We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscan resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo San Felice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo San Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo San Felice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
katonah, ny
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were enthralled with this hotel. The staff was friendly and warm and took excellent care of us. The lobby is nicely decorated and is very cozy with a nice bar featuring a nightly pianist. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The grounds are so beautiful as was our large room. Everything is so well maintained. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
177
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed three nights in October and it rained hard for two days. Didn't really matter. We loved just relaxing in this charming village style resort. The room was spacious, the bathroom large and everything immaculately clean. We have been traveling for a while and can honestly say this was the best nights sleep we had anywhere. The beds are so comfortable. We slept with the windows open and even then my wife slept through the early morning thunderstorm. We had breakfast and dinner every day at the resort and found the staff to be exceptionally friendly. After the first meal we were greeted every day by name and shown to our favorite table. The buffet breakfast options never changed while we were there which made it a little monotonous after a while. Our dinners were expensive as you would expect but the food was delicious. The truffle tasting menu on the Saturday night was very delicious with generous portions of truffles. The accompanying wine was the in house winery's chianti and while pricey, was a good match for the steak main. The front desk staff were helpful throughout - taking our bags from the car to the room and back seamlessly. We never had to lift a finger. They also provided mountain bikes and helmets to explore the local wineries and countryside on some of the (steep!) local unpaved tracks that led straight from the hotel. This was a lot of fun as we could ride and watch the grapes being picked up close and in person. Overall I would highly recommend the BSF, even if its hilltop location is a little out of the way and a little hard to find. Its worth the detour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This relais is actually an old village with a palazzo, guest house, church, Enoteca, vineyard, and now a fitness center, spa, dining room and pool on a hill overlooking working vineyards about 20 minutes from Siena. It is just gorgeous and the guest rooms are spacious, well decorated, and exceptionally clean, with great linens and amenities. Although the dining room is a bit pretentious, there are wonderful restaurants near by. Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Borgo San Felice for the last four nights of our Italy vacation. It was wonderful. Our room was comfortable with incredible views of the Tuscan countryside and the Borgo San Felice property. The staff was welcoming and knowledgeable. We relied on the concierge for restaurant suggestions, touring ideas, and winery tour information. Each suggestion was terrific and perfectly suited what we were looking for. The restaurant staff was friendly and the food delicious! Breakfast was plentiful, lunch was lovely poolside, and dinner was tremendous. The dinner presentation was elegant and sophisticated. We also enjoy a tour of the vineyard and winery followed by an enjoyable wine tasting. It was great to enjoy the in-house wines at dinner as well. The spa is surprisingly beautiful; when you first step in, it appears very small, but in fact was a comfortable size. The spa service we chose kept in Tuscan style with wine and olive oil and even finished with some snacks and a glass of wine. Overall, our experience from start to finish was wonderful and we would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at several properties in Tuscany over the years and this is one of the best. The location is fantastic. It is situated with great access to Siena, Radda, Gaiole, Castellina, Panzano, Greve and many small Tuscan towns. The setting is gorgeous being on top of a hill with great views of the Tuscan hillsides. It is immaculate in neatness. There was not even a piece of litter on the entire property. The food was amazing albeit expensive. If you are going to eat there just be aware that it will cost you. The service from the entire staff was second to none in Tuscany. They make you feel like royalty at dinner. My wife was impressed that they even have little stools to place your purse upon while at dinner so it is not on the floor. Breakfast was also incredible with the amount of choices given and the quality of the food. If you are a foodie, you need to stay here. The front desk staff was also extremely helpful and assisted us with any requests. You can do wine tastings on site and even schedule a tour of their winery. This leads me to my only negative about the property. I bought wine after the tasting and it was 30 euro per bottle. That same bottle of wine at dinner is 60 euro. If they are making money while selling it to the public at 30 euro, why gouge the people actually staying at their property for twice that amount? They should charge the same amount being charged at the wine tasting. Even with that I still highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floors have a great view of the pool and surrounding Tuscan hillsides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Tuscany. The property is really nice and elegant. Our room was a Junior suite, it was small but very comfortable. The only problem was with the bathroom, the water always came out of the shower. The breakfast was amazing, a really big choice for all tastes. They have more than 10 different kinds of honey for instance. The staff was very helpful, very attentive. The swimming pool is also nice, but we spent most of the day travelling in the surrounding area. Dinner is also delicious, it is expensive but being a Relais Chateux hotel that is normal. If you looking for a real 5 star hotel in Tuscany, I recommend it a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Borgo San Felice is a lovely property set in beautiful Tuscan countryside with vineyards all around. The hotel occupies the old stone buildings of what used to be an ancient Tuscan village. There is a profound sense of history. The village square lies in the center of the hotel grounds with an old church, a well, and the grand house that belonged to whatever noble family used to run the village. I was transported into a delicious daydream in which I was the noble Countess who lived in that grand house and governed the village. My clothes were the finest silk from the Far East. I ruled with an iron rod. Daniel Craig was my prince consort! Wheeeeee!

