We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casella, ECO-Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casella, ECO-Resort to your Saves list
La Casella, ECO-Resort
Strada Casella 4, 05016 Ficulle, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ficulle
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back from the eco-resort and I miss it already. I wake up an go to bed thinking about it. Our group of ten was treated so well throughout our entire stay. I am still impressed with the service and attention we got. From the moment we arrived we were spoiled. Each dinner and lunch was set up for us at some gorgeous location in Umbria. We also had fun wine tours throughout the week. Night one we ate at Bucaa della Luca in Cittia de Pieve which ended up being a supreme dinner with endless wine. We sampled so many wonderful things. Too bad my new favorite restaurant is 6000 miles away :(

Some of the driving was on dirt roads which felt like an adventure to me. I loved it. The room we stayed in at La Casella was beautiful. Felt very homie. Breakfast in the morning was limited to pastries, cereal and cappuccinos. I hardly ever eat breakfast in the morning so, a beautiful cup of capp made me very happy each morning. Most of our time was spent touring around Umbria which was picturesque. We had one day when it rained and it made everything look even more alive, fresh and clean. Magical. The only thing I didn't get to do was ride a horse. The place is known as an equestrian retreat, so I was disappointed I didn't give myself enough time to do that. Looks like there are incredible trails to ride on.

I will say with all the amazing things I got to see, eat, and experience the treatment we received from La Casella was the best. The got us in touch with amazing chefs throughout Umbira, and set up some amazing wines and country tours. We had discussions within our group as to why everyone was treating us so well. The final answer we came up with is "This place is just that amazing"! Wow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    51
    20
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
77
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't stay here. It's horrible for reasons far too many to mention. Stay in Orvieto. We couldn't wait to leave, especially after i found hopping spiders in my luggage. Can't use the pool cause it has algae in it, can't use the hot tub cause it has algae in it. Road to the resort is 15 minutes of unpaved, pot-holed misery. No a/c. Flies, spiders, wasps, mosquitoes everywhere. If you're crazy enough to stay here, pray it doesn't rain. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. We felt like we were in a cave. Lounge chairs at the unit were a joke, as if you could sit outside without being eaten alive by all the bugs. Don't bother with Off, but that's another story. I repeat, do not stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a good room someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arriving at La Casella is like coming home. The staff is pleasant and helpful, the rustic food (always five dishes for dinner) tastes delicious and the surroundings with the mountains, the fields, vineyards and the small Italian villages are picturesque.

I try to go here at least once a year and have done so for six years now. My main interest is horses, and trekking at La Casella is great for anyone who likes to ride and at the same time experience nature up close. The horses are fit, strong and sure-footed. The guides are true horsemen who know the surroundings better than their own pockets and can customize the tour to their guests' ability.

Try a full day in the saddle, with a wonderful lunch in the woods or on a nearby vineyard, a memory for life. Take a riding lesson, relax by the pool or take a scenic drive to one of all the Umbrian and Tuscan destinations located in the region.

Umbria is an interesting region. In an otherwise fairly densely populated and crowded tourist Italy, Umbria offers the tranquility, authenticity and genuine hospitality that few European countries or regions can match. La Casella is an excellent starting point for those who want to feel at home in Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at La Casella for one week, very nice and relaxing place, beautiful views and a homely feel to it. Great central location for day trips to other nearby towns and surrounding areas. Everyone at the resort was really helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend that you take up the chance to have dinner in the woods which is hosted by the resort and a fantastic experience with great company. We also attended a day's cooking class by Chef Mondi which we really enjoyed. Restaurant served great food with all local fresh produce. Facilities at the resort were great, in particular the swimming pool and tennis court was a great way to relax with a difference. Overall we had a great time and will definitely return to la casella in the future. Special thanks to Matt &Gabriella and the rest of the group for making our time at La Casella a great week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

La Casella is more an agriturismo (farm resort/dude ranch) than a spa resort but offers a very authentic Umbrian experience within an easy drive to many beautiful towns. We ate dinner there every night for a week and were always delighed with the 5 course set menu that included fine locally produced wine & olive oil. Another highlight of our stay was the communal dining & conversations with the many regular clients & a magic by the bartender.

Room Tip: Some of the resort's cottages/rooms necessitate a vehicle to reach the reception area, main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

On the hilltop of San Terenziano, you will find La Casella, a family run villa that offers top quality service for families and groups. Every morning when you get up and open your window to the Umbrian countryside, it seems new everyday. The colors change with the light and offer you a 360 degree postcard experience. We were 25 family members staying for 10 days, and we were treated with such discretion and respect that we had nothing more to ask. The food every evening was gastronomically speaking top notch. High quality diet adapted platters were served to accommodate all the different diets. The pool was clean and the rooms were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family stayed a week in La Casella, we had a family/birthday reunion. We were 25 people and every single demand we had was inmediately satisfied. The team/staff is absolutely great, always helpful, smiling, ready to make you feel at home and happy. The location is great, peaceful, quiet. The countryside is relaxing and its beauty is amazing. I am glad I saw the beauty of Umbria. The rooms are great, well decorated calling different styles of Umbria. The food is local taste prepared with attention and care. Do not hesitate if you want to visit the region it is a great place to stay and close to different importat cities.
Gianna C.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casella, ECO-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casella, ECO-Resort

Address: Strada Casella 4, 05016 Ficulle, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Ficulle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ficulle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casella, in the beautiful Italian countryside, a tourism enterprise that aims at combining the concepts of sustainable economics and high quality standards. La Casella has transformed the countryside Vacation in a life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Casella, ECO-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casella, Eco Hotel Ficulle
La Casella Eco Terni
La Casella, ECO-Resort Italy/Ficulle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casella, ECO-Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.