We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Beautiful Hotel, Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo San Felice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo San Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo San Felice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Beautiful Hotel, Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The BSF, originally a small village, provided a great base to explore the surrounding Tuscany countryside. The property is both beautiful and charming. The breakfast buffet is bountiful and fresh. The food at dinner was gourmet. What greatly stood out, more than anything, is the first class service the staff of this hotel provides. Everyone is professional, yet friendly and approachable. For instance, there is a young woman with the big glasses who is a server in the dining room; she practically sprints to get food or drink to every table. The staff comped us a bottle of wine in the room when we arrived. We noticed that the corkscrew was missing, so when we returned from touring the countryside, we stopped at the front desk to see if somebody could stop by our room with one. A smiling man was WAITING AT OUR DOOR with a corkscrew--before we even got there--that's outstanding service! I found the manager especially kind and charming. Oddly enough, we ran into him on our last day in Rome before departing for the States. He works long, long hours at BSF, always with a smile on his face and was visiting his wife in child that day in Rome. My point: BSF isn't close to Rome, yet this gentleman was always friendly and polite despite working so far from his home. My husband and I have nothing but good memories of, and good things to say, about the BSF. This is a great choice for a peaceful, beautiful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    37
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
39
181
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff, great concierge.
When you first arrive they give you a short but good over view of their property.
Swimming pool is great with privacy to rest or read right around it.
Breakfast is wonderful with plenty selection.
Nice newly renovated spa.
Great staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The countryside around the Borgo San Felice is Tuscany at its best and the hotel, which has essentially been created by taking over a small hamlet is very charming. When we arrived we were initially shown to a rather small poky room which certainly did not live up to my expectations of a junior suite. When we asked if any other rooms were available we were quickly shown to a much better room with a separate living area and although it was more expensive, we were not charged any extra. Apparently we were allocated the first room because we had asked for a terrace and my impression is that there are very few rooms with terraces at this hotel. In contrast to some other reviewers I thought that the food was generally very good, although the menu does not change frequently enough if you are there for a few days and do not want to drive in the evening, it is quite expensive and the second outdoor restaurant was not open while we were there. We had room service one evening and the price was exorbitant, so avoid. Staff a little bit impersonal, but overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The place is impressive... it is a complete vilage transformed into a hotel.
We spent only one night as we were in a bike tour with DigNGo (by the way, excelent choice to discover Tuscany!).
We did the wine tasting and visit and it was probably one of the best ones we did: not too long, our guide knew all the details and the wine was excelent!
I cant comment on value as the hotel was already included in a package, but I would definetly would come back: good location, good views, excelent spot to be a base to treavel around Tuscany.
Rooms were great (but I personaly didnt like interior decoration to much)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a difficult report for me to write, as I would so much like to give this property a 5 star excellent report especially as the manager and staff were so helpful, but there are a few niggles, which for me, just let it down slightly.
Perhaps part of the problem with this stunningly beautiful resort is that it is used by travellers staying just a few nights and then moving on to other parts of either Tuscany or Italy, hence you get a slight feeling of impersonality - like an airport hotel?. The staff are helpful, but at times seem aloof, especially in and around the dining areas. Furthermore, like a lot of "older hotels" it suffers from the problem of globalisation. By this I mean, if you are going to charge upwards of €410 for a double room and €595 for a junior suite, todays' savvy traveller is going to expect quite a lot of "bang for his/her buck" and sadly this was a tad lacking. Rooms are fine, unfortunately the air conditioning struggled to cope with a particularly hot and humid spell we experienced when we were there, you are always aware that you are staying in a beautiful and historic building, in superb surroundings. Breakfast was OK but a lack of variation meant that it became a little boring after a few days. I would agree with other reports that the restaurant for lunch and dinner doesn't quite live up to expectations and there are excellent restaurants, both in terms of food and value, to be found a short drive away ( a car is a must for this property - I would recommend Osteria Del Castello, L'Arsinello and La Bottega del Trente (30). Some investment in terms of swimming pool loungers for next year wouldn't go amiss. 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent four nights in this typical tuscan Hotel, which is well represented in the professional and travellers photos, and exceeded all our expectations. We travelled with three children, aged 12, 13, and 6 and there were plenty of other families staying with children of all ages, so it definitely is child-friendly. There is a wonderful swimming pool which the children spent hours playing in - there is a billiard table, which we played at a few times, and also tennis courts across the road, but that's about it. The rooms are very authentic, tuscan style, comfortable and accomodating, but of course, not modern!! The staff are wonderful, kind, and accomodating. We celebrated our sons birthday there and they prepared a special meal for him according to our request which was very nice. The only thing that might be said to be a little lacking is the choice in food - Breakfast is a buffet and very tasty, but for lunch and dinner, there is not too much choice, and there is no pizza, or burgers so the children are limited to pasta and after three or four days you can want more than pasta. There are a couple of nice restaurants which the kind chap on reception recommended and they are fine but take into consideration your are limited a bit foodwise. Otherwise, first class, very enjoyable. Hope to go back.

Room Tip: We took a suite with a third bed in kids room, just remember very little cell phone reception and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felice Circeo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

During three nights at this lovely Tuscan hotel, where staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to a suite, we wanted to write a brilliant review. However, we were less than satisfied with the hotel kitchen which produced dull, boring, badly prepared and poorly cooked food. Breakfast was fine; but after experiencing lunch and dinner, we decided to eat elsewhere and explored nearby towns in Chianti for more exciting restaurants. It was such a shame as the hotel itself is lovely. But what is the point of staying at this sort of expensive hotel when the food fails to reach a high standard?

Room Tip: First room we declined as too large and impersonal as well as being on the ground floor with everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Address: loc. San Felice, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo San Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.