We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful way to begin a journey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to begin a journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Villa Campestri began our Italian journey, offering us an experience that was difficult to meet or beat throughout the remainder of our travels. We were met by a private car at the Florence airport. This was a splurge for us, but well worth it for we were tired and the place is difficult to find. As we drove down its long driveway, I thought "I have died and gone to heaven. This is exactly how I had pictured Tuscany." Although the main hotel is a very old building, it has been well maintained and offers all the modern amenities. If you can't (or choose not to) stay here, at least, have a meal at its restaurant and see the hotel and its grounds.
I don't know if we just happened to be extremely fortunate, but we felt the meals we had there were the BEST we had in all of Italy. We enjoyed the hikes available on its property. It is not walking distance to a town, so, unless you have a car, be prepared to spend all your time there. They have a lovely swimming pool and lounge chairs around the grounds. We are very active people and had no trouble finding things to do. The views are beautiful. We enjoyed a picnic lunch sitting at one of their tables and chairs on the ridge overlooking the valley. We were taking advantage of a sweetheart or lovers speical package, which included a dozen roses, chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling wine. In addition to this we each had olive oil massages. The masseuse gave me one of the very best massages I have ever had; my skin felt so soft, I hated to wash it off! I can't say enough about this place. It is one of the few places to which I would really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    54
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
135
257
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a full week at the Villa Campestri to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary and have had the best holiday imaginable. We arrived at the Villa courtesy of our very accurate say nav and the slightly windy road to find an oasis of quiet and calm nestling in the Northern Tuscan hills on the South side of the Mugello valley.
The Villa is beautifully appointed and we stayed in a very comfortable downstairs room in the converted barn across the courtyard. The staff were incredibly welcoming, courteous and knowledgable. The room was decorated tastefully with luxurious period furniture, day bed and large bathroom. Even though there was no air conditioning the room, provided remained ventilated, remained cool in the day and through the night which were comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely and we soon fell into the habit of missing lunch having eaten well in the morning and then enjoying a lovely evening meal. The dinner menu was both interesting, beautifully served, and extremely tasty. The light menu, including complimentary prosecco, was good value and out of our 7 nights we ate in the restaurant on three occasions. We favoured the house red wine which was very nice and reasonably priced.
We had intended spending our days exploring the sites but only went as farms Florence via train from the local train station at Borgo San Lorenzo from which The city is only a 40 minute ride on the fast train. We took the slow train back to the villa and enjoyed the trundle through the countryside via Viccio.
The Villa's pool is beautifully maintained and long enough to get reasonable exercise if you really need to. In the end we stayed relatively local touring the Mugello valley, visiting the local vineyard, Frascole (meeting the very accommodating owner Enrico), eating in Viccio (lovely pizzeria and more formal trattoria), and visiting a large supermarket that specialised in selling local produce.
We will definitely be staying at Villa Campestri again. It is a truly beautiful haven of peace and quiet; and a wonderful place to start to fall in love with Tuscany.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfect stay with small child and very kind staff. Good location to stay or to travel around in the region. We enjoyed our 6-days stay and planning to return. Try out the cooking classes as well! Next time we will plant an olive tree as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just returned from a stay at the Villa Campestri, and are reliving this perfect vacation spot. The setting is gorgeous, the service impeccable(we were treated royally), the food elegant and delicious, and the room beautiful, elegant, and comfortable. The bathroom was filled with lovely complimentary amenities and very clean. We stayed in a junior suite with a friend, who felt very comfortable with the extra bed in the living room. Set high on a hill and looking out over the landscape, the terrace was a magical spot for dinner every evening. The wine list was extensive and wonderful, and perfectly accompanied the interesting and impressive menus.

I would highly recommend the olive oil tasting course given by hotel owner Gemma Pasquali. Her knowledge and passion on the subject are infectious, and we left with a wealth of information about the growing of the olive trees, harvesting of the fruit, production of the oil, and the criteria for judging the quality and taste of commercial olive oils. This course is a must. Gemma was so engaging and generous with her time.

Finally, the prepaid discounted price was a real deal. It would be difficult to find this level of luxury and comfort at this price anywhere in Europe. The Villa Campestri has my unqualified recommendation!

Room Tip: The junior suites are incredibly beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Campestri Olive Oil Resort for one night in our week long trip around Tuscany. Of five hotels we stayed at this was easily the best. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are very clean and spacious (although they are all not the same). The touches in the villa - tapestries, paintings, decor, books - give the impression the owners really care about appearance and restoring it to its original beauty but in a way that keeps it upto date as well. Food was excellent and service was very attentive. We also paid €50 pp to experience olive oil tasting with the owners' daughter, Gemma, who was incredibly knowledgable, having an agriculture degree and a Phd, and enjoyed answering our questions as well as showing us around the resort. We really, really enjoyed it, and would add this resort to our list of places we would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after a holiday rental in Florence city. We took the train from Florence to Vicchio, which took about an hour and was very straightforward, and then a taxi on from there, organised by the hotel (about €30).

We chose Villa Campestri based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. The villa is right at the top of the valley with great rural Tuscan views. The house is beautiful both inside and outside. We had a huge room overlooking the garden, with a stunning en suite bathroom. Just outside our room was a lovely upstairs lounge with a big stone fireplace. There was another lounge downstairs - all quite dark, which was a nice contrast to the blazing sunshine outside.

