We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha to your Saves list
Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Can't fault this place , nothing is too much trouble for Laura , the lady who looks after the apartments .
Very near restaurants and pubs , plus the beach is just across the road and up a (not too steep ) road, take you 2minutes at most.
If you want to eat at apartment the huge Continente Hypermarket is a 30 minute walk away or taxi it for about 4/5 euros , you'll certainly need one to bring back shopping .
Our favourite restaurant was in do vua a 15 minute walk away if you take the road , The Jacaranda . Claires along the top road does a good value 3 course menu .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and great care was taken over our stay. An optional extra heater made a world of difference - November/December nights can be pretty cool in the Algarve, so travellers should take note.

We went in search of winter sunshine and possible places to re-visit at length in February-March, and were successful on both counts. A few weeks in the apartments may well turn out to be a very good solution!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

On arrival were upgraded to two bedroom apartment in room 225! An excellent start to our holiday. Sunshine on balcony until early afternoon. Rooms cold in the evening and night. Laura rented us a heater at 5 euros a day. Location of apartments is ideal, close to beach and restaurants, but in quiet area. Big Continente supermarket about 20 minute walk away and 5 euros for a taxi back. Spar local small supermarket about 5 minutes away. Can recommend Mistral restaurant for seafood and local Portuguese dishes, frequented by many of the locals.
Also The Taca bar next to Claire's is worth a visit, large lager 1 Euro! We enjoyed our week there so much we have already booked a return next spring.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant in every way! Laura is the best host , upgraded us to an apartment with an upstairs, nice! Kitchen very well equipped , washer , microwave , coffee maker , kettle toaster also iron ironing board! We stayed in 103 , had the sun in from dawn till dusk!
Transfer pick up on the way home was at 4am and in the sleepiness forgot my English money, left in a drawer, emailed Laura to inform her , and she collected it for me and gave it to my parents to bring home for me , a real diamond! We will be back !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellookie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked a one bedroom apartment and got upgraded to a two bedroom two storey, balcony off bedroom has sun there all day. Laura was very helpful, weather was fantastic for November. Quite a few places still open, local bar next to apartment was called acos bar was a great stop for a few drinks, victor and his family we very nice, even opened earlier so my hubby could watch a football match.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A nice way to start any holiday
A lovely warm friendly greeting from a Lady called Laura
Who even insisted on helping with my luggage
She took me to my allocated apartment
On opening the door and walking in I was amazed how nice the place looked
Better than my flat I have and Lovely and clean
So 2 Great things to get my holiday time off to a great start
As said the room was perfect and spacious
No reason for anything for me to moan about
Fridge freezer real cooker with hob bath/shower jacuzzi washer
balcony to sit out in the sun
Everything you would need only thing missing was an iron
Ladies came on Friday and Monday to do the rooms
Weather was lovely sunny and warm with a nice breeze
Evenings a bit cooler One little hiccup
The hot water heater sprung a leak Friday
Let Laura know late afternoon Someone was round within an hour
Tried to see if it could be fixed
Decided a new boiler was required
So went away Friday evening Came back Saturday and had old one replaced and working all within an hour or so
So a great all round first class service from Laura and her Staff
I would certainly love to visit this place again
Thanks to Laura for being a perfect friendly and helpful host

Room Tip: Not too far from the beach and local shops all within a couple of minutes walk Though for me it too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

well i, can only agree with everyone,this has to be the best of its kind on the Algarve we also were upgraded to apartment 225 ,2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms a balcony, private swimming pool 5 star @ 2 star prices.stayed 30th oct to 5th november Taffys for breakfast,Snug bar for drinks (only genuine irish bar in Praia)will return in April cant wait!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont worry Laura will always give you the best room she can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Address: Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.