We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not just a "pizza place", superb quality of ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscana

Toscana
ul. Marynarzy 2, Swinoujscie 72-600, Poland
+48(0)91 3222062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Swinoujscie
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is not just a "pizza place", superb quality of ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend took me by surprise to Toscana last Friday. Thats after we tried to eat there for weeks! The place seems constantly full with a long queue outside. We live in Szczecin/ London and many friends told us that the food in Toscana is like nothing they tried before in any country. We normally share each others food, so we decided to order a pizza (which is highly recommended on this website) and a main dish. To start with, a nice waiter recommended soup of the day which was a spinach soup. You could just smell the soup was made of freshest spinach possible, the portion was generous, enough to start with for two. For main course, we chose thyme-infused duck in a raspberry sauce with home-made gnocchi (this was a new dish and was not on a menu). The duck was falling apart in my mouth, verry soft, the raspberry sauce was ideal, gnocchi was a perfect match! We also ordered Breasola pizza....I had breasola before but quality of the meat was just superb, and so was perfectly thinly sliced parmezan. Base of the pizza was just right with a tomato base infused with some herbs. Pizza was just perfect. Wine was great and reasonably priced. Desert was awesome!!! Chocolate fonduate (sorry for spelling) with fresh seasonal fruit. Again, we shared (I do not normally eat sweets!!!!). Overall, we left the restaurant talking about the food we have just had for a long time. How did they make the duck soo soo sooo perfect? Slow cooking? We made plans to go back already!. The place is very small, ambience is great and everyone who was eating while we were there seemed genuinely impressed. What a perfect place, what surprised me was ...very low prices for the quality of what we had. Don't tell everyone about this place, proper gem in Poland, not just Swinoujscie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very good italian food at the Polish seaside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a very good fish there with ruccola salat and a great chocolate fondant. Don't miss it! My daughter had pizza which was also very tasty, you can choose your ingredients on it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food made with very fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not located on the promenade, but still in a convenient location. The food is extremely fresh and perfectly seasoned, deserts are delicious, and decor is beautiful. I go there each time I'm in Swinoujscie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Summer in Toscana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This year in July the owners of Toscana caught me by surprise with their new menu. Sadly, no rainbow trout, which I had been so much in favour of, was available this time, however, haddock with vegatable ragout proudly made up for it. The fish was fried, though, as always in Toscana, no excess of frying fat was perceivable. It was soft and juicy, and the aromatic vegetable ragout which was placed on it, seemed a perfect addition. What is more, the ragout itself was almost completely reduced to vegetables (soft, though by no means overcooked), which prevented the fish from „drowning” in the stock and getting unpleasantly step.
Apart from that beautiful fish I was lucky to be in the right time and the right place to taste the wonderful dourade with cidar sauce (as always only slightly splashed on the fish – the rest avialable in a little bowl served with the main plate). The dish proved that the absolutely magnifficent sauce goes as well with poultry as with fish of strong and definite taste.
Another thing one can`t miss – if they have the chance to call at Toscana - is an octopus gulash, served with sepia maccaroni…. If you are a seafood lover, you`ll be left speechless with the softness of the octopus and its delicate smell of the sea, which is balanced by the sweetness of tomato based sauce…. What is more, it`s worth trying the maccaroni, even if you are not a pasta fan… Sadly, the dish appears only as the speciality of the week, though, it is quite obvioous if they want to make it using fresh ingredients…
However, if you are not lucky enough to get the goulash, seabass on butter leeks might be avialable… The backed fish is separated and served once its bones have been removed. The pieces are placed on a trick layer of butter leek veloute, of which the texture is even and the taste more sweet than spicy but with a definite „leek feeling”.
Well, if not interested in fish, try some great game or just enjoy the beautiful beef sirloin stek, which is also avialable in the new menu – this time with mushroom and trufle sauce (of lighter texture than the green pepper sauce they used to serve the dish with).
As far as starters are concerned, in my view the new Bressaola and courgette carpaccio is definitely worth giving a go, and one mustn`t forget about the great soups opf the day, either. - The magnifficent pappa al pomodoro appears best for our sub – tropical Summer.
If interested, ask the waiter for their wine selection. - There`s plenty to talk about!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“True Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Real fresh italian food. Great carpaccio and penne with pork. During the weekend you definatly need to make reservations. Try the antipasti mix for sure!!! You wont regret it! Best restaurant in Swinoujscie and Miedzyzdroje.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana also viewed

Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
 
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.