We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo La Canigiana

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo La Canigiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Agriturismo La Canigiana
Via Treggiaia, 146 | La Romola, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too short!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week staying at La Canigiana. It is a great location not just for Florence but also for all the beautfiul little villages and towns in Tuscany recommended by Alessandra. She is a perfect host in that she leaves you to enjoy your time staying on their olive farm but is always on hand for information on places to visit and to recommend and book local restaurants or galleries in Florence. Her welcoming apple and apricot cake was delicious as were the home-made after dinner drinks and biscuits she and her husband, Franco, offered us one evening. After visiting Tuscany during the day, we loved our evenings sitting out on our patio with a glass of Chianti enjoying the views and the swallows and listening to the crickets. The pool is great and the grounds are beautiful and being able to pick vegetables from the garden was an added bonus. We would highly recommend La Canignana.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

A truly, truly beautiful location. My husband and I visited La Canigiana for 2 weeks, for our honeymoon. I knew instantly that this would be a stay to remember! Alessandra is one of the most heat-warming people I've ever met. She has a beautiful family who are so very welcoming. I enjoyed walking past their terrace to go out to dinner and seeing them all sat around the table, enjoying a family meal, it really did capture the heart of family life and all that it should be. We stayed in the larger apartment, which has such a breath-taking, panoramic view. I can still almost touch those long, lazy, warm evenings with a gin and tonic on the terrace, watching the sunset. It really is postcard material! Nothing was too much trouble, Alessandra was more than hospitable, she actually enhanced our stay. On the day we arrived, she kindly prepared us a generous platter of cold meats, cheeses and bread being as we'd missed the supermarket opening hours! This in itself set the tone of the whole holiday experience. To be welcomed so warmly and genuinely to someone's home is unique. There was freshly baked cake (for which I now have the recipe for, thanks to Alessandra!), groceries and local wine awiting us on arrival. This took the hassle out of shopping straight away for fresh produce. You are even encouraged to pick your own fresh vegetables from the garden! I will always vividly remember picking a huge, ripe aubergine, soft tomatoes and fresh cucumber from the array of organic produce right outside the terrace. It felt truly magical. We also cooked fresh fish, several times, on the outdoor BBQ right by the pool area. Alessandra's husband, Franco, kindly helped us with operating it! 18 months on from our honeymoon and we still talk about it with such passion and fond memories. Of all the places we have stayed over the last 6 years, this is hats off the ultimate best. Absolutely nothing compares to it. The pool area is beautifully done, with a back-drop of pure beauty over the vibrant hilltops. The apartment is also so beautifully done - pure Tuscan style! The shutters enable you to stay cool and the tiled floors are heavenly underneath your feet in the hot weather. You can buy the most heavenly olive oil, made from olives harvested by Alessandra's own fair hands (and her hard-working family), you can also buy their homemade wine, which is equally delicious. Florence is a must, and isn't far away at all. Definitely hire a car to get the most out of your stay. Siena and San Giamano are also wonderful places to visit. Volterra was beautiful, as was the view of Florence from the front garden of La Canigiana. We were invited to dinner during our stay, and ate with Alessandra, her family and the other guests, who were staying above our apartment. To sit out on the terrace, in the peak of the summer, with home cooked Italian food and a back drop like an oil painting, I couldn't help but shed a tear when we left. I could've stayed forever. I could never say enough thankyou's, nor recommend this magical home from home highly enough. This is a holiday destination which goes at your pace and on your time frame. You can literally just book it and relax in knowing that you are in completely safe hands, in a prime location, that you may possibly never match! Enjoy every minute, for it simply doesn't last long enough...thankyou Alessandra and Franco, for everything.

Room Tip: The larger apartment has a large terrace to sit out on, whereas the smaller one doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

La Canigiana was recommended by friends and our one-week stay in April turned out to be the highlight of our month in Italy. La Canigiana was a delight. We found it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the ambiance of rural Tuscany as well as to explore with the old world charms of Florence and other local attractions. The accomodations and facilities were first rate and Allesandra and Franco's hospitality was gracious yet unobstrusive. We recommend La Canigiana to anyone who wants to experience the best of Tuscany!

John & Maureen Gould
Kamloops, BC Canada

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We (a family with a toddler) have stayed for a week in the lager apartment in April, 2011. The owner is very friendly and helpfull and speaks proper English. The best about the place is the views and the restfulness, it was great to just stroll around with my kid. Florence is only 15 minutes by car, and there is a large super market within 10 minutes (by car). The level of comfort of the rooms is high. The only thing I grumbled about was the rather limited kitchen space - with just two jets enough to prepare a snack, however not suited to cook a full dinner. That was compensated by the free pick-it-yourself organic veggies.
I would recommend this place to a friend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacanigiana, Proprietario at Agriturismo La Canigiana, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thanks for the suggestion, helps us to improve!
For the time being we have changed the pots, they are more functional now. Next year will try to do better still!
Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011 via mobile

Fiona and I passed a wonderful week here last August. We hated leaving and have spent the last year dreaming of returning for a longer stay this time. Alas much of August appears to be booked already.A beautiful place to stay with my beautiful green eyed Fiona.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Alessandra and Franco are the best hosts ever!
The location was perfect for us. All the interesting places are nearby. The apartments are comfortable and very clean. The pool is amazing. We have had one of our best holidays ever. Chris and Irene, Rotterdam

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were guests at the La Canigiana last month, and the memories from this unforgettable holiday are still with us.
Look nowhere else! This villa is the most perfect place you can find in Tuscany to spend your vacation.
The location - just 15 mins from the center of Florence, but you're still in the country! We loved waking up to the sounds of birds and complete silence. opening the villa door and letting the beautiful views of the country fill us with calmness and silence was an unforgettable experience.
The villa itself - we stayed at the lower level villa (out of the two offered), which also has an amazing balcony to the view. Green everywhere outside, beautiful landscape. We loved having our breakfast outside, with the olive trees and birds and green. Inside - comfort, endless thought about every little detail, well equipped kitchen, wonderful bed, beautifully appointed room, shining clean and with the luxury and comfort of a 5* hotel. Even had all the little soaps and shampoos etc in the bathroom.
The owners - we have a huge place for Alessandra and her husband in our hearts. They were kind and gentle, never tired of helping us with all our questions on where to go and what to see, welcomed us into their farm (they live in the house close to the villa) with open hearts and warm hospitality. The perfect hosts!
Alessandra made a tasty chocolate pie that waited for us on our arrival in our room, as well as products for breakfast - all of great quality. The organic farm was a great source for our salad greens (free!), and we had such a wonderful time that we even cooked our dinners in our villa and didn't go out - it was so enjoyable to spend the evening on our balcony!
The pool is stunning, the grounds are large and spcaious, you feel completely isolated from everyday hassle, and yet you're in the best possible location in Tuscany.
We will be back!! Can't wait to come again.
Thank you, Alessandra, for making this such a memorable vacation

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo La Canigiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Canigiana

Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Canigiana Italy/Tuscany
Address: Via Treggiaia, 146 | La Romola, 50020 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and confortable apartments, decored with antique Florentine furnishing. You can choose between 3 units: Il Fienile , La Rimessa with a panoramic terrace and unparalleled vista of Chianti hills , or La Casetta, an option to rent the entire guesthouse in total privacy being the only guests enjoying the tranquility of our farm.The atmosphere of a private home away from any noise and rushed urban atmosphere make La Canigiana the ideal place to spend a memorable and relaxing holiday . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo La Canigiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo La Canigiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.