We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Viking Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Viking Resort to your Saves list
Pestana Viking Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, good quality hotel for the price. Staff are excellent. Two negatives, 1. Their is only buffet food served at breakfast and dinner. Internet access which is essential nowadays only available in the lobby.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    224
    49
    20
    15
See reviews for
154
217
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in May, beautiful weather and really quiet but I can imagine it gets busy later during the summer.
Rooms were clean and well equiped, we had a fridge and kitchenette etc.
Staff were very helpful.
We stayed b&b, breakfast was a buffet and pretty similar each morning but there was pretty much everything you could ask for. It took about an hour to walk into town and taxis back were about 6 euro but there are some good restaurants locally at decent prices. Supermarket was in walking distance, we bought things for lunch and kept them in our room as the only downside we could mention is the pool bar was pricey. The hotels restaurant evening buffet seemed to have good variety but we did not eat there. Very close to two beautiful beaches and the views were fantastic. The hotel also provides towels for beach/pool so no need to take your own. Spa facilities were very good, indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and fitness suite etc. Overall a great stay in a lovely, clean hotel and we would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were looking for a warm European vacation spot to celebrate our daughter's Master's (MSc International Marketing) Graduation in London England. After we decided on Portugal, this place interested us because of it's location. It is off the highly trafficked area and less touristy. The staff was very helpful. We loved the view and nearby sandy beaches. It was the end of the "off season" so it was pretty quiet and not very populated

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been going to this hotel at least 4-5 times a year for the past 7 years. It was the warmth and professionalism of the staff that drew us back over the years. Unfortunately since the change to LTI and it's current management the hotel has taken dramatic down turn. For a 4* Hotel in Portugal the quality and variation of breakfast in appalling. It is more like a motel as you have to go to reception to sign for a hairdryer since it's current management have been there. Previously they had free wifi which is norm for a 4* hotel and now it's chargeable. When you want to use the steam room you have to inform reception at least three times as it's never on continuously. Apart from the location of the hotel and it's front line staff there is nothing 4* about it.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a supplement the higher floors are better as they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and have never been disappointed. The hotel is situated in a fairly quiet resort, having said that there are about a dozen or so places to eat/drink within reasonable walking distance. The hotel is well presented and always very clean. The bedrooms have pretty much everything you need and I like the small kitchenette area with fridge, kettle and microwave. Dont get me wrong I dont go on holiday to cook but its nice to have somewhere to keep drinks cool etc or just to make a snack for on the balcony. Pool area lovely with fabulous views. Restaurant offers a good breakfast selection of hot and cold items. We have in the past tried the restaurant at night but to be honest havent found it worth the money. Staff are lovely and welcoming. If you want varied nightlife this isnt the resort for you but if you want a relaxing time you will enjoy. I would recommend a car to get around if you want to see a bit more of the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors are superior rooms but worth the small suppement for unobstructed sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Once again an enjoyable stay at the Pestana Viking, staff helpful as always and our suite on the seventh floor was very comfortable with excellent views (worth upgrading to). The only negative was the internet only being available in the lobby area, on previous holidays we have accessed it in other public areas as well. The choice at breakfast was good and as it is Portugal the cooked breakfast reflects this, I had the fresh cooked omelette on the mornings it was available and it was very enjoyable. The indoor pool was very quiet when I used it and it was enjoyable.The nightly cocktail special at 4 euros was a good choice. The area is very quiet and if you are looking for a lively hotel this probably would not meet your needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thatcham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for 7 days,
Well maintained and very clean, staff attentive and good evening entertainment,
The pool and sun bed areas were well maintained with daily pool checks, ph, temperature etc.
We used all the facilities on offer in the indoor pool, sauna,spa, and the gym.
Overall i was impressed with everything.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
Easily accomadated the four of us.
Going back this year for two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Viking Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.