We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Great Value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect! Great Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here in June, 2014. The staff was attentive, helpful, friendly, and thoughtful. Villa Campestri is about a 60 minute train ride from Florence and then a 10 minute (20 euro) taxi ride from Vicchio. We had been in Rome and Florence for the two weeks before and were looking for a respite from the city crowds. We found it at Villa Campestri. The hotel is on the top of a hill, overlooking the Tuscany valley. It is located on an olive oil farm and is very peaceful. The restaurant looks out on a grassy field framed with flowers. The pool overlooks the entire valley and is a great place to relax under old growth trees. We had booked a triple, but they upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment. The bathroom was large and had plenty of counter space and hooks for towels. The beds were very comfortable and clean. There was a well stocked mini bar with reasonably priced soft drinks and water. The breakfast which is included was extensive and delicious. They had delicious yogurt, hard boiled eggs, different kinds of pastries, cereals, and breads. The coffee, however, was made from an automated machine which was just ok. The comfortable lobby had great jazz music, wifi, and chess sets. We enjoyed hanging out there and felt welcome throughout the day and evening. The restaurant is delicious and focuses on the olive oil that they grow. The restaurant is very pricey, though, so we opted to eat in town and found two great restaurants just down the hill. The road to the hotel is very steep and does not have a sidewalk so it is not a great road to walk into town, but if you have a car, it is just a short drive. The hotel also provided a hiking specific map and another biking specific map with many great options to explore the valley. We loved it and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    54
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
133
256
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Villa Campestri we felt welcomed as if we were part of a family. The rooms are beautiful, the amenities are the best we experienced on our entire 3 week trip. The staff throughout our stay from morning to evening were helpful in every way possible. The surroundings are peaceful and tranquil and allow you to relax after spending a day travelling through the countryside or taking the incredible ride into Florence through the lush mountain roads. I can't say enough about this place.
I have been in the hospitality industry for over 30 years and I can't tell you how hard it is to find people who consistently care for the needs of others. The staff at Villa Campestri live this way 100% of the time. They go out of the way to help you as if it is just in their blood. My wife and I cannot wait for our next opportunity to visit.
If you want to share a blessing with friends or family, encourage them that if they plan on travelling to Italy, and I mean anywhere in Italy, tell them to find the time to join the family at Villa Campestri and you can me assured that they will be blessed with fruitful memories that will last a lifetime.
Thank you Villa Campestri Staff and may you be blessed as you have blessed us!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have recently returned from a five night stay in the Villa & can only find words of praise & high recommendations for this beautiful villa set in such peaceful , idyllic surroundings of olive groves & open landscape where you could relax in a deck chair, on the terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside or at the pool overlooking more picturesque views. Our stay was made even more special thanks to the lovely staff at reception (Tatiana, Viola & Sandra) who were always so pleasant & helpful, with nothing too much trouble for them. Claudia, at breakfast & at lunch, when we often ate on the terrace, looked after us every day & was so friendly & lovely to talk to. Also, thank you to the young in house chef who cooked some amazing meals in the restaurant in the evening. So much talent for such a young chef!
If you want to "get away from it all" & just relax in quiet, idyllic surroundings, Campestri is the ideal place. A car is necessary if you want to visit nearby towns/ cities or you can take a train from Borgo San Lorenzo, 7k away, to visit Florence for the day , as we did, because we did not relish the idea of driving into Florence. You can , however , just stay at the Villa & relax & maybe take one of the short walks near the villa which are described in a leaflet at reception. We followed one of the walks & found a lovely spot from where you could get a lovely panoramic view of the Villa.
What a find!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is the most amazing place, ever, period. My husband and I traveled all over Italy for two weeks. This was our favorite spot hands down. Wish we couldve stayed longer. The grounds are stunning and sit a top a hill looking down on rolling hills. The pool is set in the perfect backdrop at the base of the hill. On to the most important part-the food. This meal tops all of our meals during our trip. Our biggest regret is only booking for one night when we should be stayed for 2 or 3. Their whole theme is Olive Oil but they cook with it two different ways. I'd explain the difference but I'd rather you go there yourself and discover it that way. Regardless, their olive oil is amazing as is their wine. We had a four course dinner which featured both. We didn't want it to end. Breakfast in the morning was great and you could sit outside and enjoy the scenery. They offer olive oil treatments for the skin as well as cooking classes, definitely something we missed but will truth for. The whole place was relaxing yet inviting. We can't wait to come back to Italy just for this place and just to stay longer. I do hope it remains a secret so it doesn't become something is isn't but we want everyone to experience time here.
The staff helped make it amazing and we couldn't be more grateful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A wonderful location with gorgeous panoramic views across the valley. Plenty of varied seating areas in both sun and shade to allow us to sit and unwind, plus a great pool that never seemed crowded. The peace and tranquillity were astounding.

Staff could not have been more helpful and the customer service was simply fantastic.
Restaurant also excellent and the rooms were all furnished in traditional Tuscan style although the bathrooms were modern.

The location is also great for tourists who want to visit Florence (only 40 mins on the train) Lucca, Montecatini etc. Some lovely restaurants in the local towns too and Villa staff only too happy to recommend or phone ahead to book for us.

The best holiday we have had in years, and we literally had to tear ourselves away. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more spacious than the classic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in The Dalia cottage which is a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. Very centrally located place. We were able to do easy day trips to Florence(by train) Pisa and Lucca. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast great. We would recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent 11 nights at the villa, beautifully furnished with antiques in keeping with its character, set in lovely grounds with fabulous views over the valley below and the hills behind. Rooms very comfortable - modern bathrooms, but with "antique look". Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Food and wine excellent. Wonderful swimming pool with panoramic views over the valley below - lots of tables and chairs dotted around the villa to be able to find a quiet spot to sit and relax. In short, a perfect place to be able to unwind in peace and tranquility but within easy reach of Florence and other medieval towns of the area; or to walk through the hills and local villages. A great way to experience Tuscanny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.