We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan memory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo San Felice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo San Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo San Felice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Tuscan memory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an exquisite property with professional, courteous staff. It is a perfect place to relax and the pool is lovely. Breakfast is a full buffet. If there is one complaint it was the overpriced, under delivered dinner in the restaurant. The staff in the restaurant is pretentious and indifferent; I would not eat there next time.The grounds are beautiful to walk around and walk into the vineyards which surround it. Our room was very spacious, as was the bathroom. This is a unique place and we would have enjoyed staying longer than our two nights.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the restaurant for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
177
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful setting in a 12th century hamlet surrounded by a vineyards! The pool and grounds were gorgeous! The spa was nice. The rooms were simple and uncomplicated in keeping with the history of the buildings, some may find them plain. The service and food was exceptional! I would love to return someday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pre trip

Prior to arrival at the hotel I was in contact with the concierge team seeking help with restaurant reservations and information about the local area. They could not have been more helpful as one would expect from a hotel in this category. However it was still pleasant to receive such excellent service prior to our arrival.

Location

The hotel is ideally situated approximately 20 km east of Sienna. This offers the opportunity to take easy day trips to Florence, Arezzo, and of course Sienna itself. It is in the heart of the southern Chianti region and is surrounded by vineyards, gorgeous hill towns with delightful restaurants and beautiful scenery to explore.

The only challenge with the location is also part of its charm. It is located in rolling hill country surrounded by a sea of vines. This means that the local roads are often narrow and twisty. Patience is a virtue when driving these roads and you should allow more time that you normally would for journeys of similar length. Also drivers or passengers of a nervous disposition may want to seek out the sometimes longer but perhaps less stressful main roads rather than the local short cuts. I don’t want to dissuade you from driving as it is such a good way of discovering the country but please prepared with good maps and / or GPS.

Hotel

On arrival at the hotel after a long flight we were welcomed by the front of house staff and a tour of the hotel. Borgo San Felice is a converted village and as you make your way around the property you will quickly discover the town square, the church, and other buildings which have now been converted into rooms or shops. It is all quite lovely and stunningly beautiful.

Rooms

Our room, a junior suite, was located on the top floor of the Palazzo in the old town square. The suite consisted of a sitting room with desk, a bathroom with bath, shower and bidet, and a bedroom with a king sized bed and very ample storage. All together this was a very pleasant suite with everything we could have required for our stay. It was impeccably maintained by the friendly housekeeping staff.

Facilities

Located on site is a swimming pool surrounded by a beautiful garden. After sightseeing all day this was a pleasant retreat. We also used it earlier in the day and it was always quiet and serene.

Also in our building was a small gym with a treadmill, elliptical machine and a stationary bike. There was also a separate room with weights.

There is a spa located at the hotel but we did not use the facilities during our stay.

The hotel is also a vineyard and olive oil producer. They offer tours of the winery, tastings and their products are offered at a small shop at the hotel. Their wine is of the highest quality and is strongly recommended.

Food

Breakfast at the hotel was included in our room rate and was served in the main restaurant or on the patio overlooking the pool. It was a buffet style meal although they did have some cooked options for a supplement. The standard fare had breakfast breads, croissants etc as well as cereals and yoghurt. In addition there were cheeses and local hams and salami. There were also fruit and cakes. Finally there were scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage available but these were not of the highest quality.

For most of our lunches and all of our dinners we ate outside the hotel. There are many excellent choices in the surrounding villages, such as La Porta del Chianti in San Gusme, La Grotta della Ranna in San Sano, and Osteria L'Orciaia in Montebenichi. The concierge is happy to make reservations on your behalf.
We did eat lunch on a couple of occasions at the hotel. While expensive as you would expect at a Relais and Chatueax, the pastas and salad was delicious as well as the wine from San Felice.

Conclusions

If you are looking for a luxurious and peaceful retreat in the heart of the Chianti area of Tuscany this is an excellent choice. Top quality service, very comfortable rooms, delightful views and delicious food are all here. It was a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites in the Pallazao are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Borgo San Felice captures all the great elements of Italian and Tuscan sophistication. The Hotel is beautiful and has a great location and grounds. It's a very relaxing place to stay and unwind. The pool and (new) spa are particularly good. The San Felice wines produced here are superb as are the tastings hosted by Jamil in the Enoteca wine shop. We have stayed here 5 times before and will return. Only (hopefully) constructive criticisms are that the reception and bar staff lack the warm approach of a few years ago and the menus in the restaurants are somewhat limited and, frankly, too expensive - particularly given some of the very good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Borgo overlooking the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the most beautiful settings for a hotel I've ever seen! Wonderful Tuscan architecture, beautifully landscaped, set on top of a hill amid vineyards and olive groves. My only quibble about our room was that the bathroom was a bit old and not well laid out. Maybe this is part of the old world charm. While others have criticized the food, we had an exquisite tasting menu dinner with wine pairings for each course. I highly recommend it versus the regular menu. I should add that this was part of a Backroads Bike tour of Tuscany so the experience might be different if you book and arrive on your own. Our visit included a private wine tasting (it's also a winery) which was great fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The BSF, originally a small village, provided a great base to explore the surrounding Tuscany countryside. The property is both beautiful and charming. The breakfast buffet is bountiful and fresh. The food at dinner was gourmet. What greatly stood out, more than anything, is the first class service the staff of this hotel provides. Everyone is professional, yet friendly and approachable. For instance, there is a young woman with the big glasses who is a server in the dining room; she practically sprints to get food or drink to every table. The staff comped us a bottle of wine in the room when we arrived. We noticed that the corkscrew was missing, so when we returned from touring the countryside, we stopped at the front desk to see if somebody could stop by our room with one. A smiling man was WAITING AT OUR DOOR with a corkscrew--before we even got there--that's outstanding service! I found the manager especially kind and charming. Oddly enough, we ran into him on our last day in Rome before departing for the States. He works long, long hours at BSF, always with a smile on his face and was visiting his wife in child that day in Rome. My point: BSF isn't close to Rome, yet this gentleman was always friendly and polite despite working so far from his home. My husband and I have nothing but good memories of, and good things to say, about the BSF. This is a great choice for a peaceful, beautiful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The countryside around the Borgo San Felice is Tuscany at its best and the hotel, which has essentially been created by taking over a small hamlet is very charming. When we arrived we were initially shown to a rather small poky room which certainly did not live up to my expectations of a junior suite. When we asked if any other rooms were available we were quickly shown to a much better room with a separate living area and although it was more expensive, we were not charged any extra. Apparently we were allocated the first room because we had asked for a terrace and my impression is that there are very few rooms with terraces at this hotel. In contrast to some other reviewers I thought that the food was generally very good, although the menu does not change frequently enough if you are there for a few days and do not want to drive in the evening, it is quite expensive and the second outdoor restaurant was not open while we were there. We had room service one evening and the price was exorbitant, so avoid. Staff a little bit impersonal, but overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Address: loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo San Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.