We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica to your Saves list
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best stay of trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I just finished a tour of the big three areas of Italy and our stay at Villa il Poggiale was easily the best of the trip! Just driving through the front gate is enough to 'wow' you but once you meet the staff it gets even better. We found them to be friendly and very helpful. We were given a tour of the Villa, definitely necessary, and our guide told us that the staff was more like family than co-workers. They helped us find free parking in Florence, let us use their computers to print out vital travel paperwork, and just made us feel very welcome. The only downside was that we could not spend more time in Tuscany with them. I have already recommended the Villa to friends planning their honeymoon and will make Villa il Poggiale the focus of my next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will go out of their way to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear special guests,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    124
    24
    18
    6
See reviews for
113
327
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

VIP is a wonderful place. A 14th century villa situated amidst grape vineyards and olive plantations with a wonderful view of the Pesa valley - it is a Tuscan heaven.
A 30 minutes ride from Florence aboard the SITA bus, it isn't very far from civilization. The town itself has a pretty decent market place where you get almost everything. Location-wise, it is a great place to set base to explore Florence, Sienna and the other regions of Chianti and Toscana.
The villa is a wonderful structure with great ceilings and painting adorned walls. The rooms are lavishly decorated with very comfortable settings. Oh yes, you have a nice jacuzzi and sauna you can use after a tiring day out in Florence.
Our 3 night stay was made all the more wonderful because of the hospitality of the villa staff. Special mention for Daniele here who was of great help. The staff doesnt hesitate in going out of the way to make your stay special. Another person who should be mentioned is Cyril who makes wonderful breakfasts and Srilankan pollo.
I would definitely like to visit the place again, perhaps for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask Daniele to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,

So grateful for your appreciation, makes our efforts worthwhile.
Looking forward to welcoming here again, we send you our best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice place: comfortable, clean, close to the Chianti region and to Firenze.
The staff is very kind, their suggestions good and useful.
Excellent breakfast, no noise, relaxing and high level location.
Great experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed thsi Tuscan corner.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!
I really hope you can stay with us again soon!

Kindly,

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here with another couple in March/April 2012. It was fantastic and breathtaking. The location is great to go visit Florence or go through the Chianti region. We used it as our homebase. One night we went to San Casciano, a 2 minute drive, for dinner in a local place. As we were going to drink a lot of wine, we got a ride there from the hotel and had a cab take us back. Twice we brought wine, cheese, meats and fruit back with us from Florence and ate at the hotel. The "Great Room" is fantastic. Breakfast's are great. I can't have enough nice things to say about this little piece of heaven in the middle of Tuscany.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments on our villa and our service.
Customer satisfaction is our strength!!
It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Villa il Poggiale and we really hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. What a lovely spot, with great views, places to walk, and good breakfasts.
We had a room on the outside, with a small kitchenette, which was an added bonus!
My only regret is not having enough time to just relax and enjoy the surroundings more!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comment.
Come back soon so you can see better also the area of Chianti and we will be happy to give you all the advice you will need.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We arrived on New Year's Day and were grateful for the assistance we were given to find somewhere for lunch as many places were closed due to it being a public holiday. The place they booked for us was fantastic - we never would have found it on our own.
The breakfast was great - lots of variety and everything was fresh. The rooms were spacious and the view was beautiful.
I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in summer.
Mostly importantly though, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Customers,

Your words make us very happy and satisfied.
It has been a pleasure to spend a few days in your company and we really hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We pleasantly stayed 4 days in this beautiful old villa in Tuscany. The villa is of great architectural interest, located in an enchanting region, close to Florence and not far from Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggioni and Chianti road. The staff were very courteous and fully collaborative. The park is very nice and in summer should be really nice. The breakfast takes place in a nice room and the food is varied and tasty. A further reason for staying in this lovely Villa is that dogs are allowed and well accepted.

Room Tip: double room facing garden to the olive grove and pool inglese spagnolo doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.