We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to really like about Villa Campestri” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“So much to really like about Villa Campestri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There is so much to love about this olive oil estate starting with the history, dating back over 800 years. Located about 6 km outside the nearest town of Vicchio the villa sits on a hillside overlooking the valley. The grounds are gorgeous with open green space, beautiful cyprus trees, olive groves and a pool in an nice setting located away from the building a bit down the hill.

The main building (where we stayed) is very impressive. While we had booked a junior suite due to a large group we were upgraded to the full suite. It was huge and ornate with an awesome bed, although it was somewhat dark with only a couple of windows. One of the junior suites we saw had much more light and great views out the front of the estate (as opposed to the suite with views over a roof and out the back). All rooms on the first floor of the main building have impressive 14 to 15 foot high wood beamed ceilings. One other minor note but internet was not available in our room due to the thickness of the walls. It was not a big deal but we did have to step out to the common area (still on the same floor) to access the wifi.

Breakfast is an extensive buffet - with everything one would want - very nice, particularly when enjoyed on the outside terrace. We ate dinner one evening with mixed reviews - I absolutely loved both my choices, especially the Chianina beef fillet in a black olive crust with a fortified Vin Santo sauce and pine nuts - perhaps the best single dish of our three plus weeks in Italy. But my wife was less pleased with both her choices. Service was refined, consistent with an upscale restaurant. The room did however feel crowded, with tables a bit too close to each other.

But here's the thing that bothered us. Villa Campestri brands itself as an olive oil resort, offering tastings and massages amongst other nearby activities. Our issue was the 50 euro price per person for a one hour olive oil tour and tasting. We're not suggesting it should be free (although an agriturismo we stayed at showed us their balsamic vinegar operation; spending well over half an hour of their time, at no cost) but 50 euros per person - really? At that price we chose not to take the tour / tasting, which was a shame. If the estate is trying to promote its olive oil operation charging this much will turn some off. It's too bad the cost was not a bit more reasonable. If so we likely would have taken the tour and then probably bought some oil. As it was we did not. One other annoyance was the charge for a pool towel - charge another euro in the base rate but additional charges like this seem so petty.

However we would not want these issues to take away from the many very positive aspects of Villa Campestri, which is a beautiful estate attractively set amongst the olive and cyprus trees, with excellent landscaping. There is lots of outdoor seating along with a beautiful pool providing for relaxation and tranquility. The rooms are memorable with period furniture reflecting the history of the villa.

While there were a number of issues (my wife's dinner choices; charging for towels; the missed marketing and educational opportunity given the excessive cost of the olive oil tour / tasting) Villa Campestri is a very impressive place to stay, one we did very much enjoy.

Room Tip: The junior suite on the front corner of the first floor of the main building looked very nice - lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments together with the photos you published will certainly help our future guests to choose us!

Regarding the Olive Oil Tasting course at EUR 50 per person, let me tell you that it is worth it every single cent. I personally run this experience at Villa Campestri and during the session we talk about the history of the olive trees, how olive oil is made and how to formally taste Olive Oil - you would have gained new insights into the differences between premium extra-virgins and ordinary supermarket Oils, what different flavors relate to and what makes them the way they are. All these are essential tips on how to recognize with your senses only a good oil from a bad.

