We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed for 2 nights. We had spent 4 days in Rome, 1 in Florence and were on our way to Venice. Our stay at Vill Campestri was outstanding. It was a vacation within a vacation. The grounds were wonderful for lesurely walks, the pool was nice to relax during the day. The staff was so accommodating. They were outstanding. In addition, every meal was well done from breakfast through dinner. One evening, my husband even went into the kitchen to thank the chef! Our room was very unique. It must have been the kitchen of the Villa when it was first constructed. It was very nice and roomy, but could use one or two more lamps. My only criticism is that the comforter and linens smelled musty. Otherwise, this was a perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    49
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
125
235
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My Husband and myself have just returned from a week long stay at Villa Campestri. We had read all the excellent reviews before deciding that this sounded like a special place to stay. I can honestly say it far exceeded our expectations in every way. All the staff were so warm,friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant twice and had delicious meals both times. The villa is beautifully furnished and is set in a stunning location, it was hard to tear ourselves away to explore all that the area has to offer. All the excellent reviews and visitor photographs cannot do it justice, you have to experience it to appreciate how wonderful it is.
Many thanks to everyone who plays a part in the running of Villa Campestri.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Made a mistake. Only booked Villa Campestri for 2 nights. Should have booked for longer stay. Quick ride from Florence...though you need a detailed map or GPS. Absolutely lovely location, stunning views and hospitality beyond compare. Personnel always very attentive but not to a point of being annoying. The room we had was excellent.

We will make Villa Campestri a regular on our future Italy itineraries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MikeHouston Texas,
Thank you for your comment! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return very soon!

All the best,

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Rented a car in florence and drove about 35km to Villa Campestri, driving can be challenging when you're in a foreign country, as was expected . We took the back roads and drove through the tuscan countryside armed with a paper map and 2 gps(s)! The views were stunning! It's worth the drive! We stayed at the villa for four nights in june, the grounds was charmingly natural and not overly manicured. The pool overlooked the countryside, the view was especially awesome early in the morning when the mist is rising out of the valley. The room they gave us was lovely and spacious, we loved the skylights and the claw foot tub! Every piece of furniture and fixture in the room was carefully selected to not deviate from the character of the region, no detail was spared, from the bed linens to the telephone! At night we opened the windows to let the breeze in and amazingly enough there were no bugs or mosquitoes, not one! And we were only about a floor up. The villa is relaxing, quiet, and comfortable - you won't hear car engines running, no machines humming, nor elevators ding-ing! If you want a quality tuscan countryside experience, intimate crowd, and non-commercial feel then this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in the deluxe apartment with our three children and enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment was beautifully appointed and comfortable with three separate bedrooms and one bath. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The villa grounds are so beautiful! The pool and view from there fantastic! It is everything you hope a Tuscan villa would be. The breakfasts were also wonderful. My daughter loved making her own fresh squeezed orange juice on the juicer. The restaurant there was good but somewhat slow moving. We seemed to be the first and the last there. Not sure why that was but my husbands main course arrived like 20 minutes after all of us finished ours and the waitress didn't put in my order of the chocolate dessert so we ended up waiting another 20 minutes after the rest of my family finished their desserts. I think dinner lasted 3 hours which wouldn't have been a big deal if we were not tired and cold from the chilly outdoor air. I should say, however, that Danilo was a gracious host. As far as distance from Florence we were an hour by car. Thanks to GPS we navigated the city and its parking just fine. I can't imagine having done without it as Florence is pretty challenging to drive through. If you rent a car get the GPS. It is invaluable even with an iPad. We used both to navigate through 6 countries. There will be times you won't be able to access your iPad maps so the GPS was a godsend. Florence is fantastic. Do yourself a favor and reserve tickets ahead of time for the Accademia and Uffizi online. The resort recommended a visit to Scarperia but we really didn't care for this town. Very sleepy. Unless you want to buy knives don't bother. We did enjoy a winery tour at Colognole which they recommended. We tried to go to top rated restaurant La Casa del Prosciutto in the nearby town of Vecchio but it was closed on Mondays. That's when we learned there is a law in Italy where restaurants need to be closed one day a week. There is a Tuscan barbecue place that looked really intriguing but it too was closed. Overall Villa Campestri was a lovely place to stay
and, even though its a bit secluded, it's a wonderful countryside respite. One last unrelated thing- if you can go to Cinque Terra! Vernazza is one of the most beautiful places you'll ever see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is breathtaking! Staff was so nice! We traveled with 2 teenagers and they really have the best memories here. The smell in the air.... The peace.... The food.... We will be back the next chance we can. This hotel truly is like a dream.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We were there for two days, our last place in Chianti area on this trip. Romantic settings that we liked, very quiet place and wonderful surroundings .
Food could be much better, wines
decent. We had to leave early in the morning, this was messy, gate was closed, so this made the ending a bit troublesome!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.