We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Near Perfect Holiday :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Viking Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Viking Resort to your Saves list
Pestana Viking Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Near Perfect Holiday :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this hotel with great anticipation. Looking at the Pestana website, the images they used really sold the hotel to us but we were concerned that we would arrive to find that the best rooms had made the brochure. We booked the hotel and made a number of requests...we had asked for a double room, on the highest floor possible due to other reviews saying that the trees blocked the views on lower floors.

We arrived at the hotel in beaming sunshine on 24th May 2012. We were greeted with a smile and were immediately shown to our room. We had no reason to be concerned. Walking to our room, the hotel's decor was modern, fresh and very clean. We were taken to the 7th floor (the highest) and shown to room 708. The room was large with a double bed (two twins pushed together), a kitchenette, plenty of storage, tv, air-conditioning, table and chairs. We opened the large glass door on the balcony to breathtaking views across the cliffs, beach and open seas. We were delighted. The bathroom was huge with a wide sink, bath, shower and bidet.

We were treated like royalty throughout our stay and the staff could not do enough for us. Fresh towels every day, beach towels every two days, they would arrange excursions for us when we wanted, they sorted car hire out for us and even arranged for an early breakfast when we departed on the 31st May at 6am in the morning.

The hotel grounds were stunning, a little breezy by the side of the pool given that we were at the top of a cliff, but this made relaxing in the sun much more comfortable. The pools were great (indoor and out) with few people crowding them. The outdoor pool was salt water so we tended to use the indoor pool as the outdoor salt water pool was a bit cold. The gym looked great (we didn't use it...c'mon, we were on holiday). There was a massage center too. We could go to one of two beaches either side of the hotel. We tended to go for the beach to the right as there was a nice restaurant to get out of the sun and where the food was great.

Speaking of food, the food at the hotel was great. We were on a half board basis which represented only 10% of the guests. The remainder seemed to be on bed and breakfast basis only. As you can imagine, the breakfast sitting was busy, with plenty of food to choose from. We had the option of a full cooked breakfast, or continental with bread and cheeses. There were cereals and fruits, yoghurt, cake, tea and coffee.

Lunch was quite pricey if purchased from the hotel, so we tended to visit the beach restaurant where food was a bit better value. Drinks were quite costly too at the hotel. I think I paid 7 Euros for two glasses of Pepsi, whereas on the beach, you could get two cans of Pepsi for 3 Euros.

Due to the few guests on half board, dinner was a little more limited and the restaurant was a lot quieter. You tended to have two meat dishes (one fish), two veg dishes, a rice and a potato dish to choose from. The choice was limited but tasted great. There was also a salad bar with pasta, soup and bread, ice cream and a selection of other deserts. You would never go hungry but sometimes you would fancy something a little different. Of the 7 nights we were there, we ate out three times just to get a little more variety.

Location of the hotel is in a quiet spot, not much around the hotel but we were happy with that. We hired a car for three days and visited Albufeira and Caviaro. Albufeira was busy with plenty to look at.

So, a near perfect holiday. We are 25 and seemed to be surrounded by older guests and young families, but this was not a problem for us. We were able to fully relax and loved spending our days on the beach or by the pool, we only wish we had booked two weeks rather than one.

Only negatives (and they are not really negatives) was the choice of food at dinner and the salt water out door pool. Apart from that, we had a fantastic time and would go back tomorrow.

Thanks to all staff at the Pestana Viking for making us so welcome, no doubt we will be seeing you again!!

Room Tip: Budget for renting a car (116 Euros) if you intend to visit other areas as there is not much around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    243
    54
    20
    15
See reviews for
172
232
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was our 3rd stay in a Pestana hotel and will probably be our last. We could not fault the room, as in all pestanas it was very comfortable & clean. Unfortunately the weather wasnt great so the outside bar remained closed and there was no where in the hotel to get drinks during the day apart from going back to your room. There is a great bar/restaurant just opposite the hotel. All in all it was too quiet for us. The hotel and the area it is in lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Porches is a nice area to bring foreign visitors since it does not suffer from the corrupt noisy uncontrolled growth / sprawl that plagues other Algarve destinations.

The hotel's location is at the end of the road and really lends itself to just decoupling and relaxing. Staff were 100% heart, meaning they really try to do their best.

I would definitely return, again in the off season. Rooms were clean and up to international standards. Nevertheless, in terms of value for the money, it may seem a bit pricey in the high season.

The place would benefit from fresh investment in maintenance. Loose tiles on the floor outside the rooms was a way too visible manner to pinch operating costs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side on the 7th (top) floor. Lower floors have trees blocking the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very basic resort, distant from local towns and attractions, will really need to rent a car if you want to travel around. Setting is alright, but really don't expect much from your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and have enjoyed each visit. Hotel is in a quiet location and I think you really need a car to get around. There are a few restaurants and shops in the area but choice is quite limited. Rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay and I particularly like the small " kitchen" area that has fridge, kettle, microwave, handy if you fancy a snack or small meal on the balcony. Location is very pretty overlooking beautiful beaches. Would stay here again if in Algarve

Room Tip: Some rooms stating sea view are obstructed ask for a top or higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

this hotel / apartments form part of the pestana vaccation club where owners of apartments elswhere within pestana may exchange their booked weeks.

DON'T BOTHER The public area are clean and re-furbished however the apartments are very poor. Ours was very shabby and in desperate need of up grading., The wimdows were extremly dirty. Area around the patio door was broken, needed repair. beds of poor quality as was the living room furniture., Do not be fooled by the lovely pictures on the website. The only food shop is a 15 minute walk UP HILL to the supermarket. Thank goodness for the local italian restaurant 5 minutes acrros the way from the hotel. This is thoughrouly recommendable. A 2 course meal for 2 with wine will cost about 80euros.

Room Tip: try Pestana Aviour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for the sixth time. Location is perfect, beautiful beach and fantastic scenary.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Nice swimming pools indoor and outdoor would be perfect if the outdoor swimming pool was heated !!! in april it is impossible to use it, otherwise nice surrounding and lovely view over the sea. Next to the hotel plenty of resaurants within walking distance. If you want to visit some other places a car is needed.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and excelent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Viking Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.