We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Terrace Club to your Saves list
Terrace Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta das Palmeiras Bloco E, Porches 8400-450, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Porches
worcs, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the terrace club last week of september. when we arrived the man on reception was friendly and helpful. i can honestly say the apartments were the biggest i have ever stayed in. It was really spacious and airy. The blinds made it feel very secure and kept the room cool. Main problem was that we were on the 4th floor. The stairs were a killer but the view was amazing. unfortunately we had some very noisy neighbours and we could hear every word, song and laugh got a bit annoying at 3 o clock in the morning.
Amerco de pero was a typicall tourist town lots of restaurants and tacky gift shops. Would recommend catching the bus to albufera for a bit more choice. Villamore was exquisite only there for an hour after the market but would probably stay there next time. breakfast was very basic but nice. the italian restaurant was excellent. didnt use the pool much as we prefer the beach which was literally 5 minute walk. It was a beautiful beach and even when it was a bit choppy it was great fun.
All in all for the money we paid it was a great holiday. Would just add the area around the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    134
    87
    18
    11
See reviews for
150
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Terrace Club and cannot recommend it more. We arrived around 11pm and the receptionist was extremely friendly and when we went to our room we couldn't believe how big it was! We had two large balconies overlooking the pool and a view of the sea. The hotel is very close to the beach, short walk down the hill, and is around a 15 minute walk to Armaco de Pera which is more lively. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned back from two weeks at Terrace Club. I'll start with the positives first...

We paid £265 for a one bed self catering apartment for the two weeks, which was a really good price. The apartment was huge, with two balconies and was very clean.
Their is a lovely town about 25 minute walk away - Armacao de Pera - which is very pretty with a beautiful beach.


Okay, so the negatives. Two weeks was FAR too long here. We chose the place because it was so cheap but with great reviews and me and my boyfriend were on a very tight budget. However we spent a huge amount of our budget on taxis and buses to go to other parts of the Algarve as we were so bored of going to the same places day in day out that were around us.

We were in bed by around 10pm most nights as there wasn't really much else to do! By no way are we a couple who like to go out clubbing every night, but we would've liked to have more options in the way of evening entertainment. There is one bar - Lords Bar - which is pretty expensive really (8 euros for a spirit and mixer) unless you like beer which is 3 euros.

There are also non-existent buses, you may find it beneficial to hire a car if you can afford it. The pretty town is a 25 min walk away or you can get a taxi for 5 euros each way.

We were self catering so can't comment on the food but we had heard from other people it was very poor.... the cafe serves lovely pastries and coffee etc and the pool bar does good burgers and hot dogs. Tip though - they serve the same food at the pool bar and the cafe, but the cafe is half the price and a two minute walk from the pool! Save yourself some money and pick the food from there and take it back to the pool!

People have commented on the sun lounger issue and there being queues etc. We didn't experience this but we went late on in the season so that might have helped. However they were all full by 11am. The issue we found with the sun loungers is that some very ignorant and selfish people thought it would be okay to take the mattresses off the sun loungers and put them on top of their sun lounger already with a mattress, leaving only the plastic base for people to lie on. This meant that a lot of people had to sit on the grass as it was more comfortable than the holey-plastic bases that were left. Utterly ridiculous!!

People have also commented on the staff and their rudeness.... we did notice this to begin with but once you get speaking to them, they are actually really lovely! One thing to note, in the two weeks we were there, we noticed only 8 members of staff (not including cleaners). They are seriously overworked, the pool staff in particular have to work 12-15 hour days, 6 days a week. This also meant quite slow service (particularly at reception and in the cafe).

Just a quick one about the apartments. I slept really badly for the whole two weeks due to two factors. The first being the beds, they were so uncomfortable. We put the two sofa bed mattresses on top of the bed mattresses and this certainly helped. The other issue, the walls are paper thin and the noise from every apartment and people in the hallway woke me up every night/morning. If you're a light sleeper, I would recommend bringing ear plugs, especially if you have requested a room on the ground floor as you will hear the heavy duty front door of the block all night long!


Overall, TC was great value for money in terms of the apartment, but for two weeks and being on a budget, it got very tedious indeed, especially on our second week when it rained a lot! I can recommend Vila Italia restaurant for food, wonderful service and great lasagne! I wouldn't go back to the area because there wasn't enough for us to do there but if you want a good value, clean apartment and are looking for a "sit around the pool, visit a beach once in a while" holiday, then I would say go for it! We wanted to explore a bit more of the Algarve and what it had to offer and it ended up getting very expensive.

