We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Save Saved
You added Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at Salvadonica for 5 days this May. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful, exactly what you would imagine of Tuscany. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. There was breakfast prepared every morning with a variety of foods to satisfy virtually any international traveler. Some of the afternoons they would provide a snack with wine in the common areas. They produce wines and olive oils there on the grounds and they are not only very good but also available in the gift shop!
We stayed in the main house on the second floor, which I would recommend. I would not want to stay on the ground floor because I would think that it would be more noisy with everyones comings and goings.
The location was great for our traveling all throughout the Tuscan region. When we would arrive back at Salvadonica in the late afternoons, exhausted, after our day trips throughout Tuscany the staff was always more than happy to fix us a cured meat, cheese, and bruschetta plate! All we had to do was ask. We could not have picked a better place to spend our time in Tuscany.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the main house choose the second or third floor b/c of the noise that might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    44
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very convenient location to visit Chianti region-Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, Montereginno,Pisa
Helpful staff
Good restaurants around
Landscape from Salvadonnica is breathtaking

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent 4 nights in May. We were a little unlucky because for 2 of the 4 days it was raining. So we could not enjoy the outdoor space of the hotel as much as we would like.
The positives are that the hotel is placed in a good place if you want to get around the Chianti as well as the cities of Siena, Florence etc. The scenery that is placed is magic and peaceful. All the outdoor places are very well tended.
The negatives are that the 2 days that it was raining the room had humidity but there was no heat so we could not feel comfortable in it. The breakfast was less than expected and for this price and the worse is that all the mornings was something missing and we had to ask again and again (one day the omelet was finished, the other the fruits etc).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your report about Salvadonica. One of the strengths about our property is the location. In fact Salvadonica is located in one of the nicest part of the region and it is easy to drive to all major points of interest.

Regarding your negative point of view we are sorry that unfortunately the weather was not good at the end of May but it was really not our fault.

About breakfast we are also sorry that you could not find all staff on the buffet but as you had breakfast rather late after the time scheduled we prepared extra food just for you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Super friendly and helpful staff.
The grounds are breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

High quality and convinient accomodation in the heart of Tuscany, great location close to everythin you must see, very kind and helpful owners and staff. Breathtaking views on Tuscan landscape. We and our boys fell in love with that place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are also very pleased to know that your children enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a future occasion.

Best regard,

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Awesome staff, super clean rooms, breakfast spread was the best of our trip. If you want to be treated like a king and queen, this is the place. Staff was so helpful giving directions. Beautiful property in Chianti....views from room were so memorable. And if you are a dog lover, their dog is one of a kind. You won't regret staying at Salvadonica!

Room Tip: We had an apartment...it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all also many thanks from Scheggia (the dog) which is really very proud about the nice words you spent for her. Actually we are also very proud about what you think about your stay with us! Many many thanks, we really hope to see you soon. The staff and the Scheggia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Calling this an Agriturismo may make it sound a little agricultural but think French grand maison , with vineyard, olive grove and superb swimming pool and viewing areas. The welcome and service is good at all levels. At the start of the day is a breakfast buffet while at lunch time one can have a bruschetta or other light dish. In the evening there are several good restaurants nearby. In fact these restaurants add to the reasons to go back.
All the Tuscan places that you want to visit are nearby, especially Florence and Siena. My only slight negative would be that there is not a bus to either of these cities within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. Yes, the restaurants in the area offer a very good variety of typical tuscan food and this is one of the best reasons to come back.
Having car to discover the country region is the best way to see all major towns but to whom that do not have a car the nearest bus stop is at about 10 minutes walking distance.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.