We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Save Saved
You added Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Paradera, Aruba
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a wonderful place to eat, relax & sleep In between sight seeing the hills of Tuscany. Food was 5 star each night. Was nice not having to worry about where you were going to eat for breakfast & dinner. Great service. The grounds of the villa were breath taking and picture perfect for sunsets. Close to highways for getting around to visit quant villages. Simply lovely. Didn't get to enjoy the spa. But if we had had a rainy day, the spa would have been a great treat.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    110
    21
    16
    6
See reviews for
101
297
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I truly recommend stopping by San Casciano and staying in this hotel. The villa and property are mesmerizing and unforgettable, particularly during sunset. The pool is beautiful and breakfast was good. The room and villa are not furnished in a modern way but either way it is a treasure. I had wifi in the bedroom and no problem skyping which was useful. Amazing experience, definitely a hotel to experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were married at Villa il Poggiale in 2009 (which was absolutely beautiful and very memorable) and returned this year for our anniversary.
The Villa was just as lovely as we remembered it. The renaissance loggia, outdoor seating, and swimming pool all add to the ambiance and relaxed feeling of this historic Tuscan home. Il Poggiale is well appointed and clean with elegant (neo-classical not minimalist modern) rooms that are relaxed rather than fussy. It has wonderful sitting areas on every floor, and a grand sala on the ground floor with a courtesy bar.
They have recently paved the dining terrace and added a striped marquee which makes the outdoor dining area more versatile. (I would say the only negative comment is that the road has become much busier than before, with added road noise, and the dinner menu/cuisine is not as good as it was. The breakfast is still fantastic though.)
The staff and hospitality were, as always, wonderful. They made sure our anniversary stay was perfect. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building are quieter, and the corner suites are large and sunny with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hotel this last July. The staff was really great and the room that we stayed was awesome. We had a two bedrooms suit with kitchen and living room, the room was located around 100m from the Hotel building. Very nice country side and amazing view from our bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Heartily recommended for those who want to step back in time (as the rooms, service and facilities are stuck in the 1970s)

The complete absence of wifi in the 'hotel' (and 3G) is a big problem for all, especially those wanting to plan trips in the region (which you'll want to do as staying in the hotel itself is less than ideal)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one week in August for our daughter's wedding which took place on the front lawn, a fairytale setting. The location, views, hospitality of all of the staff, food and ambience were second to none. The whole experience was magical and the setting for the wedding just before sunset was incredible. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a corner room by the road which was busy but not a problem to us. Suggest you could request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear special guests,

Anytime that a guest leaves the villa with a contented heart and wishing to come back we realize how much we like our job .
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in this corner of Tuscany that you seem to love and we’ll never stop to do our best to make your stay as pleasant for you as it is for us.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Il Poggiale for three nights on our recent visit to Tuscany. The location of the hotel is excellent for visiting both Florence and Siena and all the other beautiful smaller towns in Tuscany. Our room was spacious with a view down the garden from the front of the house. We enjoyed relaxing by the swimming pool every morning after a tasty and varied buffet breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the countryside. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful few days in the Tuscan countryside.

Room Tip: We had no problem with our room at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sirs,

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards

Villa Il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.