We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo San Felice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo San Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo San Felice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Canton of Jura, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks in a beautifully restored 16th century convent to explore Tuscany but completely forgot to actually get some shopping done in Firenze so we ended up in Borgo San Felice because no other Grand Hotel allowed our 40+ kg wolfdog in.

I would give the hotel 5 stars solely based on the fact that they did not make a fuss.

Not much I can add to what has already been established, Great romantic location away from all the city noise and yet still close enough to do whatever you fancy in a relaxed manner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
177
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Woods, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First of all, my entire family had a wonderful stay at this hotel. My family of 4 stayed for 5 nights in two connecting rooms. The pool was nice, the views were spectacular and the food and wine were everything we were looking for. Unfortunately, one issue has marred our experience forever. In one of the brochures the hotel provides you at check in, they reference luxury car rentals. My son and I are car fanatics and have always dreamed of driving a Ferrari. The concierge secured us a 1 day rental of a beautiful yellow Ferrari 458 Spider, from a company called Florence Luxury Car, which is run by Daniele Fossi. As is apparently customary for these types of arrangements, I had to provide a credit card authorization for a deposit in case anything was damaged during the rental period. Unfortunately, the rental company decided to steal my 10,000 Euro deposit! I have tried for 4 months to get the company to return my deposit, using the help of a local law firm in Italy, but have been unsuccessful so far. I am now in the process of filing criminal charges against the rental company to try to recover my deposit, but I will incur legal costs in the process. While the hotel initially tried to help recoup my money by calling the rental company, they gave up after their first few inquiries. I am disappointed that the hotel did not stand behind their referral and have never offered to share the expense. With the benefit of hindsight I wish I would have done my own due diligence on the rental company ahead of time, but when you pay a premium at a top hotel and they offer this service on a regular basis, you would certainly not expect trouble. I intend to continue pursuing recovery of my stolen deposit regardless of how long it takes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding the recent stay at San Felice.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed it.

Regarding your experience with the Ferrari car rental, I need to clarify that our concierge department is available to suggest to our value guests external companies able to provide different services with no mark up.
These companies are selected evaluating the past experiences we already had with, together with the feedback received from our clients. We already had the chance to suggest this company to other guests and never had any kind of issues.

As soon we were been informed about your problem, we have immediately asked for a copy of your contract signed from you to the representative of Florence Luxury Cars and the damaged file where it was clearly showed that you have assumed a damage to the electric convertible top system.
At this stage, in reason of your agreement in accepting the damage for this Ferrari 458 Spyder at the time of the drop-off, we had no way to plead with them for you. Moreover, we have been in touch with our lawyer office and they confirm us that the Hotel cannot assume involvement on this matter, as the business deal was made directly from you and Florence Luxury Cars.
Having said so, we all remain at your complete disposal and happy to assist you in solving this issue.

I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Borgo San Felice is a dream place!
When you arrive here you know that this is one of the most beautiful places you've ever been in your entire life... but this is not only... the reason why being here is so fantastic is San Felice's staff.
Everyone here is so passionate, careful, makes you feel as well as it's possible... Their work is fulfilling our dreams, they know it, they do it with magesty, and its so special...
I have no words to thank you all!
For the best three days of our lives... impossible to describe...
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, your comment will further motivate every one of us to continue working towards maintaining and improving the high standards we set out in offering our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This beautiful little hotel and winery was our base for 6 days while we toured Tuscany. Breakfast on the veranda in the mornings overlooking the mountains was spectacular. First class all the way! The concierge was very helpful in funding us local restaurants, a cooking school, and info on the international chocolate fair in Perugia so we could really enjoy our trip.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your "Tuscan hideaway!".

Kind regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We stayed there for my Bday and we booked dinner at the gourmet restaurant. The place is incredible. really beautiful - all the hotel grounds, the view, the cellars - this was an ancient village. Inccredible. The dinner really disappointed and it was incredibly expensive. the food was really bad and weird. We left half of our plates... Too bad! But overall a really nice place. Maybe the experience in the more casual restaurant would have been much better with regular traditional Italian food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry the restaurant experience did not meet your expectations.
Every comment is always highly valued to learn and improve our service.

Kind regards
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I absolutely loved this gorgeous place, it is truly heaven on earth. Everything was complete perfection from the onset of our arrival to the point of us sadly, having to move on. The lovely staff gave us a complimentary upgrade since it was our honeymoon and our room was gorgeous and overlooked the square. It is truly a Tuscan treat there, from the decor, the food, the wine to the breathtaking sunsets. The most peaceful place we encountered while in Italy. Our stay was quiet with romantic walks through the vineyard, while drinking the delicious wine they make onsite. I would recommend the vineyard and wine tour, both restaurants were truly delicious either one you choose you will be happy with. Breakfast was the best here out of the 6 locations we stayed in Italy. The grounds are truly something I will never forget, a view in every direction. They really keep the place picturesque, like a scene from a movie. Everyone was just so welcoming and friendly. I was a bit chilly in the evenings there and my husband mentioned it in passing and that evening one of the staff members brought me a space heater. Over the top service every day. We loved the amazing wine so much that we shipped a few bottles home. I cannot say enough how much we loved it here! If we ever make it back to Italy we will most certainly stay here again! I now understand the meaning of Under the Tuscan Sun.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience on Trip Advisor and for considering our place "heaven on earth!".
I will proudly share your words with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Enjoy your wine home!

Kind regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We did a gorgeous driving trip around Toscana and made base at Borgo San Felice. The hotel is amazing, it's history, the scenery, the rooms. This hotel used to be a real town that was deserted by its inhabitants and remade into this wonderful hotel.
The food at the Taverna restaurant is ok, expensive I felt for the type of food. By all means skip the Poggio Rosso, the signature restaurant. The food is NOT good and the price is sky high. Not worth at all.
It was a perfect hotel for us to make base for our day trips to all the medieval towns and spectacularly beautiful Siena. I'm not sure though if I would go specially to stay in the hotel if I wasn't on a driving trip.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Address: loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo San Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.