but we loved the patio and lawn out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo N, Gerente at BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure the we receive your great review.

We look forward to hearing from you very soon.

In case you need something from us, please do not hesitate to contact.

With kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a truly excellent hotel with 5 star service from all staff. Unfortunately I wasn't impressed with the beach and town where this hotel is located. Quite tacky and dead with no real soul, but this hotel made up for it and more. My room was in the new section, where they are all looking onto the beach with either a private balcony or terrace onto the grass. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable with all amenities. The food at the restaurant is excellent with some really creative dishes and a lot of variety for a small hotel. The service from everyone from the waiters and reception to the cleaners was all around excellent. They really go out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and this made for such a nice stay. Even though I didn't like the town where this hotel is, it is worth going to just for a few days at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a self indulgent four days at the Bela Vista. From beginning to end we enjoyed impecable service whether at reception, in the restaurant or around the pool. The personalities of every member of staff shone through to make us always feel relaxed and cosseted. The quality of the restaurant Vista was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the seven course 'tasting' menu. A feeling of luxury and well being prevails throughout. The Bela Vista definitely provides everything that might be expected for a memorable and romantic getway!

Room Tip: Character Room in the Palacete are superb, magnificent sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA

Address: Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Expedia so you can book your BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.