We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Aurora, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcomed like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We returned to Villa Campestri again this year because it was such a special place for us in 2012.
We were traveling with friends this year, 2013, and we just had to have them experience this wonderful place in the mist of our Tuscan adventure. Before we arrived at the olive oil resort we had explained to them the differences in olive oil and how important it is to understand what it is you are really purchasing, however, it wasn't until they met Gemma, and felt her passion for olive oil that they really understood. Her knowledge and understanding is a gift to all of us. This year the weather was warmer so we enjoyed sitting by the pool as well as visiting our olive tree that we planted last year in memory of our grandparents. Villa Campestri is a place we will always visit when in Tuscany. We were welcomed like family upon our return and we felt there true excitement
about seeing us again. This experience is not to be missed when planing a trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor! The Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort staff works hard to make this happen. Great to see that you took advantage of some of our amenities. We hope you come back soon again and explore more of what this amazing green area around Florence has to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    54
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
133
256
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was one of the early reviewers of Villa Campestri and have had the privilege of returning year after year. Each experience just gets better and better. If you want peace and tranquility in beautiful indeed incomparable surroundings, fabulous service (nothing is ever too much) and amazing food then Villa Campestri is a must. Now with the added benefits of a range of wonderful massages - particularly in the bamboo grove - a stay at Villa Campestri is a totally holistic experience. It is so quite that when you sit in the gardens you can hear the grass being crushed when anyone approaches. If you want noise bright lights and dancing go to Torremolinos instead as the Villa won't be for you.

Several years ago I thanked the Pasquali family for providing a little bit of paradise on earth and, you know, each time you return it always exceeds expectation. Just knowing that there is such a place as Villa Campestri gives one great comfort. May be one day I can persuade le Pasquali to open all year round!!

A week in Villa Campestri is like taking a holiday for a month and enjoying every second. It is just fantastic. As we approach the winter blues and may be we get a little sad, just turn to the Villa Campestri website and recall the time spent there and know you can go again and again.

Grazie mille a Paulo, Viola and Gemma.

Room Tip: Smile sweetly at the receptionist but only after checking availability!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a utterly superb 5 nights at this special hotel. The staff are first rate, engaging, always ready to help and assist with advice on where to go, what to see and how to get there. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is full of character with loads of original features and furnished to match. NB. Previous reviewer comments re: beds. I'm 6ft 1'' and had no problems. The grounds are well manicured and beautifully presented. Breakfast selections are excellent and weather allowing, use of terrace and the spectacular views across the Mugello Valley adds an extra dimension. We ate in the hotels restaurant on 3 occasions. Food was superbly cooked and beautifully presented, every dish we tried was first class. My particular favourites being the entrecôte and coffee cheesecake. Allow a couple of hours if you go for the full 4 courses and make the most of it.
There's only wifi in the public areas, for me that a benefit as there's no excuse for not leaving the daily grind behind.
Use the train to Florence, the hotel is 10mins from Vicchio train station (free parking) and costs €5.40 pp each way. Takes about an hour.
An all round fantastic experience and as a well travelled couple, this is our new favourite place. We will most definitely be returning and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Proprietario at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear afmorriar,

We're really thrilled with your recent great review! Thank you! Your remarks mean so very much to all of us here at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Pasquali Family & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely villa and grounds. The views from the Villa of the surrounding countryside are truly outstanding. The room was well appointed with antiques but the bed was not too comfortable. Our room was on the south side so was warm in the evening. We were given two fans that helped with the heat. We enjoyed Ayurvedic massages in the bamboo grove. The breakfast buffet was adequate however scrambled eggs would have been nice. There is an egg cooker for boiling eggs to your own liking. The down side to the lovely setting is the distance to the train station in Vicchio if you do not have a car. Our taxi driver was always on time but the cost to the train station is 20 Euros. The staff were very friendly and responsive to all our needs. The desk is staffed 24/7. The villa and grounds are immaculate. With all this said I would definitely recommend Villa Campresti.

Room Tip: Must be able to climb stairs. May be helpful to ask for a room on the north or east side for coolnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I enjoyed our stay here but I have to confess there were a few issues. The rooms are historic and comfortable but the beds are too old and need total replacement, instead of insisting on using grandmother's headboards that only fit shorter people. They are unprepared for very tall guests. The property and gardens are very pretty. The food at the restaurant is very good and we ate there two nights and enjoyed the dishes. I did think the service in the dining room relied too heavily on the one waiter who was assisted by two young women. The two didn't have much authority to bring wine for example. The property is rather far to Florence, so is more of it's own destination. We did drive around but all the small villages make for very slow speed and incredible number of speed traps! The service at the hotel was very friendly. It is a very nice place to enjoy a Tuscan lifestyle.All in all is not luxurious and relies on old but not always comfortable furniture. So it is a nice get away for someone looking for that as long as they don't expect 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I travel all over the world for a living and have been fortunate to stay in some beautiful places.
Villa Campestri truly took my breath away. The food was amazing, the olive oil was fabulous and the service was wonderful. The owner and his lovely daughters over see the day to day operations, the front desk staff is incredibly helpful and all of them were very gracious. I also enjoyed a wonderful olive oil massage, by a very talented masseuse. The views from the swimming pool are magnificent and the surrounding forest is magical.The hotel is a short distance from Florence, and easy drive or a 45 minute train ride. A great escape from the crowds
in Florence. I can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We loved our week long stay at Villa Campestri! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by one of the many charming and helpful staff and we immediately felt relaxed. We ate in the restaurant the first night and my husband was not feeling well. Dario was so sympathetic and offered solutions such as keeping the food and reheating it later for us. By coincidence I had a heavy cold one of the other days and stayed in bed most of the day. Again the staff were so lovely offering to take up tea to the room if I would like some.
We ate there another night and had some more beautiful food and wine the Villa has to offer. I am still thinking about the beautiful salad I ate there!
Being light sleepers we did not expect to sleep so well! The bed, pillows and just sheer quietness of the hotel allowed us to sleep really well each night.
We loved that the pool was in a different area to the main Villa as it felt secluded with amazing views.
Even though we had seen many photos on tripadvisor before we went, its even more beautiful when you see it in person. We are already talking about going back next year! In the meantime we have great memories of Villa Campestri!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.