We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Campestri Olive Oil Resort for one night in our week long trip around Tuscany. Of five hotels we stayed at this was easily the best. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are very clean and spacious (although they are all not the same). The touches in the villa - tapestries, paintings, decor, books - give the impression the owners really care about appearance and restoring it to its original beauty but in a way that keeps it upto date as well. Food was excellent and service was very attentive. We also paid €50 pp to experience olive oil tasting with the owners' daughter, Gemma, who was incredibly knowledgable, having an agriculture degree and a Phd, and enjoyed answering our questions as well as showing us around the resort. We really, really enjoyed it, and would add this resort to our list of places we would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    52
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
132
243
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after a holiday rental in Florence city. We took the train from Florence to Vicchio, which took about an hour and was very straightforward, and then a taxi on from there, organised by the hotel (about €30).

We chose Villa Campestri based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. The villa is right at the top of the valley with great rural Tuscan views. The house is beautiful both inside and outside. We had a huge room overlooking the garden, with a stunning en suite bathroom. Just outside our room was a lovely upstairs lounge with a big stone fireplace. There was another lounge downstairs - all quite dark, which was a nice contrast to the blazing sunshine outside.

I spent most of the weekend by the pool, which was lovely and overlooked the Mugello valley. We also went for some strolls in the beautiful villa grounds, along the olive groves and around some little streams. We didn't have a car, but found plenty to do for a few days around the villa.

We booked the Dine With Us package through the villa's website, which was expensive - but turned out to be amazing value because the food was fantastic! The maitre d' at the restaurant was really great and helped make the atmosphere over dinner on the terrace really relaxed and convivial. The food was incredible - huge portions, beautiful local Tuscan food, great variety.

I'd really recommend this place for a fantastic treat if you like great countryside, a bit of luxury and amazing food. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. If you have a passion for food, olive oil or truffles, cooking, rustic old world charm, panoramic landscapes, and picturesque sunsets...then, Villa Campestri should not be missed.

My stay here was part of my first trip to Italy and by far the most memorable part of my trip. Read all of the reviews and you will have many reasons to visit and stay at Villa Campestri (VC). The reviews are spot on...the physical beauty of the Tuscan countryside, old world charm of the Villa's interior and exterior, warm and gracious staff. We knew our time was limited and would decide on Truffle Hunting or a Cooking Classes later but for sure wanted the Olive Oil Tasting Class.

As I wrote, the reviews are spot on which is the reason we booked VC; the location, the staff, the food and a very high rating by TA! We knew the rooms were sans AC. Didn't remember the walk down to the pool as much as how refreshing it was, what a breathtaking view, especially at sunset, and watching the swallows 'swoop' down for a drink.

Our stay at VC was excellent on it's own but it exceed our expectations because of Gemma Pasquali, daughter of Paolo Pasquali, the owner of VC and creator of the Oleoteca and OliveToLive. Gemma's passion and knowledge of the Olive Oil Industry is impressive and infectious. The family is mentioned in the book Extra Virginity and is very well respected in the industry. Accommodating our party of four at an early time in the morning for the Olive Oil Tasting (all other time slots were sold out! same for the Cooking Classes and Truffle hunting so book them early!) we strolled through the Olive fields with Gemma learning more about olive oil than one thought there was to know! The depth of knowledge was remarkable, the information thought provoking but her passion and commitment are genuine and heartfelt. It is apparent in every aspect of VC.

Standing under a tree, learning about the color, shape and taste of the olive leaves, Gemma introduced us to Luigi, the Head Chef, as he walked by us in the field, dressed in his white chef's jacket, hunting for fresh herbs and berries for today's lunch and dinner. Luigi's no different than Gemma when it comes to passion about their craft and sharing it with others. Honestly I couldn't tell you what was warmer...the July heat, or Gemma, Luigi and the staff at VC.

We continue on, down into the Oleoteca where Gemma educates us about the history of Olive Oil trade, the current state of affairs and teaches us the technique of strippaggio, how to taste an Olive Oil and what true Extra Virgin Olive Oil means and taste like. (No more store bought EVO for this family!)Seriously, the way I think of not just olive oil but nutrition on the whole, it has changed my perspective and healthier eating habits. The time we spent with Gemma was more than a class, it was time where strangers bonded, exchanged experiences, had an impact on each other and developed a friendship.

Our dinner each night was perfectly prepared. The salads, beef, pasta, all made with the freshest ingredients and paired well with wines but no matter what we ate or ordered we could not get enough of the Strawberries and (fresh, Luigi, hand picked) Sage Sauce. Writing this is making me salivate reliving the taste! Where else do you meet the Chef picking the herbs for your meal and get a lesson on why it is being served?

