We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***ROMANTIC A STEP BACK IN TIME...TUSCANY PERSONIFIED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Bibbione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello di Bibbione to your Saves list
Castello di Bibbione
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Via Collina, 66 | 50026 Loc. Montefiridolfi, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sedona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“***ROMANTIC A STEP BACK IN TIME...TUSCANY PERSONIFIED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband is from Florence (Firenze) Italy and although we have a home in Florence when we come home to visit, we escape from the city, to Castello di Bibbione we love to stay in the converted hunting lodges they are warm, inviting and give you the true experience of country Tuscan living. In the year 1511, Niccolò Machiavelli (who possessed family estates about 6 km from Bibbione in Sant’Andrea in Percussina) bought the Castle and the farmland using it as a hunting lodges, the family converted the hunting lodges into the current guest cottages complete with kitchen and everything to cook with if you so desire, living room, fireplace bedroom and bathroom. The grounds are exquisite. Well located to Toscana and nearby regions. If you are looking for a true Tuscan Experience, this is it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and I were travelling through the tuscany and found this lovely place by accident. The castello has the medivial charme, located on a hill, sourrounded by the picture book tuscany landscape. The apartment was huge (90 m2), having a fireplace, a well equipped kitchen, and big bath-and bedroom with a cosy bed. The price was really reasonable and the service was excellent. There was nothing I could complain about - it was just a perfect stay and we will definitley come again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bibbione, Responsabile reception at Castello di Bibbione, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Cari Paul & Victoria,
Many thanks for your post! We are very happy to know that you spent a nice holiday with us.
We will go on doing our best to keep up to our Customer expectations!
We really hope to see you again!

All the best,
Sara, Cristiana and Valeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely place. Beautiful setting. Easy trips to both Florence and to explore smaller towns. Suites were clean and well maintained. Staff very friendly; they made a special effort to accommodate and to help us. Highly recommended. Good breakfast; also enjoyed the wine tasting and tour of Machiavelli family castle.

Room Tip: choose from a variety of sizes to suit size of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Castello di Bibbione in the Canonica 1 apartment. It was very clean, charming and comfortable for 4 adults. We used this as a base to visit villages all over Tuscany on day trips. The view over the Tuscan countryside is spectacular. We saw hot air balloons flying overhead in the mornings and watched the glorious sunsets in the evening. This was our first villa experience so I was a little apprehensive, but we would visit here again for sure. The reception staff was incredible. They gave us great restaurant suggestions in nearby villages and helped in any way we requested.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Eight adults and two children shared Villa il Poggio for a sun filled week in Tuscany. It was our second stay, the last being 4 years prior. The location allows day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa, etc., but we opted to lounge at the pool soaking in the sun and enjoying the view of the rolling hills of Tuscany.

We reserved breakfast at property's restaurant the first morning, but I wouldn't recommend it for the money. The offering was very sparse and not replentished often enough. Our party of 10 was squeezed into space enough for six and the other diners had desimated the "buffet".

The villa itself is charming with 3 large bedrooms in the main house and a one bedroom apartment below--great for the couple and their 2 children. The bedrooms, although lovely, have only a single thin pillow on each bed and only a few hangers are provided in the wardrobes. I remembered this from our last visit and brought wire hangers enough for everyone.

The kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to cook a gourmet dinner with local products. The coop in San Casciano has everything you could dream of--at prices half of what one would pay in the US.

We also tried all of the estate bottled wine offerings which were very good.

But the setting was divine! One can imagine why Tuscany, with its magical light quality, has inspired so many artists. At Castello di Bibbione you will truly get a preview of what heaven will be like.

Room Tip: Round up family or friends and rent VIlla il Poggio--complete with its own private swimming pool set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the full villa poggio, two families of four, and had a wonderful time. The accommodations are lovely, and quite detailed to the care of the guests. Small touches abound, anything we needed was available. We spent many hours in the afternoons after our daily adventures in the awe inspiring pool. Sipping wine and enjoying the great views. The villa is situated at the top of a hill and has 360 views of the surrounding areas. The staff was excellent, polite, and went above and beyond in all our interactions. I highly recommend a stay here.
Dawn Cornell
New Jersey USA

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed a week and enjoyed every minute. We took day trips and came back at night to our own little piece of paradise. We stayed in the main castle and if you have a problem with steps this is not the room to pick but it worked out fine for us. On our way back from Florence we stopped at a roadside stand to buy fruit, cheese, veggies and yes wine - it was a great spot.
We had the most spectacular views from our bedroom windows - all I can saw is amazing.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the spa service book in advance, we were unable to get a massage as the masseuse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Bibbione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Bibbione

Address: Via Collina, 66 | 50026 Loc. Montefiridolfi, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Bibbione 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niccolò Machiavelli’s hunting lodge brings back to medieval atmospheres. Surrounded by greenery, the accommodations enjoy a splendid view of the Chianti hills and are furnished with all modern convenience while keeping to the traditional Tuscan style.The Wellness Centre offers massages and yoga classes.At few kilometres from the estate, it is possible to practice horseback riding, tennis, and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castello di Bibbione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Bibbione Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Castello Di Bibbione Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Bibbione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.