We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Save Saved
You added Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa il Poggiale for two nights two years ago and liked it so much that we said we would return, which we did last week with our two children, aged 5 and 6. And this time we stayed for a week. The Villa is just as lovely as we remembered it: set in the beautiful Tuscan hills it has the perfect balance of feeling that you are somewhere very special but relaxed and not at all stuffy. The staff are warm, welcoming and so helpful. We stayed in the apartment, La Fonte, which has it's own kitchen and sitting room. This was a perfect space for us and the children and meant that we could prepare our own breakfast and lunch and then go out for dinner in the evening. Villa il Poggiale is perfectly situated for exploring the region and close enough to Florence that we could go there just for dinner when it was too hot to be there during the day.
I would happily recommend Villa il Poggiale to my friends, whatever their age, with or without children. It is a place for everyone.

Room Tip: The apartment, La Fonte, is good for families. It has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sirs,

It has been a pleausure to have you here as our guests and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Dependance "La Fonte".
We all felt really great when we read all the compliments about the staff because it’s what we’re trying to achieve and we are glad you felt the welcoming environment given to our guests during your holiday in Chianti.
With our best wishes and thanks from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    104
    19
    16
    5
See reviews for
98
282
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

In August 2012 we stayed for the 3rd time at Villa il Poggiale and again It was a marvellous experience. This time we came with our children and grandchildren. The rooms are very comfy, the food is excellent, the personnel is very friendly and the surroundings are beautiful.
Florence and Siena are only a few kilometers away. Il Poggiale means the top of the hill, and that is exactly what it is, the top!

Room Tip: Visitors can choose rooms in different sizes and rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thanks as always I can not find the words to thank your wonderful words that fill our work with joy and make us better every day to provide better service.
Thanks again and I hope to see you soon for your 4th time at Villa il Poggiale.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had firstly visited Villa il Poggiale during a two week visit to Italy for my wifes 60th birthday in 2010 when we stayed for a week between 4 days in Venice and 3 in Rome. We had a wonderful time in a fabulous Junior Suite and with the use of a hire car arranged with Hertz in Florence explored the Region. We had thought that we would eat out more than we did but this was due to wonderful and varied evening meal buffet laid on at by Villa il Poggiale.
In all it exceeded our expectation
This time we were accompanied by our Son our Daughter in Law and our two year old granddaughter. They were amazed likewise by the villa and location but had been a little nervous on arrival re them having a young child. The staff however where suberb and would prepare a special simple meal for Sophie at 7pm if required. However after the first day she accompanied us to the meal and a high chair was provided. The pool facility also was usuable as a very shallow end on entry.
All in all just as good as before with the staff seeing to your every wish as soon as asked was done. Food excellant and varied, breakfast set you up for the day.

One suggestion however a hire car is cheaper than hiring taxis should you need to venture out.

Room Tip: All rooms very well appointed with antique furniture all rooms we were allocated superb. Maybe you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear beautiful family,

It has been a pleasure to welcome you.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
A warm hug to small and sweet Sophie!
We really hope to welcome you again in the next future.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a junior suite and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel - a wonderful villa, converted to a hotel with a light touch, so it has a really authentic feel. Wonderful art, furniture and lighting in some very grand rooms. Situated in beautiful grounds with simply stunning views across a valley. The honesty bar is a nice touch, with chianti by the glass and home-made snacks on offer. There is a great terrace to sit at and watch the sunset with a bicchiero or two. Breakfast was good, with a range of home-baked breads with jams, juice, cakes, cheese and ham on offer. My four-year-old said 'this is the best breakfast EVER.' We didn't try the evening buffet - other guests had commented that 30 Euro each was steep and the food good rather than amazing.

The pool is great, with lovely views, plenty of shade on offer and enough seating. Child-friendly. The service was friendly and welcoming - we were given a bottle of chilled Prosecco on arrival which was tough to endure obviously, and all our requests were dealt with promptly. Our bedding was not changed until we requested it though, which was odd in an expensive villa (we paid Euro 260 per night).

Our room was beautiful, with antique furniture and a real sense of history, facing the courtyard so no view but cool. A/C, fridge and flat panel TV. It did smell musty though and the bathroom was pretty tired and in need of a facelift. Other guests seemed very happy with their rooms though - perhaps the upper floors are better.

Room Tip: Room 3 (junior suite) is large and attractive but a little musty and the bathroom is tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sirs,

It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for two weeks with our young children and never wanted to leave! The very definition of a holiday..... great service, great food and phenomenal staff. A great place to relax and unwind and yet only 20 minutes from the centre of Florence. The accommodation is generous but the home cooked food using fresh local produce was truly wonderful and the service excellent and friendly. In the words of Arnie... " We'll be back".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
......It was a pleasure to read your review which is full of warmth and good memories of your stay with us....
Me and my wonderful staff put all our energy, goodwill, dedication to make our guests feel relaxed like at home...We are so happy that you enjoyed our welcome!

Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale!!

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Many thanks for Villa il Poggiale for the smiles of my guests, wonderfull and romantic atmosphere I have ever felt. The staff, the rooms, the food- all were excellent! The stuff is very helpfull and kind! Special thanks for Daniele!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Special Family....

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale!
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a must visit Villa convienent to the wonders of Firenze. Owners, Daniela and Tinto, go out of their way to accomodate their guests and make their stay unforgettable. The views of Tuscany region are breathtaking and the food prepared by the staff is not to be missed, especially the rissotto. Rooms and grounds are spotless. Truely the place to visit !

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully and tastefully appointed. Our suit had a lovely sitting room attached as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.