We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Salvadonica...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti to your Saves list
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brigadoon, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful Salvadonica...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

This was the third time we have visited Salvadonica - we also stayed there in 1993 (It first opened in 1990) and also in 1996. We discovered this beautiful place in the Karen Brown guidebooks. The setting is lovely, picture-postcard Tuscany, with their own vineyard and olive trees. It is close enough to Florence to go there by local bus and avoid the nightmare of driving into the city. It is a good base for exloring the Chianti region. We probably would not stay there again, however, as we now prefer to stay in cities, so we can easily walk out to dinner at night, and to see the sights. Bear in mind that if you stay in Salvadonica you will have to drive out to the local restaurants for dinner, or cook in your apartment if you have one with a kitchenette. There is a good CoOp in Mercatale and lots of restaurants in the area, and the staff at Salvadonica are helpful with dining suggestions. If you can, visit Ristoro di Lamole (in Lamole near Greve) as it is wonderful. For lunch not dinner, the access road is narrow and winding and would be tricky at night.
This time our room at Salvadonica was on the second floor, up about 16 steps, and the hall light switches are on timers. (One of our travelling companions twisted his ankle in the gloom, as the steps to their downstairs room were tricky). Bedroom was a good size, the bathroom was very small. Usual toiletries. Kitchenette very limited, two burner hotplate, no oven, dishwasher or microwave. No A/C, but oil heaters in the bedroom and bathroom - controlled by the proprietors. No insect screens on windows, and there were flies, as it is an agriturismo. Firm bed, one flat hard pillow each. No TV in room, only in the salon near reception . Wine and olive oil from Salvadonica for sale, and snacks available till 4pm. A good breakfast buffet, with a variety of offerings and one hot dish. Coffee mediocre, cappuchino an extra 2.50 euros.
The location is quiet, not all of our fellow guests were unfortunately, which can of course happen anywhere. This is a lovely place to stay if you want the agriturismo experience rather than staying in a town.

  • Liked — The views from Salvadonica are lovely
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    49
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
88
143
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

I apologize to everyone for being so late to review SALVADONICA. In 1999, I brought my wife to Salvadonica for 4 days.

I loved SALVADONICA so much that in 2003 I also brought my SECOND WIFE here!!! Beatrice and Franchesca were fabulous and it was the highlight of our trip to Tuscany.

The property was spectacular with its pool up on a ridge overlooking the hillside of olive groves and vineyards of the property. Our room had a charming view. It is only 3 miles from the main highway in San Casciano and only 15 miles from Florence. This provided us with the beauty and charm of Chianti and the ability to head to Florence or to all of the hilltop towns.

To this day, I go onto Google Earth, pinpoint Salvadonica, and just daydream about the next time I can go there.

Marshall in California

  • Liked — Hillside and Farmhouse beauty, Charming, relatively near roads
  • Disliked — the fact that I had to leave
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Salvadonica is beautiful and the sisters who run it are so friendly and helpful. The room was huge. Large bed and bath in master, small kitchen, dining room and pullout bed for the kids. Amazing views of the vineyards and hills from every window. They have bocci, tennis, a swimming pool and even a little golf right on the property but we just enjoyed walking around the paths through the vineyards and hills. The food was fabulous. Best bruchetta in Italy hands down! It is a working vineyard and we tasted wine and olive oil and jams they make right there. This is a great spot for families - plenty of room, plenty of places to play but also privacy for mom and dad and, especially if you book one of the rooms with a balcony or terrace- a little romantic too. Also would be wonderful for couples or honeymooners. It is in the heart of Tuscany with all its charm. There are 2 small villages nearby. Both a a drive though. This is the spot for a relaxing, quality time with loved ones. We will defineilty return. We loved it!

  • Liked — It's beautiful location and the amount of room we had.
  • Disliked — Very slow internet access but they do have it onsite
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This is a simple, but SIMPLY LOVELY agro tourist lodging of exceptional standard. The sisters who manage their establishment have impeccable taste and keep this property in perfect, gorgeous condition. All rooms have in-room cooking facilities. It is ideally situated on a dreamy knoll overlooking the vineyards and rolling Tuscan countryside. A true gem with pool, walks and peace of the countryside. 30 minutes by car to Florence and neighboring Tuscanhy, Greve, Pansano, Siena, etc.

  • Liked — Everything, setting is spectacular
  • Disliked — mosquitoes but they are everywhere in and around Florence
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kifissia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We are a family of four and we stayed in one of the smaller suites, but it was perfect. We had a kitchen, but didn't use it as there are plenty of reasonable restaurants nearby - and Florence is less than 30 minutes away. Location is perfect for visiting the usual tourist "traps" - from Pisa to Sienna. My kids loved it too (11 and 14). We bought a case of Salvadonica Chianti and regret it - we should have bought at least another two. Friendly staff, great breakfast. Peaceful. You need a car!

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Distance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed for 1 week. As in the other reviews before this one, the location is absolutely beautiful and the staff go out of their way to be helpful.

Breakfast is adequate and lunch is outstanding.

Easily drivable to Florence/Siena/Pisa.

On the downside, Salvadonica is very quiet and isolated. We were a young couple and found this a bit frustrating at times.

For example, in the evenings on returning from dinner, the place was always deserted, of both staff and guests. This seemed to be the norm right through our week stay. Also, during the daytime, you'd rarely see other guests around. Because you're in the middle of nowhere, you tend to miss this interaction.

To summarise, young couples be aware that this place is an early to bed, read all day kind of place, devoid of any social interaction/activity.

  • Liked — Lunch!!
  • Disliked — Too quiet - too isolated
  • Tips/Secrets — Would think more appropriate for the mature traveller
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,Az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Salvadonica 5 nights during mid April and had a wonderful experience. The owners were friendly and very helpful. Their dining recommendations sent us to several quaint restaurants that served excellent food. The countryside was beautiful and the facility itself was very clean and the room was comfortable. The location is a very good jump point to enjoy the region. We weren't disappointed with any aspect of the stay
If we have the opportunity to visit the area again, we would
definitely stay here.

  • Liked — Countryside, location , staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Travelslightly off season and beware of EUropean holiday weekends
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.