We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amor + Olio= Fabulous Adventure in Tuscany!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort to your Saves list
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Amor + Olio= Fabulous Adventure in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My stay at Villa Campestri was beyond my expectations. As a devoted home chef I was fascinated to learn more about olive oil and learn I did. I also ate, drank, and basked in the gorgeous setting of the Villa.
My fellow travelers were fun and interesting and there were wonderful stories being shared and lots of laughter.
The Villa is filled with the charm of the Old World and The Pasqualis are gracious and delightful hosts.I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    58
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
139
276
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This past October we had the wonderful experience of attending an Amorolio week at Villa Campestri. The experience was fantastic! The resort was wonderful, and the hospitality of the Pasquali family was beyond measure! We laughed, we learned, and we ate.... boy, did we EAT! Such fun meeting new friends..and memories that we will cherish forever. Whether or not you are attending the Amorolio week, or just spending vacation time in this beautiful area of Tuscany, you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

High up in the hills outside of Florence sits a tranquil escape where the service, accommodation, and food are all excellent. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite with great views of the countryside and garden. The villa itself is 13th century which in it self was quite incredible, and our room was huge with lots of wooden furniture and atmospheric lighting, possibly a little too dim for some but perfect for us as we loved the feeling of being in a place with so much history behind it, especially when the wind whistled down the valley and we were cosy under a big duvet with the shutters closed to the tempest outside. There was a stunning sitting area outside our room with vaulted ceilings and lovely tapestries, you really did feel as if you were staying in your own stately home. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, above and beyond to be honest. And the food.....wow. Dario is genuinely charming and will help you decide what to eat and drink but no matter what you choose, I can assure you it will be great. Seriously. Probably the best food we had it Italy, and consistently, for the three nights we stayed. We took advantage of the "Dine with Us" offer when we stayed and it proved outstanding value for money, also it is quite some way up a long dark narrow road and it makes a lot of sense to eat here anyway. You can easily catch a train to Florence from one of the local stations- about an hour by train- and it is not expensive. Thanks to everyone at Villa Campestri!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really don't know where to start. My sister and two friends signed up for AmorOlio, For Love of Olive Oil. Six days of learning, fun, cooking, meeting new people, enjoying the beautiful grounds of Villa Campestri, meeting the family owners, and all the staff. My sister and I arrived four days before the Olive Oil experience and were treated like royalty from the receptionists, restaurant staff, and family. The food was outstanding at the restaurant, Dario, Tatiana, Jerry, Sam, and the rest of the staff were outstanding. The beautiful estate was manicured to the T, the olive groves were beautiful, the walking trails magnificent overlooking the valley and Vicchio. We were taken to a market to buy fresh vegetables and fruit to use in our cooking class and time for shopping. It's a good thing we spend another four days in Florence so we could walk off all the food we ate. The family, Paolo, Gemma, Viola, and darling grandchildren plus the three dogs just enhanced the experience. The rooms were furnished with beautiful antiques, spacious and comfortable beds. The lighting could have been a little brighter in the bathroom. Four ladies putting on makeup was a challenge. I would go back in a second. I had admired a scarf that Gemma had on and she actually bought a couple and brought them to Florence for us and spent a few hours showing us around. I think they went out of the way to welcome us to their Villa and to Italy. Their country should be proud.

Room Tip: Just tell them what kind of room you want and it will be granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stood at the Villa only for one night (and day), and we regret not staying longer!
The villa is a resort with all the comfort of a 4 stars hotel in a 13th century estate. Incredible!! The pictures that I found on Internet do not make justice of the beautiful place. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant (one of our best meals in Italy) and took an introductory course to the Olive Oil world, tasting included (that for us, as foodies as we are, was amazing).

The staff was always warm and friendly, always ready to help or do the extra mile in order to make our stay more comfortable.

We are strongly thinking of going back next year, with some more time to relax and enjoy the good things that the place has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for a total of 2 nights. The grounds were excellent, and the breakfast was better than average. The fresh orange juice (literally self-squeezed) was excellent.
Surprisingly for an olive oil resort, the oil was surprisingly mediocre. Had much better olio nuovo in Lucca and Cortona, and I wasn't even trying to find it.

The rooms were beautiful but somewhat dated. There was no heat in late October although the management did try to bring up some mobile heaters. The views in the morning overlooking the valley in Vicchio were outstanding.

The food in the restaurant was highly over-rated. Great website but the delivery was lacking unfortunately. I had the distinct impression that the front of house and cooking were a semi-professional operation. Did not have a memorable experience in the restaurant unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks to Tripadvisor, we listen with great pleasure to the comments and suggestions of our guests. Every day we strive to improve, while maintaining our traditional values. So glad you were with us for 2 nights and shared with us your opinion. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our stay at Villa Campestri was one of the most enjoyable trips we have ever made. This is in the context of having travelled the world, lived and worked in various countries, and through this experienced many different types of holiday.

In the first instance, the quality of the accommodation, food, and service was exceptional. The attention to detail, even to the background music played at different times of the day, reflected the care given to providing an atmosphere very much in tune with the Villa and its 800 years of history.

The setting of Villa Campestri is truly beautiful - its lush, manicured grounds, the olive groves, and the magnificent views overlooking the valley of Vicchio and the surrounding area - provides tranquility and an escape from the rush of modern day life.

The location of Villa Campestri enables the visitor to experience the contrast between the weekly market in Vicchio and the attractions of nearby Florence.

We came away after our all too short stay, refreshed and relaxed, but wanting more.... What else could you ask for in a holiday?!

We look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Romualdo and Susan

Room Tip: All rooms are peaceful, some with very long distance views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#8 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
21.6 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 7 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
18.4 mi away
Villa Rigacci
Villa Rigacci
#1 of 12 in Reggello
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via di Campestri 19 / 22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.