We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I can't criticise this hotel in any way...everything was just right! It's 5 star service and surroundings but done in an unpretentious, friendly way. Staff, views, decor, beds, pool area, ambiance, breakfast, spa, dinner, cocktails ... literally everything was brilliant. And to anyone who is worried Praia da Rocha is a grotty town...it really isn't and in September at least all the bars/clubs looked empty, there were lots of families and locals, the waterfront and beach and lovely and there's lots to explore in the vicinity. So I recommend a trip to Bela Vista wholeheartedly, it's the loveliest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    33
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
163
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this beautiful hotel & could have stayed a lot longer. A wonderful experience from when we arrived to when we left & we're already planning another week for next year. The staff were so helpful & a special mention has to go to the bar manager, Andre. He was so enthusiastic about the hotel & was a perfect host. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

... amongst the bustle and buzz of the restaurants, shops and tourists on the street outside - inside this wonderful palace of a hotel, I experienced tranquility, excellence and unpretentious luxury. You know how photographs of places can be misleading in that when you actually arrive at your accommodation things aren't quite like they are depicted in the brochure? Bela Vista actually exceeds the promise of it's photos. For example: the pool area was a haven where no one 'reserved' sunbeds, soothing music was playing at times and a waiter would appear with freshly made smoothies for everyone (at no cost). If the sun got too much, you could lie on an adjustable (double) bed complete with adjustable gauze sun blinds and curtains. Pool towels were in abundance and were also for use on the beach.
In the evenings, a young pianist played classical music in the elegant hallway, her notes resounding throughout the hotel. I've never seen such a beautiful piano.
To sum up, Bela Vista is for those who want peace and quiet and enjoy attention to detail. However, the 'high life' is just outside the gates of the hotel . . but you'd never guess that when you're chilling out inside.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the Character rooms. They do not all have balconies but the size, decor and facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a meal in the Vista restaurant of the Bella Vista hotel in late August. This has got to be the most stunning location for a meal. The restaurant is situated on the sea and is a most romantic setting. We firstly had an appetitif , champagne, sitting by the pool. All the furniture poolside is very luxurious and comfortable. The food was out of this world as was the wine. The staff are excellent and there is great attention to detail. We were very impressed with the manager Rogerio Calhav who paid personal attention to all guests. Nuno Cardosa , the chef, who trained in Michelin star restaurants in France came to speak with all the guests. It is well well worth a visit ... I would go specially to Praia da Rocha just for this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Bela Vista is one of the top hotels I've visited.
- check in - private, with a welcome drink and a tour around the hotel/room.
- room - fantastic views - beachfront, amazing decor and all the amenities you could ask in a 5 star. they check the room twice a day and leave fantastic handmade cookies as a good night amenite.
- breakfast - fantastic!!! served in the terrace with sea and beach view. high quality products. fresh orange juice.
- pool - great atmosphere, lounge music, very polite and helpful staff at the bar. Everyday they offered a fruit smoothie and a fruit appetizer to all guests.
- restaurant - expensive but delicious. it worth every single euro we've paid. you can see the menu in the hotel webpage.
- staff - I've traveled from Portugal throuh French Polynesia and this team I can guarantee is defenitly on our top 5.
- staff - I travel a lot and I've been in many different countries I can guarantee you that this team is definitely one of the best I've found in the whole world.

So, after this wonderful experience I'll definitely be going back and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Chose the Bela Vista due to its No1 position on TA. It is a stunning hotel. Not particularly so from the exterior, but inside is a riot of fantastic design and colour, individualism and style. Our room, in the new wing, was airy, modern and spacious. I had requested a quiet room following comments on this site re noise and it delivered on that front despite the hotels' own loud music and the noise from the busy street it is situated on. The hotel stands grandly and somewhat incongruously on the middle of 'the strip', the main thoroughfare of Praia da Rocha. It is an oasis amongst a street of tat and tackiness! An array of largely high rise hotels/apartments,restaurants and bars. Not my cup of tea and I would not have come here were it not for the lure of this beautiful hotel, however it was a fun spot for a post dinner stroll, utterly packed and buzzing but with a mixed bag of people including families so not intimidating . The hotel also overlooks the beach, a vast touristy stretch of sand, not pretty but so huge that there is ample room for movement for all. The pool and pool area of the Bela Vista is wonderful, large, with plenty of loungers, cabanas and bar seating. Great bar service, plus a DJ spinning at the decks. Service was good throughout. Dinner was excellent, very fine food, service and surroundings. Breakfast was a very simple buffet with a menu of cooked items. All in all, a complete joy to stay here. We took a boat from Portimao to Silves, a pretty and historic hill top town and this provided a pleasant diversion from this commercial area.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful Hotel with an high quality of services. It is the best to enjoy the holiday and relax. Excellente breakfast (there is also champagne and all is handmade) and cocktails. I miss the biscuits they leave in your room every night. The pool is wonderful.
I would like to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA

Address: Av. Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.