We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pousada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa to your Saves list
Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento das Chagas - Terreiro do Paco, Vila Vicosa 7160, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic pousada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautiful pousada with great rooms, great beds and a lovely terrace with table and chairs. Everything is well maintained. The breakfast is great and the staff is very nice and attentive. One of the best pousadas in Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
The Pousada's team appreciate Your review and couldn’t thank you enough. Be considered "one of the best Pousada in Portugal" is a big responsibility but the guests full satisfaction and providing an unique experience are part of the goals of Pousadas de Portugal.
We hope to welcome you back soon in Pousada D. João IV.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We likely were not able to do this place justice since the weather didn't cooperate and we hadn't booked a tour at the neighbouring palace, but the room was perfect and the gardens were peaceful. You definitely felt a sense of the old nuns around the place. It was very calming. We had a fabulous breakfast (all pousadas are great in that respect), but had a wine/cheese/bread dinner on our balcony for dinner. This town was dead quiet and a real contrast from Lisbon where we'd driven from that day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your remarks. The Palace wil be waiting for Your visit.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Pousadas on your next trip to Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Everything about this pousada merits the term "excellent." We recently spent 2 nights in the "Professor" room, a huge converted nun's quarters. The 2-room bathroom alone was bigger than most european hotel rooms. Staff were wonderfully attentive and helpful, especially Sasha at the front desk, and we enjoyed the fine outdoor pool.
Wandering around the pousada complex was as enjoyable as visiting the ducal palace next door. Highly recommended for anyone who appreciates history as well as luxury at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Recommending the "Professor" room, but all rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay at Pousada D. João IV and couldn’t thank you enough for your wonderful remarks.
All Staff appreciate your review.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Pousada D. João IV.
Kind Regards from Vila Viçosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visiting Alentejo from the Algarve, we opted for Pousada de Dom Joao IV because of its great location near Elvas and Borba, and near enough to Elvora from where we would return. The Pousada has a splendid location right next to the ducal palace and facing a huge placa made from marble (a plentiful local product) with a statue of the duke of Braganza. We had prebooked on the Pousada website. Parking and checkin was easy with attention paid to our request for a large quiet room. Our room was large and nicely appointed, with a nice balcony and a nice view. The pousada was formerly a convent and converted to a hotel in the late 90s. Perhaps a little dark for some, particularly when walking along the corridors and up and down the stairs in the evening. The hotel also has a nice pool, but in mid-September really too cold for comfort. Plenty of sun lounges to bask in the hot sun, however, and the grounds are pleasant enough. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, although the pousada had few guests during our stay. There is not much going on in Vila Vicosa at this time of year. The duke's palace museum next door has limited and only offers guided tours. We had planned to have dinner at one of the restaurants highly recommended by TA members, but it was closed. We returned to the pousada where we had a splendid (simple) set dinner where you have the option of meat or fish for the main course. It was very good, as was the red Alentejo riserva that went with it. Service was also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay at Pousada de Vila Viçosa and couldn’t thank you enough for your wonderful review.
The guests full satisfaction and providing an unique experience are part of the goals of Pousadas de Portugal.
We appreciate your remarks.
Alentejo will certainly amaze the ones who decide to visit this region and we are glad you have had the chance to do so.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Pousadas on your next trip to Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A fantastic experience. It was like taking a trip to the past. We could almost "see" the religious people as the environment was kept from those days with the add of modern and comfort
The front desk staff is kind and the pool was great in those warm days. Super relaxing. No need for car to walk the town. We parked and removed it days after or stay.

Room Tip: ask for a Suite. Not too much more and worth the size and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada D. João IV at Vila Viçosa, which deserved our best attention.
Words like yours encourage and motivate us to continue and improve our service.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a brilliant experience from start to finish. The town is spectacular: you drive round a corner to be faced with one of the grandest squares in Europe, all made from marble. And the pousada is right on that square! The rooms are huge, and very comfortable; the wide balcony is a great feature. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A typically excellent pousada buffet breakfast; and dinners were also excellent, though this pousada does not offer the cheap fixed-price menu deal that many other have. There are fabulous lounges and public areas throughout the pousada, as well as fascinating remnants of its convent days. The huge outdoor swimming pool was very welcome at the end of a hot day. We loved the tour of the palace next door; this is well worth doing, despite the slightly sniffy description in the Lonely Planet guide. Our guide went out of his way to give us an English version of his commentary, as well as speaking Spanish for a group of nuns and Portuguese for the other people in the group. Vila Vicosa is fab, and so is its pousada.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay in Pousada de Vila Viçosa with the Tripadvisor community.
We appreciate your nice comments on the Town, the Pousada, the rooms and on the staff performance.
Your feedback on the restaurant menu is valued and has been taken into consideration.
We hope to welcome you again in a future opportunity.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed one night as part of our self guided bike tour by Turaventur Day Tours. Great place, a little history to the place, felt under dressed as cyclists.A nice small village to wander around. Visiting hours to the museum next door are limited as you have to take a guided tour, no other options available, so we had to miss out. Breakfast was great,

Room Tip: Worth the extra costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada D. João IV at Vila Viçosa, which deserved our best attention.

Words like yours encourage and motivate us to continue and improve our work.

Well-there that we deserved your choice. We hope to see You soon and will help You to don’t miss the Palace visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa

Address: Convento das Chagas - Terreiro do Paco, Vila Vicosa 7160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Vila Vicosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He Pousada de Vila Vicosa, opened in 1996, is installed in the historical centre of this Alentejo city. The Pousada is found in the old Convento Real das Chagas de Cristo (The Royal Convent of Stigmas of Christ) ordered built by D. Jaime, the forth Duke of Braganca in the sixteenth century. D. Jaime ordered the building of this religious house to serve as Pantheon for the Ladies of the House and to welcome his daughters from his second marriage who could not decently marry. Through the years some legends became associated with the Pousada. Ever since the mythical presence of the last mother superior, who still watches over by the convent, the attempt to build a direct passage to the Paco Ducal, which lies next to the Pousada. It is believed that the frescoes of the building were written by Cecilia of the Holy Spirit, poet and painter, who worked in the convent until the date of her death in 1723. Staying at the Pousada de Vila Vicosa is a trip to the furthest reaches of fantasies, we guarantee extraordinary experiences. With its themed rooms, staying in this hotel is like sleeping in a museum, where for a moment we are actors in this imaginary world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Dom Joao IV - Vila Vicosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.