We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with views and a good meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia to your Saves list
Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stari grad, Ulcinj 85360, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ulcinj
Greater Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location with views and a good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The two of us were provided with a rather large apartment over two floors that had three bedrooms and two bathrooms and its own balcony (see photos) for 60 euros as a "walk in". Accommodation in Ulcinj is plentiful but when we saw this place perched on the top of the cliff with uninterrupted views over the ocean and the bay we had to try it.
The two level apartment had great views from all rooms (even the bathroom) and we liked the private balcony.
As previously mentioned in other reviews this hotel was not easy to reach by car. Drive through the town and head for the bay as far as you can go all the way down a one way street that has stalls on both sides of the street. When you hit the beach itself, turn right and follow the bay all the way to the end where you can get a park most of the time. It is also easy to turn around at the end in order to get out of town. This road back is one way and winds all the way back up the hill into town with great view looking back onto the bay and hotel. When you find a parking spot near the bottom of the old city wall it is only a few steps up to the top of the wall and your hotel. Do not try and carry up large bags, just pack for one night...
Our accommodation was starting to look a bit tired but was clean and had all basic requirements. The bed (we had a few to pick from) was good for a nights sleep and we had air-conditioning on both levels. Because we stayed on a Saturday night however, the nightclub noise travelled over the water for a mile and we had to end up closing the windows and put the airco on during the night.
During the day we had engaged the chef (our son is also a chef) and decided to eat at the hotel that evening. Because Montenegro is so cheap as a destination (we love the 2.85 euro one litre bottles of local red wine from most supermarkets!) we decided to put some further money into the economy. Our three course meal with wine was very well prepared and service of excellent quality. The total cost (incl. 2006 bottle of local Cabernet) was 65 euros, you can certainly eat much cheaper than this in Montenegro but not in such iconic location with a sunset between the ramparts to die for.
Try it, even if you only stay for one night as we did!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at Dvori Balsica rather than Palata Venezia which is a bit further towards the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not easy to approach by car, but fantastic location right in the middle of the old city (the rest of the town lacks charm!) and great staff.
We had a rather large appartment facing the sea for 70 euros with AC and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here last summer. Let me preface my review by saying that we have been to Ulcinj many times and have stayed in people's homes there. We decided to stay here since there were 3 of us and we wanted an apartment. We had the same experience. We booked an apartment (assuming it had a/c, since that's what the website said). After being shown the apartment with no a/c (it was over 100 degrees F), we asked about it. They were very polite, and took us to another apartment with a/c. Like the previous poster, it was on the ground floor. So, while it was 60 degrees on the first floor, our bedrooms were about 95 degrees. We, too, left the windows open. But, about 10 pm, the "pizzeria" that was part of the hotel (not the town noise) started playing very LOUD techno-pop music until 2:00 am. We had to pay a deposit in advance for this hotel, so we didn't leave. Otherwise, we would have. We would have gotten a much better room with a balcony and no noise for 20 euros; not the 150 euros we paid for this hotel. It's a shame because it's a nice looking place with good views. Oh, to top it all off, I had a brand new shirt stolen from my bag (this has never happened to me before).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were booked in a two-bedroomed apartment in the Palata Venezia part of this accommodation. As a location it is really very good. In the old town, on the hill, in a beautiful old stone building it takes some beating. Parking is some distance from the accommodation and therefore getting luggage to the rooms is not easy; you need to be fit and able.
The decor of the apartment was basic but clean. There is a kitchen area but without crockery, cutlery or utensils. We asked for, and got, some plates and cutlery.
I had emailed at the time of making the provisional booking to seek confirmation that there was air-conditioning in the apartment. I was told there was. Indeed there was but it was only on the ground floor (lounge/kitchen area) - it was a very misleading email. The two bedrooms were one floor higher and there was no air-conditioning up there and it was extremely hot and stuffy during the night - it really was extremely uncomfortable. Had I been told the true position about the air con I would not have confirmed the booking - and perhaps that is why the email was so misleading.
The beds were comfortable.
The real problem started at about 9:30pm and continued until about 2:00am. By virtue of being on the hill, the accommodation overlooks Ulcinj. Sadly, a nightclub booms out (and I am not exaggerating by using the word "booms") techno music at great volume. Since there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms the windows needed to be left open. It was impossible to sleep until the music stopped.
It seems that the music is played every night during July and August. For that simple reason this otherwise pleasant accommodation is a disaster. It is not their fault (although putting air con in the bedrooms would be a useful start) but they need to speak to the local authorities about it soon.
The views are good and our apartment had a private terrace.
The main beach is well, ghastly. I can't think of a politer way of putting it. The hotel has an arrangement to provide two beds and an umbrella for free. Definitely worth avoiding. There is a small rocky cove nearby which is much, much, much nicer and the sea was delightful.
Breakfast was quite acceptable. There was free internet access but the signal was difficult to get in the accommodation but strong enough outside.
This has the potential to be really nice accommodation. The old town is really lovely, there are some very nice restaurants nearby, the views are great, the building itself is really lovely. It just needs proper air con (and to avoid misleading emails about the extent of the air con) and it needs to be somewhere other than Ulcinj. Avoid in July and August. My scores reflect all of this - for instance I have put value as "terrible". It would actually have been extremely good value but for the air con/ noise issue - it was a very reasonable price but for the issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location, which is at the end of the promontory that is the small old town and as such our room had lovely views out to sea and of the sunset. The room we had was pretty large, though the decor while characterful felt rather dated.For some reason there were no curtains. We weren't overlooked, so it was private, but did mean you woke with the sun. We stayed here in May, when both the hotel and the town were very quiet - something that apparently changes dramatically in July/August when everything becomes incredibly busy. This meant we were able to view a few rooms and take our pick - they were generally of a similar standard. The free wi-fi was useful but was only really available in the reception area. The reception staff were helpful, especially in organising a private taxi to give us a day trip around Albania (which was v.good value and worth doing) when there were insufficient takers for the group trip.

