We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning!! Rooms vary from shabby to just acceptable. Tranquillity??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Casa Mazzoni

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Strada La Meleta | Sassofortino, 58036 Roccastrada, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Roccastrada
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warning!! Rooms vary from shabby to just acceptable. Tranquillity??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had very high expectations of this place after reading countless positive reviews and those which were not were all replied to in a very believable way. The manager even goes to the extent of saying to someone's review 'you didn't even stay here..we had no british or american guests...'!
Well, we did stay there and I have the photos to prove it so please don't use that comeback with me!
We checked in and were taken to an old shabby room with dodgy electrics situated above the kitchen (named if I remember correctly 'Leccio'). I very nearly cried, I was so disappointed! I was looking for the 'oasis of tranquillity' the place describes itself as but it was far from that with the noise of chattering, pots n pans clanking from the kitchen and dogs barking. Everything about the room was uncomfortable. If we weren't lucky enough to have had the opportunity to change rooms the next day we would have gone elsewhere. The new room (Timo) was a slight improvement as it was in a newer building away from the old house with working electrics and a cleaner more modern feel; although the upkeep of the room during our stay was below standard. The heavy duvet supplied and no sheet in the heat of july was bizzare. The guests who had moved from that room to a new room wondered how we could cope with it, it was so small, we said you shouldve seen the first room we were put in-you wouldn't put a guest in there! Even in our new room 'Timo' we couldn't escape the noise of guests chattering and the dogs barking.
On a positive note the breakfasts were amazing and Rosetta was very thoughtful and kind. Dinners were fine, plentiful but not always as fresh tasting or appealing as the breakfasts. We also met a lot of nice guests during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
59
98
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Being the second Hungarian family in Casa Mazzoni ever, we have won the Silver Medal. Yesss! :)

But Casa Mazzoni is for sure the winner place in our summer Holidays. Esther & Angelo, Aliana & Adriano, Rosetta & Marcello, and chef Claudia have made our one week stay unforgettably beautiful, to remember for a long-long time.

House and property are beautifully authentic for Tuscany, lying quietly in the middle of a forrest, where during night you can see hundreds of Lucciola (fireflies / glowworms), which is rare. Wonderful view to the valley, nice pool area, cosy places to sit around and relax, read or play in the garden or in front of the beautiful stone house. Friendly dogs are chasing lizards. Temperature is always a bit lower then in the valley or at the beach (40km / 1 hour), which is nice on hot summer days. Rooms are comfortable (had good sleep) and have the flair of an old country house, decorated also with Esther's self-made charming puppets.

We have made trips by own car to closer and further surroundings, to places that are not so well known and crowded by tourists but very very beautiful, like Pitigliano, Sorano (2 hours far), but also to Pisa (1,5 hours). Siena, Firenze are not far either. Do not miss Roccatederighi, which is my favourite, and only 7 km away, also reachable by bike, even for kids around 10 years old.
For the kids' wish, we went to the beach a few times, too, Angelo can give you advice where to go, and even borrows you a beach umbrella.

We liked breakfast very much, a lot of different choices, sweet and salty dishes, too. The smiling mood of Rosetta was always a nice start into the day. Dinner brought always an exciting surprise, 4 courses, typical for the area, prepared by a local lady, Claudia. Our 10 year old son has eaten everything each evening till he could hardly move. So you can imagine, dinner was very good. We were always served with wines of our wish. Angelo has a large selection of fine wines from Tuscany, but also from other countries, like not so typically from Swiss, or even from Hungary (also a nice country to visit for friends of good wine)! :) If you have special wishes concerning food or drink Angelo is always happy to fulfil them. If someone is expecting here a Michelin 20 star snobbish, yuppie service, he/she is at the wrong place, wrong hotel. These dinners here are taken in a friendly, family atmosphere, where you can meet other likeable travellers, too, sitting at the same table. Here a warm Ciao to the young at heart couple from Milano. Also thanx to Alina and Adriano for serving.

We came home 2 weeks ago, since then we are praising Casa Mazzoni to all our friends and colleagues. So, all in all, we had a wonderful time there. This place is as if you would make holidays with family and friends in your own summer residence but with an own kind staff.

Gold Medal from us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This agriturismo is not what I expected by any means. Their advertising is very misleading and the problem is once you arrive in Roccastrada, your stuck. The owner and his wife run the agriturismo. The grounds are okay… the rooms are not so nice but the Tuscan scenery is beautiful.

The bedrooms are small, beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows and blankets were not in the best shape, looked and felt used. The air-conditioning was difficult. The food is expensive and not at the level the owner advertises. The breakfast lacked assortment, owner would serve items that were old and refrigerated for days, not fresh breads and fruits daily as he advertised.
The cleanliness of the place was definitely an issue. I spent four nights there.