I really hope you will take advantage of this unique amenity next time you come!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    50
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
126
235
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved our stay here. The home was beautifully decorated to fit in with the historic mansion. The grounds are extensive and covered with fruit trees and grape vines. The feel is quite relaxed and homey. I loved the complimentary breakfast on the porch over looking the valley- gorgeous. The olive oil tour was a bit expensive, but this place was great. Only problem was that the food for dinner was a bit bland to our heightened expectations and there are not many restaurants nearby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're really thrilled with your recent great review! Thank you! Your remarks mean so very much to all of us here at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnhout
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A bit offroad but splendid location , friendly reception
The food is exceptionally good, not cheap but high quality
If you are intrested in olive oil then do take the olive oil tour , viola is an expert , she takes great pride and pleasure in telling you all about this golden liquid
Recomended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're really thrilled with your recent great review! Thank you! Your remarks mean so very much to all of us here at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We returned to Villa Campestri again this year because it was such a special place for us in 2012.
We were traveling with friends this year, 2013, and we just had to have them experience this wonderful place in the mist of our Tuscan adventure. Before we arrived at the olive oil resort we had explained to them the differences in olive oil and how important it is to understand what it is you are really purchasing, however, it wasn't until they met Gemma, and felt her passion for olive oil that they really understood. Her knowledge and understanding is a gift to all of us. This year the weather was warmer so we enjoyed sitting by the pool as well as visiting our olive tree that we planted last year in memory of our grandparents. Villa Campestri is a place we will always visit when in Tuscany. We were welcomed like family upon our return and we felt there true excitement
about seeing us again. This experience is not to be missed when planing a trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor! The Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort staff works hard to make this happen. Great to see that you took advantage of some of our amenities. We hope you come back soon again and explore more of what this amazing green area around Florence has to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was one of the early reviewers of Villa Campestri and have had the privilege of returning year after year. Each experience just gets better and better. If you want peace and tranquility in beautiful indeed incomparable surroundings, fabulous service (nothing is ever too much) and amazing food then Villa Campestri is a must. Now with the added benefits of a range of wonderful massages - particularly in the bamboo grove - a stay at Villa Campestri is a totally holistic experience. It is so quite that when you sit in the gardens you can hear the grass being crushed when anyone approaches. If you want noise bright lights and dancing go to Torremolinos instead as the Villa won't be for you.

Several years ago I thanked the Pasquali family for providing a little bit of paradise on earth and, you know, each time you return it always exceeds expectation. Just knowing that there is such a place as Villa Campestri gives one great comfort. May be one day I can persuade le Pasquali to open all year round!!

A week in Villa Campestri is like taking a holiday for a month and enjoying every second. It is just fantastic. As we approach the winter blues and may be we get a little sad, just turn to the Villa Campestri website and recall the time spent there and know you can go again and again.

Grazie mille a Paulo, Viola and Gemma.

Room Tip: Smile sweetly at the receptionist but only after checking availability!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a utterly superb 5 nights at this special hotel. The staff are first rate, engaging, always ready to help and assist with advice on where to go, what to see and how to get there. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is full of character with loads of original features and furnished to match. NB. Previous reviewer comments re: beds. I'm 6ft 1'' and had no problems. The grounds are well manicured and beautifully presented. Breakfast selections are excellent and weather allowing, use of terrace and the spectacular views across the Mugello Valley adds an extra dimension. We ate in the hotels restaurant on 3 occasions. Food was superbly cooked and beautifully presented, every dish we tried was first class. My particular favourites being the entrecôte and coffee cheesecake. Allow a couple of hours if you go for the full 4 courses and make the most of it.
There's only wifi in the public areas, for me that a benefit as there's no excuse for not leaving the daily grind behind.
Use the train to Florence, the hotel is 10mins from Vicchio train station (free parking) and costs €5.40 pp each way. Takes about an hour.
An all round fantastic experience and as a well travelled couple, this is our new favourite place. We will most definitely be returning and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely villa and grounds. The views from the Villa of the surrounding countryside are truly outstanding. The room was well appointed with antiques but the bed was not too comfortable. Our room was on the south side so was warm in the evening. We were given two fans that helped with the heat. We enjoyed Ayurvedic massages in the bamboo grove. The breakfast buffet was adequate however scrambled eggs would have been nice. There is an egg cooker for boiling eggs to your own liking. The down side to the lovely setting is the distance to the train station in Vicchio if you do not have a car. Our taxi driver was always on time but the cost to the train station is 20 Euros. The staff were very friendly and responsive to all our needs. The desk is staffed 24/7. The villa and grounds are immaculate. With all this said I would definitely recommend Villa Campresti.

Room Tip: Must be able to climb stairs. May be helpful to ask for a room on the north or east side for coolnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.