While the Borgo is lovely, it fell short of my expectations. The room was non-descript, the bathroom was inadequate, and a troupe of clowns ran the restaurant.

Let’s start with the room. Basic and charmless. Plain white walls with little décor. Plain tiled floors with no rugs. Limited furnishings. A tiny television. Ugly white light fixtures. Semi-functional air conditioning. No fruit bowl. One the positive side: I did like the ample closet space and mirrors. Also the free no-hassle WIFI was great.

The bathroom was cramped. No shower stall. The bathtub and shower were combined, which meant water everywhere whenever My Dearest took a shower. Dated plumbing. Antique toilet. Cracked tiles. A tiny non-illuminated make-up mirror. Just one sink. The counter around the sink flooded whenever the sink was used, so you couldn’t store things there unless you were happy for them to get wet. There was a complete lack of shelves or other places to store my product and gear. Precious bathroom real estate was wasted on a bidet. People!!! Most of your guests are Americans. Americans never use bidets (except as a place to dump used ice cubes), but we do travel with lots of bathroom stuff. Make your American guests happy. Rip out the bidets and put in marble-topped tables where we can store our stuff.

The service in the restaurant was amateur hour. At lunch one day we ordered a bottle of wine. After delivering the bottle, the waiters forgot about it. We had to refill our own wine glasses from the ice bucket. We still had half a bottle of wine left when a particularly entrepreneurial waiter stopped by and tried to sell us wine by the glass. The wait for food to arrive was long, even by Italian standards. Main courses were produced when we were only halfway through our appetizers. Our cocktail orders were bungled.

The lunchtime menu was limited and most of the dishes were the same old same old ones that appear on many Italian menus. Much of the food was high quality. The salads were excellent with lots of super fresh veggies (except for the tomatoes, which were strangely devoid of flavor). The grilled vegetables were delicious. We also enjoyed several of the lunchtime pasta specials.

Dinner at the hotel’s principal restaurant was more elaborate with many creative dishes. I took a chance on the puff pastry with anchovies and rhubarb. It was divine! My Dearest had a perfectly prepared ravioli stuffed with savory sausage meat. So tasty, l’m sure it was kosher. My dinner pasta lacked flavour. I stopped eating it after biting into three bone shards. The entrées were unimpressive. If you ask for wine suggestions, they try to sell you wines from the hotel’s own vineyards. Ignore them. My Dearest and I drank several bottles of wine from the hotel’s estate. Each of them was worthless.

Outstanding breakfast buffet with a wide selection of good quality meats, cheeses, breads, croissants, rolls, juices, jams, nuts, honey, cereals, fresh fruits, and yoghurts. There were even bottles of champagne so you could make mimosas! I giggled as I watched several land whales return to the buffet for third and fourth helpings! Eggs, sausages, and bacon in a steamer looked awful, but if you come to Italy to eat eggs and bacon you deserve no better.

Excellent concierge service. Their restaurant recommendations were great. They provided really helpful tips on getting the most out of Tuscany.

A young African tended to the hotel’s gardens. I am not a bleeding heart. I realize that one must be careful applying American sensibilities to other countries. However, I am sad to report that a few Italian members of the hotel staff treated the African in a very disrespectful way that My Dearest and I found offensive.

Parking was limited and on some evenings the lots filled up with non-residents dining at the restaurant.

The property is beautiful, but if this is your idea of perfection you need to get out more often!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario I, Direttore at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
we are sad to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are an old hamlet and the style reflects Tuscany with its beautiful country side. We do not accept your comments regarding the team in our restaurant; from your side was really unpolite to describe them as a troupe of clowns. The members of our team have a respectable five stars Curriculum Vitae and have worked in prestigious hotels around the world. Regarding the young gardner we would like inform you that Mr. Casimir is one of the key persons at Borgo San Felice and he lives with the entire family on property. We can not accept any racism accuse as all of our associates are treated fairly and desserves a lot of respect. If you would like to contact me without using your nick name, I will be more than happy to give you more details about our proerty.

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Address: loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo San Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.