We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Escape to in Tuscany!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti to your Saves list
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Escape to in Tuscany!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a lovely little paradise in Tuscany. Salvadonica's owners are so friendly and helpful and recommended so many great places to go for wine tasting, sight seeing and exploring. The property is beautiful: the gardens, vineyards, pool and buildings were all so lovely - we could have sat all day sipping our wine and enjoying the view.
We were there in August, so it was quite warm at night. The rooms do not have A/C (they do have fans) but the two nights we spent were definitely hot. This of course is not their fault, but worth noting when planning your trip. The breakfast buffet was delicious and they always had a great bottle of wine ready for us to open.

We had a wonderful stay and hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guests,

Yes, definitely we had two unexpected weeks of very hot weather! We are thinking about the A/C!!

A bottle of good wine is always available for you if you have the opportunity to visit our region again in the future.

Truly yours,

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    49
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
88
143
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family (2 adults 3 children) stayed at Salvadonica for five nights in August. We had a wonderful time there, the views are stunning, the location is in the heart of the beautiful Chianti region and the hotel supply an excellent selection of recommended restaurants which was very useful. The hosts, Francesca and Beatrice were very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good and the Chef was extremely friendly and helpful and the staff throughout were delightful, always smiling and happy. We stayed during a heatwave unfortunately and as Salvadonica does not have air-conditioning and only ceiling fans it was almost impossible to sleep at night. I would suggest the hotel supply fans to guests in this eventuality - we obtained one from the sitting room area in the end. I know they are looking into air-conditioning for the future and this was unusually hot.
The rooms are clean and spacious with simple rustic charm decor. There is a fridge and cooking facilities in our suite which was useful. We also took advantage of the activities the hotel has to offer such as horse riding, tennis, massage and Chianti Vineyard tour nearby. All were excellent and great value for money and our children loved them. We felt however the hotel is best suited to couples rather than families. When my children were playing happily in the pool one of the guests pointed to a sign saying, 'Between 1 - 4 pm it's sleep time around the pool' - in my opinion this is a crazy rule and people that need to sleep should go to their room or move further away from the pool. You can't expect young children to jump in the pool quietly!
I think for the price of the rooms Salvadonica should consider offering the following (it's the little extras that in my opinion make all the difference)
Provide a bottle of water in the fridge on arrival and maybe some fruit in the fruit bowl. (The honesty bar drinks are expensive at 2.5 euros for a bottle of water)
Some basic ingredients for cooking. Olive Oil/Balsamic and washing up liquid, cooking oil.
Additional fans should be available or better still air-con.
Mosquito netts should be provided for all beds not just for the main double bed.
Always try and place families in adjacent rooms when booking two rooms.

I would recommend this hotel to others as we did have a wonderful time and I hope they will see this review as helpful and constructive. Thanks.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family and need two adjacent rooms then you must stress this at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Family,

Many thanks for your nice review. Yes, definitely this year the weather has been nice and hotter than usual. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast in the morning made by the artist of breakfast Regis who is always nice with all of our guests.
Due to the swimming pool, the open area, the garden and the playground for children, Salvadonica is a perfect place for families and we usually have many couples with children in summer time. We kindly ask our guests to respect some hours of silence in the early afternoon and this is very highly
appreciate for whom wish to relax at the pool.
Ceiling fans are in all rooms (either bedrooms or living rooms), other fans are available and we were happy to give the one that we left in the reception.
All of our apartments are well furnished but we do not leave food in there. Extra Virgin olive oil and wine (our local production) are sold here and a supermarket, with a very good staff of grocery or veggies is open all day long at the nearest village of Sancasciano. Anyway dish soap is provided by us.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon.

