We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gallo Giallo

Il Gallo Giallo
Via Grevigiana, 50/A | Loc. Calcinaia, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
055-8290252
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to the restaurant on a recommendation from Castello di Gabbiano and thought it was wonderful. A lovely place, with wonderful fiorentine steak and wine. It was by far the best, and best value meal of our holiday.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    71
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stumbled across Il Gallo Giallo and were very glad we did! The food and wine were superb and it's such a pretty little place - full of character with beautiful old beams. I'd recommend the Tiramisu which was the best I had in Italy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of our best meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I hesitate to write this review because part of it's charm is that it is favored by locals not tourists. We arrived at our place in Mercatale on a Sunday afternoon famished after a long drive from Rome. We phoned ahead and they were able to seat us for a late lunch. Everything was delicious but our favorites were the flan (antipasti) and the rabbit (secondi). We went back for dinner a few nights later after a long day of touring and had a second exceptional meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Group of 6 - sat outside - reservation was made for 10 people and had 4 no show - owner was more than accomodating to reset our table. Very attententive service - food was very tasty. Nice wine selection. Rabbit was a little tough but the beef was outstanding. Pasta dishes were all a hit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We randomly stopped at il Gallo Giallo after a long day for dinner one night and it was such a hidden gem. The restaurant is off the beaten path, especially at night, and I'm glad we came upon it. The green salad was delicious and the gnocchi al pesto was divine!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gallo Giallo also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Gallo Giallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gallo Giallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.