When it came time to depart and head further south, we wished we would have made more time to stay at VC. During our stay we shared our itinerary with Gemma. She went above and beyond the call of duty for us knowing when we were departing and where we were headed, she provided us with three or four stops along the way. We decided on the Sulfur Springs and the Wine Estate of Frascole. Frascole was a true gem and we never would have come across this on our own! A small producer in Tuscany, home to the # 1 rated wine in Italy! The sulfur springs rejuvenated us for the continuation south towards Amalfi, again without Gemma and her suggestion, no spa!

On a side note, we fell in love with one of Gemma's dogs. A native breed to Italy of course, the Laggotto Romagnolo, a rescue dog, known historically as a Truffle Hunter. Gemma's three dog's were the first to greet me as I opened the door to my car, and stepped foot on the VC grounds. It so happens my girlfriend and I have been in the market for a dog and now are looking for a Lagotto.

There is a difference between staying in a great place and a great place to stay. VC is a great place to stay. All of it made possible because of the owners top down approach. This is the difference. Gemma could have easily went on with her day. Instead she personally took the time to get the name, address, directions, description of the attraction, name of the proprietor or contact. Wrote it down by hand and then typed it on her computer, translated it into English and printed up separate copies for each couple and handed it to us for inspection before we left. Each stop only enhanced our vacation and memory of Tuscany and Florence and is forever part of our lives and traveling experiences.

I opened the review saying Life is what you make of it...People, Places and Things. The People, Places and Things experienced while at VC were above and beyond our expectation. This stay was a combination of the right place, at the right time, traveling with the right people. People who have a passion for life, passion for their craft and a genuine desire to share their experience with you. We are sure to visit again, order Olive Oil at harvest, and name our Lagotto, Gemma or Luigi! That is the impact staying at Villa Campestri had on us. Thank you Trip Advisor! It is easy to see why Villa Campestri, again and again are a TA award winner for 2013! Prego Gemma! Prego! Thank you for your time and memories, Adam, Liz, Angel and Kellie

Room Tip: My only advice is, spend as little time in your room when not sleeping, as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed for 2 nights. We had spent 4 days in Rome, 1 in Florence and were on our way to Venice. Our stay at Vill Campestri was outstanding. It was a vacation within a vacation. The grounds were wonderful for lesurely walks, the pool was nice to relax during the day. The staff was so accommodating. They were outstanding. In addition, every meal was well done from breakfast through dinner. One evening, my husband even went into the kitchen to thank the chef! Our room was very unique. It must have been the kitchen of the Villa when it was first constructed. It was very nice and roomy, but could use one or two more lamps. My only criticism is that the comforter and linens smelled musty. Otherwise, this was a perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My Husband and myself have just returned from a week long stay at Villa Campestri. We had read all the excellent reviews before deciding that this sounded like a special place to stay. I can honestly say it far exceeded our expectations in every way. All the staff were so warm,friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant twice and had delicious meals both times. The villa is beautifully furnished and is set in a stunning location, it was hard to tear ourselves away to explore all that the area has to offer. All the excellent reviews and visitor photographs cannot do it justice, you have to experience it to appreciate how wonderful it is.
Many thanks to everyone who plays a part in the running of Villa Campestri.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Made a mistake. Only booked Villa Campestri for 2 nights. Should have booked for longer stay. Quick ride from Florence...though you need a detailed map or GPS. Absolutely lovely location, stunning views and hospitality beyond compare. Personnel always very attentive but not to a point of being annoying. The room we had was excellent.

We will make Villa Campestri a regular on our future Italy itineraries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MikeHouston Texas,
Thank you for your comment! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return very soon!

All the best,

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Rented a car in florence and drove about 35km to Villa Campestri, driving can be challenging when you're in a foreign country, as was expected . We took the back roads and drove through the tuscan countryside armed with a paper map and 2 gps(s)! The views were stunning! It's worth the drive! We stayed at the villa for four nights in june, the grounds was charmingly natural and not overly manicured. The pool overlooked the countryside, the view was especially awesome early in the morning when the mist is rising out of the valley. The room they gave us was lovely and spacious, we loved the skylights and the claw foot tub! Every piece of furniture and fixture in the room was carefully selected to not deviate from the character of the region, no detail was spared, from the bed linens to the telephone! At night we opened the windows to let the breeze in and amazingly enough there were no bugs or mosquitoes, not one! And we were only about a floor up. The villa is relaxing, quiet, and comfortable - you won't hear car engines running, no machines humming, nor elevators ding-ing! If you want a quality tuscan countryside experience, intimate crowd, and non-commercial feel then this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.