We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well located retread in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice)

Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice)
Localita San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
0577 3964
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Concept of our restaurant is to combine the traditional tuscan kitchen with the fantasy and the gastronomic mastery of our Starred Chef Francesco Bracali. Meat and vegetables are the focus of our kitchen, and we prepare our dishes with typical and esteemed ingredients: pink chickpeas from Reggello, saffron from San Gimignano, onions from Certaldo, steaks from Agricola San Felice Farm. Our guests can pick a tasting wine from our wine list, witch is particularly rich of Tuscan and Italian esteemed wines. The room and the service will satisfy a demanding clientele. The Poggio Rosso Restaurant, closed to two ancient chapels, is also an ideal location for classy weddings and ceremonies. Come and visit us in the heart of Chianti Classico.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming and well located retread in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very helpful staff, great concierge.
When you first arrive they give you a short but good over view of their property.
Swimming pool is great with privacy to rest or read right around it.
Breakfast is wonderful with plenty selection.
Nice newly renovated spa.
Great staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    25
    10
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I see that two of my party have already beaten me to the punch in reviewing this restaurant .... they were being unnecessarily generous (see Peter3801 and Fernando B). The dictate that all 8 in our party order the same items was overbearing, and the ensuing negotiations with the waiter for some flexibility was demeaning.

Then the food. I enjoyed the anchovies appetizer .... the prawn carpaccio risotto was interesting but quite ordinary ..... the Cinta Sinese suckling pig was an unmitigated disaster! We washed all this down with 2 magnums of excellent wine. The total tab for this meal? 1000+ euros .... not a king's ransom, but highway robbery for what was served.

Good company, lively conversation and a superb setting saved the evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario I, Direttore vendite at Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice), responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Sirs,
I was sorry to learn of your disappointment with the meal offered to you in our “Poggio Rosso” restaurant. I’m running the operation of Borgo San Felice and this is my fifth luxury property where I’ve worked for. In all the fine dining restaurants, all the guests are invited to choice a set menu when the reservation is for more than six people. Obviously we’re flexible if one of the guest has special diet or intolerances.

I don’t agree with you that we serve “pieces of prepared food” as from this year we took on board the chef Francesco Bracali, awarded with 2 Michelin stars, as consultant and his physically running the kitchen every Mondays and Tuesdays when his restaurant is closed. He sets for us all the menus and he trains the kitchen staff.

If you would book two table of 4 we were not able to serve both tables at the same time. This is the only reason why we prefer to do not serve à la carte menu to big tables. It is a question of timing.



I would like to remind you that during the meal I came two times to your table introducing myself asking if everything was going well. The answer was yes. I was very surprised to receive your feedback.



In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Borgo San Felice in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Some good food but irritating approach to service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We dined at this establishment as a group of 8. We were informed that Chef would only permit the table to order the same dishes, which was simply ludicrous. Even when we said we did not mind if dishes were served at different times, it was a difficult negotation with the waiter. If we had been two tables of 4, we could have ordered anything we desired. We ended up having 2 antipasti, 1 primo piatto and 2 secondi. At the prices being charged (and I do not mind paying high prices for things, so long as the product matches the price), this is simply not acceptable (particularly during a recession).

The antipasti and primo piatto (a risotto with shaved prawns, lemon zest and prawn oil) were nice enough; the suckling pig secondo was nicely sauced but itself lacked flavour and the different cuts were not uniform in tenderness, with some parts of the fillet being distinctly chewy. The other secondo was a lamb dish, which was enjoyed by those who had it.

We had excellent wine from the hotel's associated vineyard, which was a highlight of the evening. We also enjoyed the live pianist.

We were also informed on booking that a dress trousers and a collared shirt were required. We were quite surprised when a party which included a man wearing a singlet top and jeans were seated for dinner.

The presence of a 2 star Michelin chef and the stunning physical surroundings created expectations that were unfortunately not met. There are better restaurants at more reasonable prices nearby.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This restaurant is an easy drive from Siena where we were staying. The location of the hotel compound is extraordinary with beautiful grounds, a swimming pool with a beautiful view of the countryside. The food while initially promising was later well presented but somewhat inconsistent. The anchovy quiche was very good, yet the risotto was not up to par, even though the prawn sauce was a welcome complement. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Good wine selection from the surrounding vineyards. Drive in the late evening so you may appreciate the surrounding views.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
1 review
“Sophisticated romantic setting in the toscan hills of Chianti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Sophisticated romantic setting in the toscan hills of Chianti, San Felice is a gem. With the beautiful view of the tuscan hills the sunset viewed from the terrace of San Felice is quite spectacular. We found the cuisine to be a wonderful mix of traditional italian with the added inspiration of the 2 michelin star chef Francesco Bracali. The result being the perfect balance of authenticity and modern cuisine. We were lucky enough to be recommended the wine of the maison San Felice who produces apart from the traditional chianti classico one of the best brunello di Montalcino. Don't hesitate to end your dinner with the Bracali tiramisu accompanied by a glass of vin santo produced by the house... heavenly experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice) also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 

Been to Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Rosso (Hotel Borgo San Felice), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.