We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Montignana

Fattoria Montignana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fattoria Montignana to your Saves list
Fattoria Montignana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Montignana 4 | San Casciano, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Union City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Return Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were here two years ago and returned for a week on our travels this year. We enjoy the peace and quite of the country side for awhile to really relax and come down from all the stress of travel and tourists. The rooms are well laid out but basic. The only improvement they could make would be the beds. Checking in and out of this place is no hassle and easy.
The area around the building is great for walks around the vine yards and exploring the country side and local villages. We will be back next time we travel Italy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in adjoining apartments with friends and although the location is beautiful, rather than coming away feeling rested, we left exhausted. The accommodation generally itself if too simple in my opinion for the cost. Our dishwasher did not work all week, there is not any air conditioning and the BBq area is by the bins so we did not want to use it (and with no oven in the kitchen, this limited our cooking options).

Our key problem though was the noise from the apartments above. We expected some sort of noise living in close vicinity of other people but there is simply no soundproofing at all. This means that you hear everything that happens above. We were woken up most nights by the people above going to the toilet (not just the flush!) and then again by 7am at the latest when they got up. You can hear conversations, furniture moving and doors opening as if they are in your apartment. On our final morning I was woken up at 5am by people packing and I could hear the zipping and unzipping of cases followed by the cleaning of this all the apartments at 7am with the cleaners making so much noise in carrying items up the back steps which echoed around our apartment.

We did complain half way through the week but the response has been extremely poor. We have asked to speak to the owner but the Manager is just not following our request of this. Very disappointed in their treatment of us as a customer and have left feeling that they do not care what our opinions are or what our stay was like.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest, since your party is the same of the comment "Not the place if you wish to sleep" and "very poor experience", we confirm our regret to know that you were not happy about your holiday at Montignana. As wrote in replying to the other 2 comments, we always do our best to let our guests be satisfied about their holiday and we are the first to be sorry If we didn't reach this aim with you.
It can be that during high season, when we are completely sold out, apartments are not so private as you immagine but Fattoria Montignana is a house diveded into 11 apartments and it can be that you have people above or next to you. The 2 apartments you rented are apartments that guests reserved year by year because they are big, comfortable and with a very enjoyable terrace/patio to sit outside, so we were only a bit surprised about the complaint.
As regards the air conditionig and the BBQ area: we have never sold the apartments as they had air conditioning, since they didn't have it. The apartments usually remain fresh also during summer time also thanks to the thick walls or typical Tuscan house. The BBQ are is not to bins because it is an area delimitated by a hedge next to the parking area where there are also the bins. The BBQ area is always at disposal of all our guests.
Regaring the assistence, we thought that our staff gave its help at best since the management didn't agree with the money refund you were asking.
As compensation, we offered 2 boxes of Chianti Classico Riserva docg Villa Montignana but you refused.
Since you have our contacts, please to not hesitate in contacting us for any further clarification.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

As the reviewer below wrote the noise here from apartments above is unacceptable
Whether its 5am, 6am or midnight or later you will be disturbed by the noise from other apartments as when this house was converted the ceilings were not sound proofed and noise on tile floors travelled

Management are never wrong, don't want to know and are in denial

On the morning of departure, even thought they were aware of our lack of sleep and poor experiences they cleaned the apartment above us before 7am making as much noise as possible

They don't care, just take your money and its not their problem
shame as the pool and area is nice, just stay elsewhere, as for over 200Euros per night there is much better and you can sleep

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Since you are part of the same group of the comment "Not the place if you wish to sleep" , I would liket to say again that we are sorry about your disappoint but we would like to stress that always care about our guests and we think to have given you assistence all the week long. We couldn't move the people which where staying above you since we were completely sold out but we have been always at disposal to talk to you to try to solve the solution. As wrote in replying to the other comment, you were asking for a money refund and the management didn't agree with this because we trust that the price you paid is correspondent to the quality and service you had.
We offer 2 boxes of Chianti Classico Riserva docg Villa Montignana as compensation for the noise and you didn't accept, since the value is quiet high.
We remain at complete disposal for any further assistence. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here for a week. The setting is nice as is the pool , however the apartments have not had their ceilings sound proofed, so as a reviewer below mentions you can hear the people above you constantly. Whether it is 1245am as last night when they put the dishwasher on before gong to bed, or 7 am in the morning when they are urinating in their toilet.Every footstep or noise is as though they are in the room with you
This means in 6 nights we have not slept more than 7 hours , very frustrating