We weren't sure whether to come to Ulcinj as some of the guide books weren't very positive about it. But we really enjoyed it. Unlike other places along the Montenegro coast it had a very unique identify with few Western European travellers. At this time the town beach was nice and quiet, with big beach further up the coast really living up to it's name - even in the peak of summer its hard to imagine that it would be full. If you do come at this time, be prepared on a weekday to be one of the only people looking to eat at the restaurants in the more touristy parts of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Apart from being on a hill with no lift, this hotel was lovely. Huge room with great views and good value. Strange that it's a sort of apartment with kitchen, dining table etc, with absolutely no cooking utensil, plates, cups etc. Apparently if you want them they will provide them but I thought it a bit odd. We were supposed to stay in Ulcinj for five nights but I'm afraid the nearby beach resembled the Costa Brava on a bad day. It's where Albanians go on holiday and It was packed. We spoke to locals who told us that during July and August you literally cannot walk along the street during the evening. It might have been a small village once, not anymore, Tacky bars, tacky restaurants and tacky everything. Terrible. We stayed for two nights and then went back to Sveti Stefan which is amazing. On one of our two days we went to the naturist beach which is about half an hours drive away. Lovely beach, no crowds and I don't mind getting my kit off for a bit of peace and quiet! Would recommend if you want to get away from the huge maddening crowds in Ulcinj.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the Palata Venezia Apart-hotel which is a kind of extension of the Dvori Balsica hotel. They are just a few meters apart and the building style – a traditional stone building- and the views are very similar. Both hotels are located uphill, inside the old city walls in the old town, overlooking the Ulcinj beach, the bay and the Adriatic. The view is superb! The surroundings (the garden, the bar and the outside part of the hotel) are very beautiful and pleasant.

We stayed in an apartment (with air conditioning) with two bedrooms, a sitting/dining room, kitchenette and bathroom. The two bedrooms had direct sea views. With the exception of one of the bedrooms, all the rooms were very spacious. The beds and linen are fine. Everything was extremely clean. However, the bathroom was somewhat basic and the whole apartment deserved to have the décor improved.

The reception staff is extremely efficient and friendly. They made everything they can to make our stay pleasant. The day we arrived, we could not find the way to the hotel and thus we called the hotel reception at around midnight. They immediately went to pick us in the place where we said we were but there was a misunderstanding and they had to wait for us more than half-hour.

By the way: avoid to arrive at the hotel after 8 pm because the direct route to the hotel closes at 8 pm till 1 am (it becomes a pedestrian street) and one has to take a very indirect route around Ulcinj which is very difficult to follow.

The restaurant has a terrace outside which is very pleasant and where the breakfast is served. The restaurant serves very good grilled fish (among other dishes).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia

Address: Stari grad, Ulcinj 85360, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Ulcinj Municipality > Ulcinj
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ulcinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.