Room Tip: If you're fit and able (no lifts), ask for a top floor apartment. This should help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Have recently returned from a week at the Terrace Club. We were a little concerned by some ot the reviews but there was no need to be. We had a one bedroom apartment it had two balconies one out of the lounge and the other out of the bedroom. We knew before we booked that it was not a lively place and it is always best to do your homework before booking insyead of complaining afterwards! The accommodation was clean and very large, the cleaners came in every other day, plenty of hot water clean sheets. The only down side was that the doors on the accommodation make it a little noisy if guests do not stop and consider other people and try to shut rather than slam doors. location ideal for three lovely beaches we used he one with 100 steps down and it was superb. Would deffinately go again. People commented about the staff on the coffee shop where you can buy lovely batches and cakes. They said that they were not very friendly we dodn't have aproblem but then again how often do we think every assistant in the local supermarket here is so friendly - we are on holiday they are working.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed at terrace club 20th-27th september, and after reading some of the reviews was a bit aprehensive.arrived late evening and found the receptionist to be very friendly and helpful.check in
was done quickly.we had a one bedroom apartment which was clean, spacious and fully equipped.the pool was cleaned every day, and was nice to sit by the pool late at night for a few drinks.we didnt use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food, but used the cafe by reception which served very reasonably priced snacks and drinks.the location itself was very good with a supermarket, car hire places and a good selection of restaurants, all reasonably priced.
overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place, as it provides excellant value for money.

Room Tip: wouldnt like to have a room around the pool area, as would be too noisy, especially during high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at The Terrace Club Apartments for one week starting 23rd September. Check in was done quickly in a friendly way. I booked a studio as there were no one bed roomed apartments available when I booked but we were given a one bed roomed apartment anyway. The apartment was clean, fully equipped for our needs and very spacious. Although we never used the pool it was cleaned every day of our stay. We did not use the cafe or the restaurant on site so cannot comment on those services. The staff were very friendly and helped with anything which we asked. The location is very quiet and relaxing, suitable for our needs. We did a lot of walking and caught the bus to Albufeira and Portimao. The main beach is at most a 10 minute walk with another beach. There is a supermarket about 10 - 15 minutes walk situated on the main road. The main town is about 30 minutes walk. There are a few bars and restaurants situated in Armacao some with tourist menus which are very good value. In the main town you will find plenty more restaurants to choose from. There you will also find your usual tourist shops to browse round.
The only thing which we were disappointed with is that there is no WiFi. They have computers which you can use for a charge. If they had WiFi perhaps more people would use the facilities on site spending money there instead of going elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here between 19th-23rd September for a friends wedding near by in the alporchinhos area and was surprised at what I got for the money I paid. Breakfast was a nice continental selection and the poolside bar menu was good for lunch and snacks whilst sunning yourself. Didn't eat there for dinner so not sure what that was like. Quite close to a beach, around 5/10mins walk but that's about it really. There's not much around but I had the pleasure of having friends who knew their way about and were driving. There's a few restaurants around but anything else is quite a distance. Staff were very helpful especially reception who couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were massive, I was staying in a 2 bedroom apartment which had 3 balconies 2 overlooking the sea and 1 overlooking the pool with 4 single beds in the 2 rooms with an ensuite with the 1 of the rooms and a double bed in the living room too. Overall I thought this was a nice place to go to this time of year. And will recommend it to anybody going for a end if summer relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Club

Address: Quinta das Palmeiras Bloco E, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Club 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Club is located along of one the most beautiful stretches of the Portuguese coastline, nearby the fantastic scenery of Senhora da Rocha beach, one of the most beautiful beachs in the Algarve, where nature offers unique scenarios with amazing cliffs and fabulous sea cave. The calm, warm and clear waters provides you with a good opportunity for the practice of water sky, windsurf, sailing, deep sea diving or a pleasant boat trip.We have at your disposal 185 apartments with kitchen, balcony, individual heating services, satellite television, telephone and security safe.Spacious, elegantly decorated and well equiped in order that your holiday activities are made easier. All information requested are given swiftly and pleasantly. Details make the difference... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Terrace Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Club Hotel Porches
Terrace Hotel Porches
Terrace Club Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.