Beatrice & Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Salvadonica is a beautiful property with fantastic views over Tuscany hillsides. We stayed there for five days in July. The owners and the staff are really friendly and helpful and make you feel like home. They recommended local restaurants to have dinner and were willing to accomodate everything we wished. The rooms and the facilities provided are excellent. The rooms were really clean and the breakfast buffet suits all tastes. The outdoor facilities are fantastic, beautiful gardens with flowers and olive trees, many places to sit and read, walk, have a drink, rest and relax. The property has an outdoor pool surrounded by grass, trees and flowers with a fantastic view over vineyards and olive groves. The property is located in the heart of Tuscany and is a really good base to visit Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and other Tuscany attractions. Florence is just 30min drive from Salvadonica. I would highly recommend Salvadonica!! I hope that I will have the opportunity to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica1990, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Kalimèra Dear Reviewer,
What a nice comment, thank you. That gives us the right boost to keep on doing the maximum for our Guests every day !
We hope to see you again, too !
Please, say hi to your Friends as well.
Francesca, Beatrice
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Salvadonica is a beautiful old property that has been stylishly renovated to provide all the facilities you would normally expect. Located in stunning scenery with fantastic views over peaceful hillsides with vineyards and olive groves, it is still very convenient for access to Florence (about 20 mins by road). There is a pool and tennis court on the property, and many other activities available nearby that can be organised by the hotel if you wish (like cooking classes, or horse riding for example). If you are space or weight limited on your luggage then they can provide tennis rackets and balls, and towels for the swimming pool at a modest charge. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the breakfast buffet has a wide choice to suit all tastes. The owners and staff are charming and friendly, and will organise any bookings for museums and restaurants etc that you need. They have a list of recommended local places to eat and we can say that every one we visited was excellent and some were truly amazing. We came here 21 years ago on honeymoon and went back this year, this time with our kids. Many things change in 21 years but Salvadonica and it's beautiful location and charming welcome remain the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Owner at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Family,
Truly thank you for your kind words which obviously pleased us a lot. We always try to keep up to our Guests needs and requests and hope we are doing it OK.
Do not wait another 21 years before you come to see us again, please!!!
Grazie by
Francesca & Beatrice
and the Working Team of Salvadonica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Salvadonica for 4 days in August, along with 2 pre-teens and an elderly father. I had no experience of Agriturismos and just chose this place due to its proximity to Florence. We had just completed a mediterranean cruise and used a transfer service to get us from Rome port to Salvadonica. When we arrived, one of our rooms wasn't ready but they ladies at Salvadonica couldn't have been more accommodating - getting us all some light snacks, bruschetti and cold drinks and making us feel welcome rather than harassed. By the time we gave the place a once-over, the room was ready.

The grounds there are lovely - straight out of a postcard - and everyone was very kind and helpful. Breakfast and lunch were great too. There are several areas on the grounds to sit and read, have lunch or just walk through and the pool area is very relaxing, even with kids! We befriended some guests whose kids made friends with ours and although we had intended to use this place as a base to visit Pisa, Sienna and Florence, we were all having such a good time that we spent the entire 4 days at Salvadonica, apart from venturing out for dinner in villages close by.

You will need a car for sure. With this regards, we thought we were going to be stuck as there were no car rental places open at Rome port on the sunday we arrived so we had to use a transfer service. The closest brand-name car rental company would be in Florence itself, but with the kids and grand-dad, we were in no mood to go into the city with our luggage etc. The ladies on the desk kindly called a local chap who let us rent a small car for the 4 days that we were there which we used to go to the market and out for dinners. He even delivered the car to us at Salvadonica!

The only downside was the summer's heat (which is not their fault) and the discomfort at night as the rooms are not airconditioned. There are ceiling fans which helped a bit.

All in all, this is a real gem of a place and would definitely stay here again (can't wait!). We have spent 4 weeks now traveling overland from Rome to the Dordoyne. Salvadonica has been our collective favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Owner at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Family,
we loved your friendly company and truly miss chatting with you in the morning! You are a really nice Family! Thank you for your precious visit and for all the presents you gave us!
We hope to see you soon,
Francesca, Beatrice
and Salvadonica Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Located in the heart of Chianti wine region this place is located on a property growing grapes and making wine. The views are stunning, the property is really well maintained with lots of flowers, beautiful gardens, great pool. The owners are very much on hand to look after guests. Our room was spotless but hot in July with no air conditioning but the owners found us a fan which helped. This property is ten minutes drive from the main village with restaurants etc - we tried to get a taxi the first night and we were told there was a wedding on and couldn't get a taxi to a restaurant so if you are wanting to both have a drink of wine with your meal and get a taxi home suss out the transport when you arrive. The owners that night organised a pizza to be delivered for us which was fine. We were staying as a couple on a romantic break away from the kids and had a really noisy family next door to us with kids crying so be aware that this is a family resort.

Room Tip: We should have asked for a room on the ground floor at time of booking which is cooler in July.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica1990, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you, Dear Guest for your nice words ! We are very happy to know you spent a nice hiliday with us. Speaking about the range of people visiting us... well, they are of all sorts: from businessmen to older couples, passing through hooneymooners to huge families with children of all ages, and then we have Guests with nice and well behaved pets and some come here to look for a new house in Tuscany... every week a new surprise! So far, we have met so many interesting people and seen so many children who came back after years with their first boyfriend/girlfriend: no words to describe the happiness we feel !!!
Maybe one day, you too, you will come back with your enlarged Family and we will be here, open arms!!!
Ciao,
Francesca, Beatrice
and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We thought that these places are only existing in postcards, but actually it is real and more beautiful than we ever dreamt of. Stylish, old fashioned country house which lies in the middle of Chianti wine plants and olive trees...like a small village. The staff is very nice and helpful, the rooms fit perfectly to the scenery, I must say that the beds are exqusite and they have tremendous breakfast. And when you sit in the garden after driving through the Chianti region or you just had a wast city tour of Florence or Siena, and you are watching the sunset while sipping some local wine you will feel that time stops for a moment.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.