We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the weather, countryside and Florence. Only 30 minutes on the train to Florence from Borgo San Lorenzo (a 10 min drive). Great contrast to bustling, frenetic Firenze. Around the park, there are chairs and tables, pool set into the hillside, plenty of space for kids to run around and explore. The hotel itself is located in an old restored villa. A lot of effort has been made to keep the authentic character of the villa. All the rooms are decorated with antique furniture, wall carpets, paintings. The restaurant is also fantastic starting with the complimentary glass of Prosecco, to the indulgent examples of Italian gastronomy. The menu has a very large selection of Italian dishes prepared with olive oil. The hotel produces its own olive oil. Ask Dario, the restaurant maestro, for advice on wines etc as he is always very helpful. Breakfast is also good and complete, with delicious pastries. All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were heartily greeted, served a cold cuts and cheese platter and wine (due to late arrival and restaurant being closed). We appreciated the personal attention very much and are visiting again this summer with our children this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    51
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
128
242
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went here with my sisters and it was quiet, peaceful, relaxing, staff was friendly and helpful! The food/wine/service of all our meals were excellent. My sister is celiac and needs gluten free food. We made the staff aware of this and at every meal there was either gluten free pasta, bread, buns or anything she needed. We thought it would be hard for her to eat because of needing gluten free and they were very accommodating. I will go back on my next Italy adventure no matter what. The best views of Tuscany were amazing waking up to, as well as picking a fresh lemon and lime while going on a quick morning walk. The room had so much character and charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kendra N,
Thank you so much for your comments. When special needs occur, it is always a great challenge for us trying to please our Guests. Everyone now here at Villa Campestri is very proud after your review and your words really help us keeping high standards in our work during the new season that is approaching. We will re-open on March 25th 2013. Please follow us on our Facebook Page. We recently reached the one thousands fans!
Thank you again and hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here! Beautiful setting and very hospitable.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Wonderful food, romantic location and hotel room of a very high standard.
Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA/Tuscany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were very reluctant to leave this haven. The food service and ambience are all superb. This is what holidays in Tuscany are all about. We will ask HW to rearrange our itinerary to include a 5 nights stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I've never felt that a hotel should charge more before staying at Villa Campestri.

The setting and the views are fantastic.

The olive oil experience was lovely and unique.

The sunset dinners were superb. The food was amazing and the service was excellent.

We had major issues with the Italian postal service from our prior hotel, which Villa Campestri staff were hugely helpful in addressing for us. Without them we'd still be tracking our personal possessions across Italy!!

If the rooms had air conditioning it would be totally perfect. Because of the hotel being a listed building (or something of the sort), the hotel is without air con. We stayed in the very height of summer and we still managed to sleep well. The walls are very thick so it's a naturally very well insulated building.

We can't wait to come back here. Just a great, high quality, incredibly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dear Villa Campestri team,
Thank you for keeping this charming Villa in such a splendid condition, also for keeping the history of the place still alive.
We enjoyed our stay in your house. Hope to see you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Fam. DC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Villa Campestri is a beautiful Olive Garden villa outside of Florence. It is a magnificent heritage property dating back to 13th century. The facility represents the traditional Tuscan architecture, the rooms are tastefully decorated and meticulously maintained. The setting and rooms are absolutely beautiful. The best attribute of the Villa is the staff. They are all exceptional. Without a doubt the most attentive staff at any hotel or villa that I have stayed, and I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world. This was a truly wonderful stay in a fantastic Villa that is located on a wonderfull hilltop. The views from any vantage point were truly breathtaking and provided endless photo opportunities. We spent four lovely October days relaxing, swimming, reading and exploring. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and the lunch/dinner menu offered many culinary delights. Some highlights we chose to book were wonderful and included an olive oil tasting, wine tasting at a local winery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.