We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smile every time I think about it.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica to your Saves list
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Gainesville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smile every time I think about it.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 6 nights with a tour group and loved this old but well maintained countryside villa. Didn't know what to expect since this was our first trip to Italy but we were pleasantly surprised at how well this 600? year old villa was kept up. We loved the authentic, comfortable experience. Each room is unique and go there understanding that. The views are awesome and the property enchanting. Loved the gatti that frequented the grounds! The property, staff, food and accommodations were excellent. Not a 5 star, fussy experience but very charming and memorable in a good way. Offering positive criticism, it would be nice if the honor bar prices were a bit more reasonable. :-) Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a "family room", very large with a kitchen, but a bit on the dark side. Loved it bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    117
    23
    18
    6
See reviews for
108
314
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

It's not a 5 star hotel. Absolutely. Though it costs like one. But it's a marvelous place. Not many hotels nowadays bring us this miracle of time-travel, keeping us together with the essentials of modern civilization, like warm WC located preferably in our own chamber, and not in the corridor or outdoors.
Villa il Poggiale, the moment you cross the gateline, after you've parked your car to melt on hot Mediterranean sun under olive trees, hugs you and takes directly... almost directly to the year 1902: the time, when Mediterranean leisure traveling was the only option in the world.
It keeps this unrepeatable scent of history, its charm (together with some strong smell of a very old building, but it's OK if you can stand it), its furniture, its rules, its food.
It's better if you have a car, then you can travel around the wonderful valley Vall-di-Peza. You can go to San Casiano, to Lucca, to Sienna...
You shall get all the basic facilities modern people need here, but please don't look for the wifi, I think it has joined efforts with local ghosts and keeps wandering around the building, hiding from guests (excuse me for this strange comparison). The signal is strong only near the reception. You shall get wonderful home food. A bar in the reading hall with no barmen - you pour yourself, you pay yourself. Pure trust. Swimming pool is not to big, but it's the right size to swim with your children, having a cocktail and watching the olive and grape fields that are stretched along the whole horizon.
The stay shall be expensive. The food shall be expensive. Maybe more, than you can expect for that kind of service. But it's not the service, that you are paying for. It's the time travel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your review.
You have used the right words, we are not 5 starts hotel but still a private home with good services of hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed our villa and the atmosphere of the house.
We hope to welcome you again and make your stay more enjoyable so that you can reconize us the maximum score.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

When I found this hotel I thought we would have a comfortable and pleasant stay at Tuscany...but we did not find what we expected. We were given a room at the ground floor with a door outside of the hotel, there was also a route from the patio but I don't want to even mention the route we had to take. We went off-season, in October, the rooms were chiily but they told us they do not open heating until November. It was way too expensive for the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The view of the hills & valleys spotted with olive trees and vineyards was gorgeous. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding and plentiful. I particularly liked my room on the 2nd floor with a view of the entrance courtyard. The decorating was period oriented and the rooms were large. This villa is totally restored and situated close to Florence. There is a swimming pool and patio dining. Our 6 night stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We really appreciated your message and we thank you to have been our guests.
All the warmest wishes from all of us.
Villa il poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful. It was relaxing and there was a beautiful view. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to the price, but I heard other visitors say it was delicious. However, we did book a cooking class at the hotel and it was excellent. Anna was very informative and enjoyed her company. Thank you for the wonderful memories of a lifetime!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
Anna enjoyed the cooking class with you too!
Hope to see you again and thank you from all of us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Splendid estate, magnificent view, warm kindness of the personnel.
Food... too good, you risk to eat too much as I did!
And don't forget to take a romantic picture from entrance loggia dominating the Val di Pesa....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your nice words.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
Please come again and we will grant you the same special hospitality.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon again in Tuscany.
Our warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

From the moment we stepped through the ancient gates of this beautiful property, until the moment we drove away, it was a perfect experience. This 600 year old villa is lovingly restored in a way that preserves the rich character and history of the property. Our room was spotless and expertly maintained during our twelve day stay. Breakfast was an elaborate and delicious affair and never the same from one day to the next. Dinner in the villa's restaurant was expertly prepared and gracefully served.The view from our room was like something from a painting and we never tired of gazing out on olive groves, vineyards and distant hillside villages. But most importantly was the lovely and gracious staff. From the warm greeting upon our arrival,to the daily conversations with staff, to the helpful and thoughtful recommendations and arrangements for dinner in the nearby town, to assistance with plotting out itineraries for our daily forays - every request was met with a friendly smile and professional response. Our only regret is that our time at Villa Poggiale came to a close and we had to leave. The experience, the setting and the staff will remain with us and assume a special place in our hearts. We recommend Villa Poggiale unconditionally. Our deepest and warmest thanks. Tim and Ed

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

A huge thank you to someone whom we shall not forget…

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.