As another reviewer points out the reaction of the management is disbelief as though you are lying and as of yet we have not had answers
Our colleagues have not had a dishwasher for the whole stay that works and rather than say sorry there won't be a dishwasher for a week they just keep saying we are waiting for a technician

For the money you would expect at least sound proofed ceilings and also a portable barbecue per apartment rather than one communal barbecue by some bins
So if you value rest on a holiday it's not for you

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments.
We are terrible sorry that you weren't satisfied about your holiday at Fattoria Montignana because our purpose is to let the guests be happy about the time spent in our property.
As anticipated during your stay, we trust you regarding your complaint but we just want to let you know that you rented the 2 best apartments in Montignana, for which some guests make their reservation year by year. It can be that Fattoria Montignana wasn't the right place for your holiday since it is a house divided into 11 apartments so it can be that during the high season, when we are sold out, there are some noise due to the presence of other people in other accommodation.
We only would like to say that, during your stay, our staff was at your completely disposal. As soon as we knew about your complaints we came more times at your apartment to speak with your party, we spoke several times by phone and by email. The problem is that you were asking for a money refund and the management of the Fattoria didn't agree because we trust that the prices of the accommodation are rightly correspondent to the value of the property, service and apartments. We remain at complete disposal for any further assistence and we send best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed recently a year after our wedding for a long promissed honeymoon to Tuscany. We travelled all over and saw all the dutyful tourist spots with all their crowds. For our last week we stayed at this place and let me say that after all the crowds this place was wonderful and pieceful. After busy days in Floerence and tired feet it was so nice to just sit and relax in the pool and see the amazing surrounding. We would often sneak thru the fence and walk for hours in the vine yards.
If I had one small complaint it would be that the two single beds pushed together was an issue for us on our arrival. We spoke to thge management and this was quickly remedied the following day by moving us to another apartment with a double queen size bed.

Room Tip: A few words of Italian will go a long way in getting what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We thank you for your nice comment and we look forward to welcoming you again in Fattoria Montignana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked to stay there in 2006 and again in 2009 and the second time we could not wait to arrive again. The views are fantastic. Lets be real... you are in the country, so mosquitoes will be there also and they love my sweet blood I guess. After the first time I learned to come prepared for "Mosquito Battle" and I won.. mostly. If you drink the Coli wine you won't notice the bites anyway.
The apartments are classic Tuscan country style with everything you need for comfort. The only time we really spend there was to sleep, as the local area of Florence to Sienna with all in between demands a lot of attention.
We had no problems for the two times we stayed there and the staff have always been very helpful and friendly. On most Monday evenings try and go the the Pratale apartments, owned by the same family and join them in an "apperitivo" feast where you get to meet all the other guests and family. We will definitely be back again...

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Nicci,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday at Fattoria Montignana!! We hope to have you like our guest again. Best wishes from Fattoria Montignana and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've had the joy of greatly enjoying holidays in Tuscany for the past 15 years...and the hotel that I have gone back to time and again is the magnificent Fattoria Montignana. This villa, whose history goes back to the 11th century, is in between Florence and Siena in the heart of the incomparable Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. Not only are the rooms truly decorated as if you have been drawn back to the Renissance, but the grounds, surrounded by vineyards that make some of the best vino in Italy, are magnificent. And the sunsets...! Picture hillsides the color of smoky blue shadows, lined with rows of grape vines...with old stone glowing golden from the setting sun. See the sky turn from soft pale peach, to deep orange. Smell the wild rosemary perfuming everywhere...and you have arrived at Fattoria Montignana. Ciao...Don from Marina del Rey, CA USA

Room Tip: Mention my name...Donaldino from California
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Donald, Thank you very much for your nice comments regarding Fattoria Montignana. It has been a pleasure to have you like our guests. We would be happy to welcome you again at our property so you could enjoy our accommodation and Tuscan landscape! Best wishes from Fattoria Montignana and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Montignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Montignana

Address: Via Montignana 4 | San Casciano, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Montignana 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical “region” of Chianti Classico, Fattoria Montignana rises among the hills between San Casciano Val di Pesa and Greve in Chianti. The manor has been completely restored and divided into eleven independent apartments of different sizes with swimming pool. The furnishings of each apartment are characteristic of the typical rural Tuscan style, while at the same time affording every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fattoria Montignana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Montignana Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Montignana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.