We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate at the Resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo La Torre

Save Saved
You added Borgo La Torre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 1 more site!
Borgo La Torre
Via Provinciale 7, 55015 Montecarlo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Montecarlo
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ate at the Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

I ate at the Resturant mainly because I tried some of thier wine at my hotel Resturant the night before. So I wandered up to the hills of Lucca for Sunday lunch. The Resturant was fully booked but they offered me a table out side. The weather was nice I accepted. I was soon to find out why it was fully booked of all the places I have eaten in Italy this might be in the top 3. I think the waiter might have snipped the rosemary for my lamb from the plant behind me as I was eating the best carpaccio of my life! This might be my Trevi Fountain. I may have to return to Italy just to come here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Delightful agriturismo situated just a half km outside the gorgeous walled village of Montecarlo. The staff are very friendly and helpful - it has the feel of a family run business.

Borgo La Torre consists of a small number of hotel rooms and apartments on a working vineyard. The hotel rooms are contemporary and comfortable with beautiful bathrooms, the apartments traditional and spacious.

The food in the restaurant is delicious, and the wine divine (produced on the vineyard). There are also some good restaurants in the village. The road to/from the village is mainly unlit at night, but we found that the hotel had provided torches in the rooms.

There is free on-site parking, and a swimming pool/sunbathing area in the grounds.

We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stay here every year and have never been disappointed. The front desk staff: Federica, Lucia, Antonio, are all exceedingly hospitable and helpful. The restaurant is terrific and the cuisine of Elisabetta and Chiara superb. It is an agriturismo and their wine and olive oil are both outstanding. It is conveniently located a few minutes from the autostrada. We've stayed mostly in the apartments and they are spacious, well equipped and clean. The hotel rooms are modern and very comfortable. Our most recent stay included a catering for my sister's 60th birthday party which was very well done. Every course was superb.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have wonderful views of Montecarlo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Borga L Borgo, a working farm situated below the ancient village of Montecarlo for 3 days in September, and loved every minute of it. The accomodations, the location and most importantly the people.. We scheduled for a cooking class with Elisabetta and Chiara – two remarkable chefs who had just brought home first prize at the La Rotta del Vino competition. With a lot of help from our hosts we prepared gourmet dishes like faro salad, taconi, gnocchi, tortellini, and ravioli, pork loin stuffed with herbs and juniper berries and fig flan before sitting down together to enjoy the fruits of our labour along with Stringaio, their estate wine. The meal was awesome if I do say so myself and the company even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester/Berlin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Hotel has a great spot under the walls of Montecarlo, and an excellent restaurant/wine shop, but that's where the problems start. It seemed to us that the focus was on these two facilities, with much of the rest of the facilities in need of a update - the pool and children's play area especially. The staff are friendly but often hard to track down (!!) but the only word that we could think of to sum up our stay was that the whole enterprise seemed 'lazy'

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at La Torre for my sons wedding for 5days, we almost took over the whole place. The hotel rooms are modern and very comfortable, with good bathrooms. The appartments , done in Tuscan style are very large, and comfortable. The pool is a very good size with good seating all around.

The setting is perfect, a great place to stay to tour the area.

The food and wine is really good, and the staff were fantastic!!
They could not have been more helpful. we were a party of 50 people, nothing was a problem.
Can'y wait to go back.

  • Liked — Comfort and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Excellent location to visit all the great cities in Toscany and a great place to stay in general. Nice pool and rooms but even better food and service.

I cannot wait to return!

  • Liked — The restaurant, the pool and the location in general.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo La Torre

Also Known As:
Borgo La Torre Montecarlo, Italy - Province Of Lucca
Address: Via Provinciale 7, 55015 Montecarlo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Montecarlo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Montecarlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Borgo La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.