I spent most of the weekend by the pool, which was lovely and overlooked the Mugello valley. We also went for some strolls in the beautiful villa grounds, along the olive groves and around some little streams. We didn't have a car, but found plenty to do for a few days around the villa.

We booked the Dine With Us package through the villa's website, which was expensive - but turned out to be amazing value because the food was fantastic! The maitre d' at the restaurant was really great and helped make the atmosphere over dinner on the terrace really relaxed and convivial. The food was incredible - huge portions, beautiful local Tuscan food, great variety.

I'd really recommend this place for a fantastic treat if you like great countryside, a bit of luxury and amazing food. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. If you have a passion for food, olive oil or truffles, cooking, rustic old world charm, panoramic landscapes, and picturesque sunsets...then, Villa Campestri should not be missed.

My stay here was part of my first trip to Italy and by far the most memorable part of my trip. Read all of the reviews and you will have many reasons to visit and stay at Villa Campestri (VC). The reviews are spot on...the physical beauty of the Tuscan countryside, old world charm of the Villa's interior and exterior, warm and gracious staff. We knew our time was limited and would decide on Truffle Hunting or a Cooking Classes later but for sure wanted the Olive Oil Tasting Class.

As I wrote, the reviews are spot on which is the reason we booked VC; the location, the staff, the food and a very high rating by TA! We knew the rooms were sans AC. Didn't remember the walk down to the pool as much as how refreshing it was, what a breathtaking view, especially at sunset, and watching the swallows 'swoop' down for a drink.

Our stay at VC was excellent on it's own but it exceed our expectations because of Gemma Pasquali, daughter of Paolo Pasquali, the owner of VC and creator of the Oleoteca and OliveToLive. Gemma's passion and knowledge of the Olive Oil Industry is impressive and infectious. The family is mentioned in the book Extra Virginity and is very well respected in the industry. Accommodating our party of four at an early time in the morning for the Olive Oil Tasting (all other time slots were sold out! same for the Cooking Classes and Truffle hunting so book them early!) we strolled through the Olive fields with Gemma learning more about olive oil than one thought there was to know! The depth of knowledge was remarkable, the information thought provoking but her passion and commitment are genuine and heartfelt. It is apparent in every aspect of VC.

Standing under a tree, learning about the color, shape and taste of the olive leaves, Gemma introduced us to Luigi, the Head Chef, as he walked by us in the field, dressed in his white chef's jacket, hunting for fresh herbs and berries for today's lunch and dinner. Luigi's no different than Gemma when it comes to passion about their craft and sharing it with others. Honestly I couldn't tell you what was warmer...the July heat, or Gemma, Luigi and the staff at VC.

We continue on, down into the Oleoteca where Gemma educates us about the history of Olive Oil trade, the current state of affairs and teaches us the technique of strippaggio, how to taste an Olive Oil and what true Extra Virgin Olive Oil means and taste like. (No more store bought EVO for this family!)Seriously, the way I think of not just olive oil but nutrition on the whole, it has changed my perspective and healthier eating habits. The time we spent with Gemma was more than a class, it was time where strangers bonded, exchanged experiences, had an impact on each other and developed a friendship.

Our dinner each night was perfectly prepared. The salads, beef, pasta, all made with the freshest ingredients and paired well with wines but no matter what we ate or ordered we could not get enough of the Strawberries and (fresh, Luigi, hand picked) Sage Sauce. Writing this is making me salivate reliving the taste! Where else do you meet the Chef picking the herbs for your meal and get a lesson on why it is being served?

When it came time to depart and head further south, we wished we would have made more time to stay at VC. During our stay we shared our itinerary with Gemma. She went above and beyond the call of duty for us knowing when we were departing and where we were headed, she provided us with three or four stops along the way. We decided on the Sulfur Springs and the Wine Estate of Frascole. Frascole was a true gem and we never would have come across this on our own! A small producer in Tuscany, home to the # 1 rated wine in Italy! The sulfur springs rejuvenated us for the continuation south towards Amalfi, again without Gemma and her suggestion, no spa!

On a side note, we fell in love with one of Gemma's dogs. A native breed to Italy of course, the Laggotto Romagnolo, a rescue dog, known historically as a Truffle Hunter. Gemma's three dog's were the first to greet me as I opened the door to my car, and stepped foot on the VC grounds. It so happens my girlfriend and I have been in the market for a dog and now are looking for a Lagotto.

There is a difference between staying in a great place and a great place to stay. VC is a great place to stay. All of it made possible because of the owners top down approach. This is the difference. Gemma could have easily went on with her day. Instead she personally took the time to get the name, address, directions, description of the attraction, name of the proprietor or contact. Wrote it down by hand and then typed it on her computer, translated it into English and printed up separate copies for each couple and handed it to us for inspection before we left. Each stop only enhanced our vacation and memory of Tuscany and Florence and is forever part of our lives and traveling experiences.

I opened the review saying Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. The People, Places and Things experienced while at VC were above and beyond our expectation. This stay was a combination of the right place, at the right time, traveling with the right people. People who have a passion for life, passion for their craft and a genuine desire to share their experience with you. We are sure to visit again, order Olive Oil at harvest, and name our Lagotto, Gemma or Luigi! That is the impact staying at Villa Campestri had on us. Thank you Trip Advisor! It is easy to see why Villa Campestri, again and again are a TA award winner for 2013! Prego Gemma! Prego! Thank you for your time and memories, Adam, Liz, Angel and Kellie

Room Tip: My only advice is, spend as little time in your room when not sleeping, as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Venere, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.