We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the weather, countryside and Florence. Only 30 minutes on the train to Florence from Borgo San Lorenzo (a 10 min drive). Great contrast to bustling, frenetic Firenze. Around the park, there are chairs and tables, pool set into the hillside, plenty of space for kids to run around and explore. The hotel itself is located in an old restored villa. A lot of effort has been made to keep the authentic character of the villa. All the rooms are decorated with antique furniture, wall carpets, paintings. The restaurant is also fantastic starting with the complimentary glass of Prosecco, to the indulgent examples of Italian gastronomy. The menu has a very large selection of Italian dishes prepared with olive oil. The hotel produces its own olive oil. Ask Dario, the restaurant maestro, for advice on wines etc as he is always very helpful. Breakfast is also good and complete, with delicious pastries. All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were heartily greeted, served a cold cuts and cheese platter and wine (due to late arrival and restaurant being closed). We appreciated the personal attention very much and are visiting again this summer with our children this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debisc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went here with my sisters and it was quiet, peaceful, relaxing, staff was friendly and helpful! The food/wine/service of all our meals were excellent. My sister is celiac and needs gluten free food. We made the staff aware of this and at every meal there was either gluten free pasta, bread, buns or anything she needed. We thought it would be hard for her to eat because of needing gluten free and they were very accommodating. I will go back on my next Italy adventure no matter what. The best views of Tuscany were amazing waking up to, as well as picking a fresh lemon and lime while going on a quick morning walk. The room had so much character and charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kendra N,
Thank you so much for your comments. When special needs occur, it is always a great challenge for us trying to please our Guests. Everyone now here at Villa Campestri is very proud after your review and your words really help us keeping high standards in our work during the new season that is approaching. We will re-open on March 25th 2013. Please follow us on our Facebook Page. We recently reached the one thousands fans!
Thank you again and hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here! Beautiful setting and very hospitable.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Wonderful food, romantic location and hotel room of a very high standard.
Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA/Tuscany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were very reluctant to leave this haven. The food service and ambience are all superb. This is what holidays in Tuscany are all about. We will ask HW to rearrange our itinerary to include a 5 nights stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've never felt that a hotel should charge more before staying at Villa Campestri.

The setting and the views are fantastic.

The olive oil experience was lovely and unique.

The sunset dinners were superb. The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

We had major issues with the Italian postal service from our prior hotel, which Villa Campestri staff were hugely helpful in addressing for us. Without them we'd still be tracking our personal possessions across Italy!!

If the rooms had air conditioning it would be totally perfect. Because of the hotel being a listed building (or something of the sort), the hotel is without air con. We stayed in the very height of summer and we still managed to sleep well. The walls are very thick so it's a naturally very well insulated building.

We can't wait to come back here. Just a great, high quality, incredibly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dear Villa Campestri team,
Thank you for keeping this charming Villa in such a splendid condition, also for keeping the history of the place still alive.
We enjoyed our stay in your house. Hope to see you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Fam. DC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PP77NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Villa Campestri is a beautiful Olive Garden villa outside of Florence. It is a magnificent heritage property dating back to 13th century. The facility represents the traditional Tuscan architecture, the rooms are tastefully decorated and meticulously maintained. The setting and rooms are absolutely beautiful. The best attribute of the Villa is the staff. They are all exceptional. Without a doubt the most attentive staff at any hotel or villa that I have stayed, and I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world. This was a truly wonderful stay in a fantastic Villa that is located on a wonderfull hilltop. The views from any vantage point were truly breathtaking and provided endless photo opportunities. We spent four lovely October days relaxing, swimming, reading and exploring. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and the lunch/dinner menu offered many culinary delights. Some highlights we chose to book were wonderful and included an olive oil tasting, wine tasting at a local winery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajanBPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
23.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#20 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing