We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great feel - wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria del Pesce

La Trattoria del Pesce
Via Cassia per Siena, 124 | Bargino, 50100 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
0558249045
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $93
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great feel - wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A real gem. We like seafood and we were not disappointed. Everyone we interacted with had a warm, generous feel to them. When I asked what the various fish were caleld in English, the invited me to come and look at the display. They then called out the chef who got a cool book out and we chatted and looked up the various names. Everyone seemed to genuinely like people and care about the experience. There was no flamboyance, just a real feeling of good intent. I can't remember a place that had such a good vibe. In addition, the food was great. Fresh, tasty, artfully cooked and presented. A great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    78
    27
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, comfortable spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I dined at La Trattoria del Pesce on our last day in Italy at the end of a three week trip that included an 11 day cruise. We had eaten some pretty good food during our trip. However, the food at this Trattoria was outstanding. I enjoyed a seafood risotto to start with grilled Brazino as the main course. My wife had a simple salad to begin and pasta with shrimp as her second course. We shared a side of sauted spinach with the mains.

Simply put the food was outstanding. The risotto was rich with a variety of seafood and perfectly cooked. The Brazino, called sea bass by the waiter was perfect. Charred on the outside, moist and meaty on the inside. The waiter expertly deboned the fish table side. The simple salad was fresh and lightly dressed. The pasta was very lightly bathed in an exquisite sauce that was flavourful and rich. I had a hard time trying to figure out the combination but I think it was an olive oil/soffrito/shrimp/whitewine combination. The best pasta dish either of us had had in Italy. I had one small complaint, the side dish of spinach was bland and tasteless. That definitely needs a little more garlic.

We shared a semifreddo to finish up. This was also fabulous.

Service was great, very professional. A little English was spoken as well as a little Italian.

Total cost 93 euros including a 23 euro bottle of wine.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Κρήτη, Ελλάδα
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood,tottaly worth visiting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Outside Florence,but tottaly worth it!The service was excellent and the food was delicious!We ordered three main plates,all with seafood(shrimps,mussels,oysters) all absolutely fresh!!! Totally worth driving outside of Florenece..The prices were good for such a delicious seafood!! (ex.6 big fresh oysters 14 euro).Deffinately reccomended!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent seafood on offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the area and drove up to the restaurant for a lazy lunch with no expectations. The seafood linguine (serve in a pan) blew us away. The seafood was fresh, the juice of the seafood (aka source) was 6 stars quality. It was nothing less than perfect. Worth the 30 minutes drive from Florence to taste that if you are a seafood and pasta lover like we are. In addition, the local patrons were very friendly. We were trying to decide on a sparkling wine (with language issues). The couple sitting next to us offerred us to try their bottle.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Trattoria de... B, Owner at La Trattoria del Pesce, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Good Morning,
we have read your opinion about us, and we would like to say to you Thank You very very much!
We hope to see you soon.
La Trattoria del Pesce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, delicious, comfortable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is an exceptionally pleasant, clean, airy restaurant specializing in fresh fish. The cooking is traditional Tuscan, meaning absolutely exquisite ingredients prepared simply to accentuate the flavors. The service is efficient, the wine list extensive offering a range of prices and wine styles. I love eating in this restaurant and have been doing so periodically for many years. The quality has remained consistently excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Trattoria de... B, Owner at La Trattoria del Pesce, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
we are really happy when read this oponion,because we work all time for offered quality and experience to our costumer,fresh fish and new dishes,so we would like to tell you thank you we hope to see you again in our restaurant.



La Trattoria del Pesce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria del Pesce also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Trattoria del Pesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trattoria del Pesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.