We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Casa Mazzoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn Casa Mazzoni to your Saves list
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada La Meleta | Sassofortino, 58036 Roccastrada, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Roccastrada
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a structured 2-week tour, we stayed another week to experience the "real" Italy. Angelo and his staff did not disappoint. The food and views were amazing! Thank you Rosetta & Claudia for your first-class meals.

Angelo also helped arrange for a day trip to visit Isola del Giglio, the home of my grandparents, which I'll never forget. Thank you for helping me reunite with family I didn't know existed. It was definitely the highlight of my life! The trip to Montalcino, home of the most wonderful wine in the world, was a great day trip too.

Tuscany is truly the most beautiful land in the world and Casa Mazzoni has the most beautiful views of this wonderful region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estherlidia, Direttore at Country Inn Casa Mazzoni, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much indeed Theresa and Chuck, i will never forget your stay, and your happiness in your eyes when you have meet your both cousin at Giglio, it was realy a memorable day

Tahnk you for your visit, i hope to see you here again


Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    34
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
70
108
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Angelo and his staff made our first stay at Casa Mazzoni most memorable and one we will definitely repeat. We looked forward to the home cooked Italian meals with an excellent wine from Angelo's cellar each evening. We enjoyed breathtaking views of the tuscan countryside while sitting by the pool or dining. Quiet location yet close enough to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and the beach. No one knows Tuscany better than Angelo and he's available to help with recommendations, directions and just about anything a traveler needs to know. Casa Mazzoni will not disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The minute we arrived we all felt welcomed. Our two boys made friends with the happy dogs.which followed them everywhere. The veiw accross the valley is breath taking with the ocean in the distance. we sat on the swing chairs and relaxed until the evening meal which was just wounderful.
Angelo is the perfect host and is happy to help with any request..
This place is a real hidden gem.
Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our second year in a row staying with Angelo and his terrific staff. Yes, my sister and I returned in May of 2012 for another great stay with Angelo and his staff. We were not disappointed at all. After our flight from Washington, DC to Rome, Angelo's staff were waiting for us at the baggage pickup area to transport us up the beautiful, scenic route that eventually winds up the hills and curvy roads to Casa Mazzoni on top of the great hill, overlooking the tiny villages that light up in the evening skies. This place is so amazingly tranquil.... your every needs are attended to with true compassion for making guests enjoy their Tuscany stay to the utmost pleasure! From the scenic one day excursions to the chef-prepared 4 course meals in the great dining room overlooking the hills and villages, the experience is truly a treasure to behold and remember....again, this is our second visit - we enjoyed it so much we persuaded a couple to make the visit again, and they were simply astonished! I highly recommend staying here...easy to book, easy to get to, wonderful facilities, friendly and accommodating staff, laundry service, personal excursions - you name it. Angelo will customize an excursion just for you - and these trips are not like the ones you get on the buses in Rome! FAR BETTER!!!
Thanks again to Angelo and the Staff of Casa Mazonni! Will Fairchild, Dallas, TX

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Casa Mazzoni is a delightfully converted Tuscan farmhouse, which has kept its charm, despite the modern additions of en suite rooms and free wi-fi.

The hotel is siutated high above the Via Aurelio in a peaceful tranquil part of southern Tuscany, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist centres of Siena and Firenze, although near enough to both to enjoy the delights of the two cities

The gardens and buildings are well kept by the owner, Angelo, and his friendly, helpful staff. The terrace area affords very comfortable space in which to relax pre or post dinner, with views across the Maremma plain to the sea and the island of Giglio. It is a very peaceful, relaxing place.

The hotel is somewhat isolated, although Angelo will organise trips for you or hire a car. He also hires cycles but the terrain is steep and hilly, so I would advise this form of transport only if you are an experienced cyclist. It is a perfect location for those who wish to hike or ramble. The surrounding villages are small and offer thirsty walkers excellent food and drink. If you want to stay in the hotel during the day, the pool offers a delightful space to sit and relax, take in the stunning views and enjoy a Tuscan lunch platter

The food at the hotel is typically Tuscan, prepared by local chefs from local produce. If you enjoy typically Italian, rustic food, you will not be disappointed. The wine cellar is also extensive and very reasonably priced. The dining arrangements encouraged people from a number of European countries to converse in a relaxed and friendly manner. Angelo speaks six European languages fluently and is always on hand if the talk dies.

The rooms have been modernised, offering en suite facilities, free wi-fi and tv without affecting the rustic charm of the building. Angelo will organise tours for you himself, to accommodate your every need.

This was the perfect retreat for a relaxing Italian holiday

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We are in love with this small and beautiful Inn ,everything about Casa Mazzoni and Angelo is true , from the great views ,lovely rooms very clean everyday
Emo and his perfect garden, fabulous location, incredible breakfasts absolutely the best we had in Italy
far away from noise and bustle, in a privileged and isolated location which lets you enjoy a splendid panorama which goes from Monte Amiata to the Tyrrhenian Sea as far as the Isle of Elba. and Giglio
Typical Tuscan dishes prepared from Claudia with genuine products, every day diferent
.We stayed 2 weeks
We can"t wait to go back to Hotel Casa Mazzoni

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Dear Angelo, thank you for Christmas wish
We stayed here 10 nights with you in June.
We stayed in the Bellavista room room. All was perfect and absolutely clean,
The breakfast was magnificient.....we have counted 28 diferent choices covering many types of breakfast foods. Grazie a Rosetta " l'atuntetica Mamma Italiana" Country Inn Casa Mazzoni we never forget,

The wonderful view. unbelievable.... From the terrace you look over Ocean and Elba and rolling Tuscan hills to the Maremma and Grosseto Waking up while having coffee ( direct in our room ) overlooking that view was such a peaceful way to start our day.
The meals are just great, every evening somethink new, during 10 days, was a unique experience, the best we had in europe, absoluetely the best, thank you " Claudia"

We hope to meet you all again in 2013

Cindy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Casa Mazzoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Casa Mazzoni

Address: Strada La Meleta | Sassofortino, 58036 Roccastrada, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccastrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Roccastrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn Casa Mazzoni 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in the Maremma Toscana: experience an oasis of calm in the heart of the Tuscany countryside.Casa Mazzoni is an Farmhouse Hotel located in the hills of Roccastrada, between Siena and Grosseto, far away from noise and bustle, in a privileged and isolated location which lets you enjoy a splendid panorama which goes from Monte Amiata to the Tyrrhenian Sea as far as the Isle of Elba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn Casa Mazzoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni Roccastrada, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Casa Mazzoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.