At dinner I, like the other guests, had an assigned seat. At your set a cloth napkin is placed for your use. For the entire time I was there, my napkin was never washed. It was disgusting. I noticed the second night I was there and requested a paper napkin, but for my entire stay the cloth one was never washed. The same was for my bath towels.

The owner speaks multiple languages, he may even write his own reviews because many of them seem false now after my experience. Lastly, it was difficult to watch him treat his staff with such disrespect.
They do not make anything at this agriturismo. Everything is brought in from the local market. Whenever guests would request something, the owner would reply, "sorry not available in the market today". It was frustrating and disappointing to hear every day.
Lastly, when I checking out I was charged for five nights instead of four. When I asked the owner's wife about the mischarge she acted as if she could not understand what I was saying or asking of her. She asked that I pay the full amount, nothing was resolved, and it was so insulting the manner in which I was spoken to and the situation as a whole. I never complained to the owners but the experience was not what I expected. So my advice is if you do go to Rocastrata and stay at this agriturismo, please limit your expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estherlidia, Direttore at Country Inn Casa Mazzoni, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir, i hope that tripadvisor ceck all the revews you never was in our Inn, your feed back is completely wrong, i guess you are in the wrong page , indeed in 2013 , we never have had either british or american guests, so i realy don't know how you can describe our Inn we at casa Mazzoni
work with soul and body for the clients, every body leave from our Inn completely satisfied for the choice, since 27 years are with this job and have only happy guests, so 0, i realy hope tha tripadvisor ceck carefully all the feed back

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Angelo and his crew, couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating
Every day at breakfast, which was lovely with fresh fruits, Suculent Cinta seese ham, a incredible chees variety ,yogurts, cereals, fresh croissants and Rosetta ,s very famous frittate also included fresh juice and all kind of cofee.
Our room " Gelsomino"was very clean, beautifully decorated and the amenities of shower gels a nd ecc.ecc , Very comfortable bed . The view from our room was perfect to wake up to; a stunning sun rise over the valley and til Giglio island was magical, A very special to Chef Claudia, thank you very for your amazing foods, every wa a surprice, every day diferent we all Hope to come again next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a structured 2-week tour, we stayed another week to experience the "real" Italy. Angelo and his staff did not disappoint. The food and views were amazing! Thank you Rosetta & Claudia for your first-class meals.

Angelo also helped arrange for a day trip to visit Isola del Giglio, the home of my grandparents, which I'll never forget. Thank you for helping me reunite with family I didn't know existed. It was definitely the highlight of my life! The trip to Montalcino, home of the most wonderful wine in the world, was a great day trip too.

Tuscany is truly the most beautiful land in the world and Casa Mazzoni has the most beautiful views of this wonderful region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estherlidia, Direttore at Country Inn Casa Mazzoni, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much indeed Theresa and Chuck, i will never forget your stay, and your happiness in your eyes when you have meet your both cousin at Giglio, it was realy a memorable day

Tahnk you for your visit, i hope to see you here again


Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Angelo and his staff made our first stay at Casa Mazzoni most memorable and one we will definitely repeat. We looked forward to the home cooked Italian meals with an excellent wine from Angelo's cellar each evening. We enjoyed breathtaking views of the tuscan countryside while sitting by the pool or dining. Quiet location yet close enough to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and the beach. No one knows Tuscany better than Angelo and he's available to help with recommendations, directions and just about anything a traveler needs to know. Casa Mazzoni will not disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The minute we arrived we all felt welcomed. Our two boys made friends with the happy dogs.which followed them everywhere. The veiw accross the valley is breath taking with the ocean in the distance. we sat on the swing chairs and relaxed until the evening meal which was just wounderful.
Angelo is the perfect host and is happy to help with any request..
This place is a real hidden gem.
Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn Casa Mazzoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Casa Mazzoni

Also Known As:
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni Roccastrada, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Strada La Meleta | Sassofortino, 58036 Roccastrada, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccastrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Roccastrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in the Maremma Toscana: experience an oasis of calm in the heart of the Tuscany countryside.Casa Mazzoni is an Farmhouse Hotel located in the hills of Roccastrada, between Siena and Grosseto, far away from noise and bustle, in a privileged and isolated location which lets you enjoy a splendid panorama which goes from Monte Amiata to the Tyrrhenian Sea as far as the Isle of Elba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Country Inn Casa Mazzoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Casa Mazzoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Inn Casa Mazzoni to your Saves list