We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL CHOICE FOR A VILLA OUTSIDE OF FLORENCE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica to your Saves list
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL CHOICE FOR A VILLA OUTSIDE OF FLORENCE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just returned from our 5th stay at Villa Il Poggiale and cannot wait to make it six!!!!
The staff could not be more cooperative and helpful!!! We were even assisted in arranging
for an olive picking excursion!The location is exceptional and the views are outstanding.
Breakfasts are very good while buffet dinners are exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Special guests,

We are pleased that you enjoyed again your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon!
All of us appreciated your words kindness and generosity; this is what makes our work worthwhile.
A warm greeting from all the staff!!
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    117
    23
    18
    6
See reviews for
107
312
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boca raton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our stay was at the end of Oct. into early Nov. The weather was not great every day, which made us appreciate the Villa even more. Our room was very large containing a loveseat, chairs, coffee
table in addition to the standard furniture, so it was very comfortable. The public rooms, many,
were filled with seating space plus lovely music and flowers. The views and the Villa itself created a wonderful atmosphere. Tea and pastries in the afternoon,
plus early evening tidbits and an honor bar in addition a very nice breakfast served to make this
lovely property the greatest bargain at 145 eu per night. Monica and staff were gracious and accommodating without being intrusive. Will definitely stay again and recommend. Stu and Carol

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at Villa il Poggiale!!!
You have been so nice with us and guests like you makes our job more beautiful and more easy every day.

All the staff will be very happy to have you here again!
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read all the previous reviews of Villa Il Poggiale, and going by the price of a stay there, I was expecting a wonderful and relaxing time in Tuscany. However, after 5 days at La Fonte (a separate appartment) at Villa Il Poggiale, although I cannot fault the location of the hotel or the wonderful buildings and views, we were let down at every turn by the staff.

On arrival at La Fonte, we were left to our own devices. We were not shown how to use the heating (to get it to work, my husband had to taken the thermostat apart and replace the corroded batteries with new ones), there was no facility to light the gas stove (the 'spark' was not working) and we were short of glasses for the number of people in the accommodation. In addition one of the towels did not appear to have been washed (a disgusting deposit which we were too embarrassed to mention) and on one day, the bins were emptied but left in a bag in the middle of the kitchen for us to discover when returning from a day trip.

La Fonte is approx 100m from the main building and has no communication facility with the main hotel apart from email or using a mobile (expensive when you are on holiday and using a foreign network). Email communication would have been ok - except for the fact that there was no internet service for the majority of our stay. The hotel did try to fix the situation, but could not tell us when it would be working, due to the fact that they could not get in touch with us at La Fonte and didn't bother to send anyone to let us know the situation.

On 2 mornings of our stay there was no table for us to sit at for breakfast, and on one occasion we had to wait for half an hour to be able to be seated. At this point, we were insulted by the staff and told we had only waited 15 minutes - not the way to treat a customer in my opinion. I suggested that the bigger dining room was used the following morning (normally kept for dinner) to cope with the number of guests having breakfast - surely something that the management could have thought of themselves.

The hotel is in a great location - for visiting nearby sights - and has wonderful views. However, our stay there was far from relaxing due to the constant frustrations we encountered and the disinterest of the staff and management in dealing with any problems or ensuring our comfort.

If you don't mind insults, frustrations and sullen faces from the staff, please go and stay here. However, I am sure that there are many other Tuscan hotels that don't just rely on a historic house and beautiful views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sirs,

There are many good reasons for apologizing to you for the many misadventures, faults and inconvenients which unfortunately took place during your stay.
Some of them (like the lack of internet line in the whole area) were not our fault, and also a crowded breakfast on the first 2 days was not as bad as you report, but when something starts to get bad everything seems worst than it is.
I'm sure the staff did not mean to appear rude and everybody is absolutely desolated by your troubled stay.

It was very difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much

We are all deeply sorry for your disconfort, also because we usually see all the guests leaving wth regret from a place known for its charme and welcoming atmosphere.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One of the most magical places. We love the castello and love the views. The staff is wonderful. Very close to really discovering Val de Pesa. Close enough to Firenze to go and shop then be back to peace and quiet. Our favorite thing was to go to the local store, buy local goods and wine and sit on our patio and have a wonderful Tuscan light dinner. Would recommend for anyone! Can't wait to get back and visit!

Room Tip: big room #5 with one bedroom and living with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Special guests,

First of all thank you for choosing and spent some of your time in our Villa, and then, thanks to these sweet words that make our beautiful work, and then we hope to have our guests again in the next future!
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful. Our family of 4 stayed at the Fonte (The Country Dependence) for 3 weeks, it was a special and fun time.

Villa il Poggiale is ideally located away from the hustle and bustle of Firenze yet very close (10-15 min on the road). The service was super-friendly, the manager Monica and her staff (Irene, Daniele and Giovanni) were extremely helpful and knowledgeable of Chianti, and of Toscana as whole - they were able to advise us on travel tips, parking restaurants etc.

The overall location of the villa and our apartment (80 meters down a quaint rocky road) are idyllic. Highly recommend coming here if you want to taste Toscana and have some quite and amazing time.

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time your requirements and preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Special guests,

Your great praeses of satisfation about your stay at Villa il poggiale bring us to include you both (and your family) as part of our own family.
We are so happy when we feel that our guests have really enjoied vp and that our efforts were successful.
A big thank you from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very nice villa situated at the outskirt of San Cresciano in val di pesa at the tuscan province of Florence.
The hotel is a restorated villa of florentine nobelty.
It is charming with great view and quiet ambience but it lacks an elevator. I had to climb many stairs in order to reach the main hall.
The staff is extraordinary- polite, explaining and helping.
The cars parking is out side the villa's ground.
There were problems with the computer server, so no WiFi , no house internet and no receipt for the payment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the via empolese are not quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
We apologize if the internet connection wasn't excellent during your stay, but a strong lightning had paralyzed the whole area of Chianti allowing us to provide some of our services such as WI_FI.
We really hope to welcome you again during the next future.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nes Ziona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have reached here by chance and we didn't want to leave.
The place is amazing, the view, the room everything...

I recommend coming here if you want to taste Toscana and have some quite and amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear special guests,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at the villa and we hope you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the atmosphere of this corner of Tuscany.
We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.