We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A gorgeous resort with exceptional hospitality! The villa combines old word luxury and charm with a feel-at-home welcome, in a beautiful setting.

The trip to the villa, through beautiful countryside, is an added bonus. We used the NavFree app, which provides offline free GPS for navigation, and found Villa Campestri with ease.

Dinner was delicious, and served outside. The kitchen was accommodating to our vegetarian needs.

A note about air conditioning: A few reviewers complained about the lack of air conditioning. We visited on very warm August days, and not only was the villa always comfortable, most people were wearing a sweater during dinner, and went indoors for coffee and dessert because it got chilly outside.

Thanks again, Viola, Sandra, and everyone at the beautiful Villa Campestri. Hope to see you again, soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    48
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
126
237
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Villa Campestri began our Italian journey, offering us an experience that was difficult to meet or beat throughout the remainder of our travels. We were met by a private car at the Florence airport. This was a splurge for us, but well worth it for we were tired and the place is difficult to find. As we drove down its long driveway, I thought "I have died and gone to heaven. This is exactly how I had pictured Tuscany." Although the main hotel is a very old building, it has been well maintained and offers all the modern amenities. If you can't (or choose not to) stay here, at least, have a meal at its restaurant and see the hotel and its grounds.
I don't know if we just happened to be extremely fortunate, but we felt the meals we had there were the BEST we had in all of Italy. We enjoyed the hikes available on its property. It is not walking distance to a town, so, unless you have a car, be prepared to spend all your time there. They have a lovely swimming pool and lounge chairs around the grounds. We are very active people and had no trouble finding things to do. The views are beautiful. We enjoyed a picnic lunch sitting at one of their tables and chairs on the ridge overlooking the valley. We were taking advantage of a sweetheart or lovers speical package, which included a dozen roses, chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling wine. In addition to this we each had olive oil massages. The masseuse gave me one of the very best massages I have ever had; my skin felt so soft, I hated to wash it off! I can't say enough about this place. It is one of the few places to which I would really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a full week at the Villa Campestri to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary and have had the best holiday imaginable. We arrived at the Villa courtesy of our very accurate say nav and the slightly windy road to find an oasis of quiet and calm nestling in the Northern Tuscan hills on the South side of the Mugello valley.
The Villa is beautifully appointed and we stayed in a very comfortable downstairs room in the converted barn across the courtyard. The staff were incredibly welcoming, courteous and knowledgable. The room was decorated tastefully with luxurious period furniture, day bed and large bathroom. Even though there was no air conditioning the room, provided remained ventilated, remained cool in the day and through the night which were comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely and we soon fell into the habit of missing lunch having eaten well in the morning and then enjoying a lovely evening meal. The dinner menu was both interesting, beautifully served, and extremely tasty. The light menu, including complimentary prosecco, was good value and out of our 7 nights we ate in the restaurant on three occasions. We favoured the house red wine which was very nice and reasonably priced.
We had intended spending our days exploring the sites but only went as farms Florence via train from the local train station at Borgo San Lorenzo from which The city is only a 40 minute ride on the fast train. We took the slow train back to the villa and enjoyed the trundle through the countryside via Viccio.
The Villa's pool is beautifully maintained and long enough to get reasonable exercise if you really need to. In the end we stayed relatively local touring the Mugello valley, visiting the local vineyard, Frascole (meeting the very accommodating owner Enrico), eating in Viccio (lovely pizzeria and more formal trattoria), and visiting a large supermarket that specialised in selling local produce.
We will definitely be staying at Villa Campestri again. It is a truly beautiful haven of peace and quiet; and a wonderful place to start to fall in love with Tuscany.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfect stay with small child and very kind staff. Good location to stay or to travel around in the region. We enjoyed our 6-days stay and planning to return. Try out the cooking classes as well! Next time we will plant an olive tree as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just returned from a stay at the Villa Campestri, and are reliving this perfect vacation spot. The setting is gorgeous, the service impeccable(we were treated royally), the food elegant and delicious, and the room beautiful, elegant, and comfortable. The bathroom was filled with lovely complimentary amenities and very clean. We stayed in a junior suite with a friend, who felt very comfortable with the extra bed in the living room. Set high on a hill and looking out over the landscape, the terrace was a magical spot for dinner every evening. The wine list was extensive and wonderful, and perfectly accompanied the interesting and impressive menus.

I would highly recommend the olive oil tasting course given by hotel owner Gemma Pasquali. Her knowledge and passion on the subject are infectious, and we left with a wealth of information about the growing of the olive trees, harvesting of the fruit, production of the oil, and the criteria for judging the quality and taste of commercial olive oils. This course is a must. Gemma was so engaging and generous with her time.

Finally, the prepaid discounted price was a real deal. It would be difficult to find this level of luxury and comfort at this price anywhere in Europe. The Villa Campestri has my unqualified recommendation!

Room Tip: The junior suites are incredibly beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Campestri Olive Oil Resort for one night in our week long trip around Tuscany. Of five hotels we stayed at this was easily the best. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are very clean and spacious (although they are all not the same). The touches in the villa - tapestries, paintings, decor, books - give the impression the owners really care about appearance and restoring it to its original beauty but in a way that keeps it upto date as well. Food was excellent and service was very attentive. We also paid €50 pp to experience olive oil tasting with the owners' daughter, Gemma, who was incredibly knowledgable, having an agriculture degree and a Phd, and enjoyed answering our questions as well as showing us around the resort. We really, really enjoyed it, and would add this resort to our list of places we would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after a holiday rental in Florence city. We took the train from Florence to Vicchio, which took about an hour and was very straightforward, and then a taxi on from there, organised by the hotel (about €30).

We chose Villa Campestri based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. The villa is right at the top of the valley with great rural Tuscan views. The house is beautiful both inside and outside. We had a huge room overlooking the garden, with a stunning en suite bathroom. Just outside our room was a lovely upstairs lounge with a big stone fireplace. There was another lounge downstairs - all quite dark, which was a nice contrast to the blazing sunshine outside.

I spent most of the weekend by the pool, which was lovely and overlooked the Mugello valley. We also went for some strolls in the beautiful villa grounds, along the olive groves and around some little streams. We didn't have a car, but found plenty to do for a few days around the villa.

We booked the Dine With Us package through the villa's website, which was expensive - but turned out to be amazing value because the food was fantastic! The maitre d' at the restaurant was really great and helped make the atmosphere over dinner on the terrace really relaxed and convivial. The food was incredible - huge portions, beautiful local Tuscan food, great variety.

I'd really recommend this place for a fantastic treat if you like great countryside, a bit of luxury and amazing food. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.