We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about the town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia to your Saves list
Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stari grad, Ulcinj 85360, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ulcinj
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great hotel, shame about the town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Apart from being on a hill with no lift, this hotel was lovely. Huge room with great views and good value. Strange that it's a sort of apartment with kitchen, dining table etc, with absolutely no cooking utensil, plates, cups etc. Apparently if you want them they will provide them but I thought it a bit odd. We were supposed to stay in Ulcinj for five nights but I'm afraid the nearby beach resembled the Costa Brava on a bad day. It's where Albanians go on holiday and It was packed. We spoke to locals who told us that during July and August you literally cannot walk along the street during the evening. It might have been a small village once, not anymore, Tacky bars, tacky restaurants and tacky everything. Terrible. We stayed for two nights and then went back to Sveti Stefan which is amazing. On one of our two days we went to the naturist beach which is about half an hours drive away. Lovely beach, no crowds and I don't mind getting my kit off for a bit of peace and quiet! Would recommend if you want to get away from the huge maddening crowds in Ulcinj.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the Palata Venezia Apart-hotel which is a kind of extension of the Dvori Balsica hotel. They are just a few meters apart and the building style – a traditional stone building- and the views are very similar. Both hotels are located uphill, inside the old city walls in the old town, overlooking the Ulcinj beach, the bay and the Adriatic. The view is superb! The surroundings (the garden, the bar and the outside part of the hotel) are very beautiful and pleasant.

We stayed in an apartment (with air conditioning) with two bedrooms, a sitting/dining room, kitchenette and bathroom. The two bedrooms had direct sea views. With the exception of one of the bedrooms, all the rooms were very spacious. The beds and linen are fine. Everything was extremely clean. However, the bathroom was somewhat basic and the whole apartment deserved to have the décor improved.

The reception staff is extremely efficient and friendly. They made everything they can to make our stay pleasant. The day we arrived, we could not find the way to the hotel and thus we called the hotel reception at around midnight. They immediately went to pick us in the place where we said we were but there was a misunderstanding and they had to wait for us more than half-hour.

By the way: avoid to arrive at the hotel after 8 pm because the direct route to the hotel closes at 8 pm till 1 am (it becomes a pedestrian street) and one has to take a very indirect route around Ulcinj which is very difficult to follow.

The restaurant has a terrace outside which is very pleasant and where the breakfast is served. The restaurant serves very good grilled fish (among other dishes).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here for a week. The room was nicely decorated and had a separate kitchen/living area as well as a good sized bedroom so was very spacious. The bathroom was not as nice as the rest of the room but was fine apart from a smell from the drain. All the windows had beautiful views to the sea and coastline. There was air conditioning but we didn't need it as the sea breeze kept the room at a pleasant temperature. Service was excellent and very friendly. Only complaint was repetitive music in the restaurant which we could hear in the room. The noise from the resort carried up to the area too so it was never very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The apartments are large, the view is fabulous, the rooms are clean, the staff is extremely friendly; really the best place I've been in Montenegro. Ulcinj itself is also a great place, the Long Beach is unparalleled in a sense that it is not overcrowded with shops, buffets etc. Go there till it's not too late, it will surely be a lot more popular very soon :)

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I was staying here with 7 members of my extended family for my wedding, and it turned out to be the perfect location for all of us. We had used it as a base of operations to explore the rest of Montenegro; while it's a bit far in the south for trips to say Kotor, one would be very hard pressed to find as good a deal in any of the other seaside towns. The property and location is really unrivaled in Montenegro (and probably beyond). The rooms have been tastefully renovated and the furnishings still carry a bit of "king of a pirate enclave" feel to them--white stucco walls, wooden furniture, large wooden beds, wrought-iron lampposts. The apartments are a great price (although definitely expensive by local standards); we had one of the big apartments sleeping 6 and another room sleeping two, and the kitchen in the big apartment and outdoor meeting area in between were perfect for our needs. We will definitely miss our nights admiring the views, watching the swallows, drinking wine or eating watermelon on the outdoor picnic area inbetween the buildings!

The staff is great too--there is usually someone who speaks very good English. Kudos to Elvira especially, whom my family fell in love with--she is really an asset to the hotel. The oddly named "Real Estate Travel Agency", which manages the property, also runs package day tours for standard prices; we took one to Albania and had a great time.

The restaurant was trying out a new Italian cook, and I can't quite recommend the food. They do, however, have a good reputation as a fish restaurant, and there are several really excellent restaurants for pizza or fish within a stone's throw.

They also have deals with one (or maybe own one of) the beachfront "umbrella-and-chairs" operations down on the main beach, so if you ask reception for a voucher you don't have to pay. There's also a number of other nice beaches nearby (as the main beach gets obscenely crowded), several within walking distance.

One suggestion--make it easy for guests to have breakfasts outside in the morning. There are some tables outdoors, but the place settings were always made up inside, and it always seemed like a chore to the staff if you wanted to have breakfast outside. The dinners also typically took place inside the restaurant. I find it baffling that anybody would want to eat anything inside in Ulcinj old town when there are such staggeringly beautiful views just out the door, which all the other nearby restaurants use to their maximum advantage.

They have wireless Internet, but I could only get a signal right next to the reception desk, I suspect due to the heavy stone walls. That was a bit annoying, as I spent a lot of time camped out next to reception squinting at my smartphone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July and absolutely loved it. The hotel - a traditional stone building - has a fantastic location in the old town directly overlooking the city walls and the Adriatic - simply breathtaking.

The room was actually a self-contained apartment (with air conditioning) with a small sitting area, kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom - the bedroom and sitting area both had direct ocean views. Everything was very clean and comfortable, and although the bathroom was quite basic, the shower worked well. Reception staff were very friendly and staff in the hotel restaurant (relatively expensive but probably the best fresh fish we had in Ulcinj) went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The small city beach is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel down a path winding through the old city gate and down the hill.

This was without doubt a wonderful place to stay and definitely recommended.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit basic
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

This is by far the best-located hotel in Ulcinj. In the old town overlooking the sea and the beach. Quiet and beautiful. The facilities are good and combine some wonderful history. The bathroom was large and functioned well, but it can take a while for the hot water to feed through the pipes. The staff go to extraordinary lengths to be helpful and friendly. They were amazing. They had good English and were always ready to chat if you wanted to. For a bit of the truly friendly Monte Negran culture and experience, this place would be hard to beat. It is worth negotiating a better price if you are not there in July or August. The hotel has quite a good restaurant and breakfasts were better than average.

  • Liked — The view and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia

Address: Stari grad, Ulcinj 85360, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Ulcinj Municipality > Ulcinj
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ulcinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apart-hotel Dvori Balsica and Apart-hotel Palata Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.