We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo La Torre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo La Torre to your Saves list
Borgo La Torre
Via Provinciale 7, 55015 Montecarlo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montecarlo
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Borga L Borgo, a working farm situated below the ancient village of Montecarlo for 3 days in September, and loved every minute of it. The accomodations, the location and most importantly the people.. We scheduled for a cooking class with Elisabetta and Chiara – two remarkable chefs who had just brought home first prize at the La Rotta del Vino competition. With a lot of help from our hosts we prepared gourmet dishes like faro salad, taconi, gnocchi, tortellini, and ravioli, pork loin stuffed with herbs and juniper berries and fig flan before sitting down together to enjoy the fruits of our labour along with Stringaio, their estate wine. The meal was awesome if I do say so myself and the company even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester/Berlin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Hotel has a great spot under the walls of Montecarlo, and an excellent restaurant/wine shop, but that's where the problems start. It seemed to us that the focus was on these two facilities, with much of the rest of the facilities in need of a update - the pool and children's play area especially. The staff are friendly but often hard to track down (!!) but the only word that we could think of to sum up our stay was that the whole enterprise seemed 'lazy'

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at La Torre for my sons wedding for 5days, we almost took over the whole place. The hotel rooms are modern and very comfortable, with good bathrooms. The appartments , done in Tuscan style are very large, and comfortable. The pool is a very good size with good seating all around.

The setting is perfect, a great place to stay to tour the area.

The food and wine is really good, and the staff were fantastic!!
They could not have been more helpful. we were a party of 50 people, nothing was a problem.
Can'y wait to go back.

  • Liked — Comfort and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Excellent location to visit all the great cities in Toscany and a great place to stay in general. Nice pool and rooms but even better food and service.

I cannot wait to return!

  • Liked — The restaurant, the pool and the location in general.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo La Torre

Address: Via Provinciale 7, 55015 Montecarlo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Montecarlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montecarlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo La Torre Montecarlo, Italy - Province Of Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.